We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Ranked #4 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to relax and enjoy the view.
There is a private beach which is so chic but you cannot dive into the water. It' s a pity! Worth to visit during night-time too.
Enjoyed so much the stylish décor, and the room distribution was perfect. The toiletries were so exquisite that I still smell its scent. Wonderful.
Dinning at La Mar is a must, and it's just there!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Isa128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,437
    383
    147
    62
    46
See reviews for
354
824
104
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Was down in Miami for the "Ultra" concert and decided to stay at the Mandarin Oriental while chaperoning our daughter and friends. We thought it was a nice get away for my wife and myself for a weekend while the kids had fun at the concert. The Mandarin didn't disappoint. Attention to detail were the words for the day! The entire staff was great, going out of their way to make our stay the best it could be. The pool was great and service at the pool was also outstanding. So many times you go to the pool and the service is absolutely terrible, (can you say Hardrock!) Our room was alway kept in order and the bed covers were always pulled down at bed time. We ordered room service once and it was also done very well. The walk around the island was really nice and a highlight of the trip. We were even offered an upgrade but decided not to take it because it was on the top floor. I like the hotel, and would stay again, but just realize it's not inexpensive and everything is inflated to the point of being"over the top." It's what you expect being in Miami, I get it, but just make sure you're in the right mind set to spoil yourself and forget about being practical. When you can do that it's absolutely awesome!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zo6man34531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belem, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Excellent location, very polite staff, quiet place with great restaurants. The pool and spa are amazing. Totally worth it. Best hotel in Miami so far and Brickell is nowadays the best region to do everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PietroMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I travel to Miami several times throughout the year, and to be honest have never considered staying in Brickell. She is a beach person, so we have always stayed at beach hotels in south beach. Over the years, the beach has changed. It's gotten very loud, and the streets are filled with obnoxious people who seem to ruin things for us. South beach certainly isn't a place to relax anymore that's for sure.
But we love Miami! So what do we do....well we decided to check out the Mandarin Oriental Miami which sits on the intercostal in the Brickell area of Miami. It's not on the beach but Is on a beautiful stretch of water with views of downtown Miami.
I reached out to the hotel prior to arrival, and ended up emailing back and forth with the concierge Jay B. He not only kept me informed throughout the entire email chain back and forth as to what was happening in Miami, but also booked a spa day for us, made dinner reservations, and made some terrific recommendations for our visit. We felt so welcome based on our correspondence b4 arriving, that we couldn't wait to check in. That's service and I must tell you, a rarity in a city that seems to have forgotten was service is.
Our suite was beautiful. It has a wrap around balcony, a living room and Bang and Olfson TV's and speakers throughout. The bathroom was large and spacious, with a separate tub and shower. Well done room for sure.
We enjoyed a spa experience like none other at the Mandarin during one of the days we were there. Rarely do spas have the wow factor but this one certainly did. My facial & massage was out of this world, and I would return simply to experience the spa again.
At every turn the service was impeccable. Whether it was a room attendant we passed in the hallway that would always say hello and was smiling, to a pool attendant or lunch server who genuinely cares about the guests they were taking care of, or a bartender in the lobby bar we felt as if we were royalty.
My wife and I are also huge foodies, and what's great is how exceptional the food was. Whether it was breakfast lunch or dinner (both at Azul or the new Peruvian restaurant) the food we experienced was top notch. Typically I am disappointed by food in a hotel but here the food exceeded all expectations.
What really impressed me the most was the fact that we booked transport to and from the hotel via a private car that the concierge arranged for us. The driver must have contacted the hotel once we were picked up from the airport, since once we arrived I was greeted at the limo door by a woman who whisked us away to our suite and already had us checked in with keys in her hand. I signed papers in my suite, never having to wait at a check in counter. That's 5 star service! We stay at 4 and 5 star hotels all over the world and have never experienced anything like that.
Bravo to the entire team at Mandarin Oriental. With very special thanks to Jorge the GM & Jay the concierge for making a Miami weekend away turn into truly a memorable luxury retreat. You floored us, and we have certainly found our new Miami hotel going forward. Farewell to South beach and hello to Brickell. Such a hidden gem in Miami. We cannot wait to return. Thanks again, Bryan & Dana B, Atlanta Ga

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ATLfoodie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed for just a day and a half on the way back to London. Well worth its 5* with excellent and helpful staff. Everything works so well. The decor is superb particularly at Lobby level. Just sit down and look at it - it really is quite something, with great use of natural wood. We were on the top floor (20th) with fantastic views of the Bay. Breakfast could not be better and we enjoyed ours on the terrace. Very big and comfortable beds with lovely linen and a fabulous bathroom with an separate shower and bath. Great that every room has a balcony. "Free" wi-fi didn't stop them charging us for it. Having been away for five weeks and fed up of hotel food, we asked them to recommend a local Italian restaurant. They recommended Perricone on 10th and we just loved it. Great food and lovely staff. American portions of course, so if you're not used to that, beware.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrookieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

very tranquil quiet peaceful place amazingly gorgeous hotel!

m bar has great delicious drinks! walking around their infinity pool and strolling along the water is very nice and the lobby is gorgeous restaurant azul has great food views and their rooms ive been in them all are big nicely decorated very asian inspired and i love the different views you can get especially if you get a balcony room!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We love Mandarin Hotels and now that they have rectified their stupid practice of charging for internet access in their hotels, there is little to fault. We had a great room, Mandarin gets great linen, large towels and excellent amenities.
Once again high levels of service are the norm and everything works. No resort fees either, so no feeling of being ripped off. Have dinner at La Mar and sit outside and enjoy the night view of Miami. Difficult to beat!

Room Tip: Face Miami
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigplatcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
W Miami
W Miami
#72 of 119 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing