We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Savage Hotel. Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Ranked #3 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
1 review
“Savage Hotel. Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the mandarin for eleven nights in January. Everything about the hotel was fantastic. The high prices truly reflected the facilities , the standard of service and the quality of the food. The breakfast buffet was wonderful and served always with a smile. We have no hesitation in recommending this five star hotel to any five star travellers- young or old. We are both in our mid twenties. We will be going back !!

  • Liked — The Buffet Breakfast and the generl service
  • Disliked — That we had to leave after eleven nights!!!!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ciarmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,520
    408
    153
    64
    47
See reviews for
388
870
107
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Checked into this hotel and was amazed at the level of service, from the car valet to the front desk staff. The hotel is amazing. The furnishings are well appointed and modern. The rooms are fabulous with georgeous bathrooms and amenities. Would stay here again in a "heart beat". My view was phenomenal! Only place to stay in Miami!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stefsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

we checked into the hotel after our cruise and the hotel was fab. we got a great rate online, I think this may have been reflected in our room as the balcomy was more of a "one person standing area" but never the less it was a great room and the view amazing. As it was our honeymoon we had a lovely message and strawberries in our room and rose petals on the bed - I'm not sure if this is normal , but it was fabulous.

The Concierge were great, recommending a great restaurant in south beach. It was fantastic food.

The facilities at the hotel were great, lovely pool, we didnt go the beach area as we had too much shopping to do! We went to a big Mall that you can get to on the train its basically the end of the line. There's a cheesecake factory and all the normal shops nine west, macys etc. cost there and back was $6 each! and you get to see some of Miami.

We also went to the everglades which was a great trip - organised through the hotel.

All in all a great couple of days to end our honeymoon - would I recommend the hotel? - absolutely!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Angela6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 9 nights this summer. We had checked reviews before we went and read about celebrities staying there too so our expectations were high. And the mandarin oriental was all that we hoped it would be!
We were warmly greeted on our arrival and checked in quickly. Our room was very spacious with a huge bathroom! The whole hotel is beautiful. All of the staff were attentive and friendly. It truly felt like luxury especially as we were not used to being waited on hand and foot. As soon as we appeared by the pool or beach, a staff member came to prepare our beds and give us ice cold water- it felt weird at first but we quickly got used to the service!!
We didn't have breakfast included in our rate so we treated ourselves with room service on the first morning. After that, we used the grocery store 5mins walk away where they serve fresh croissants, coffee etc- much cheaper for anyone on a bit of a budget.
The only thing that could be viewed as a negative was the location, however for us it was a positive. Having visited south beach a few times during our stay, we loved the fact that the mandarin was quiet and more relaxing with less posers around. But the location did mean that it was essential to hire a car! But with the exchange rate, for us it was very reasonable. And contrary to all of the complaints americans make- their fuel is cheap!! (compared to the UK anyway!!!) It only cost us approx $40 to fill the tank of a ford focus before returning it to Hertz!! If only it was as cheap here.
Can't say enough about the wonderful mandarin, the pool, the room, the beach, the restaurant, the concierge, the valet- all of the staff- were fabulous. If you're going to Miami to relax you have to stay here!

  • Liked — all of the facilities- pool, beach, gym etc. And the room was so comfortable.
  • Disliked — Probably the location, there were no other bars or restaurants close by.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ihatebirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

The hotel was beautiful. We stayed on South Beach for a few days and then checked in to the Mandarin Oriental. You feel relaxed as soon as you enter the hotel - the atmosphere is beautiful, very serene. Our rooms were wonderful - spacious, modern and had all the amenities one would need. Staff was very helpful and professional. This is not the hotel for you if you'd like the typical South Beach experience - it is for those who would like to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, in a wonderfully calm and zen environment.

  • Liked — Service & Ambience
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblybianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

I went here with my boyfriend in June for a short 3 day trip. We were really excited because we had seen all the pictures on the website and of course Mandarin has a great reputation. They happened to have a cheaper rate that weekend so we decided to book this location.

The GOOD things first -
The hotel is beautiful - the lobby was clean with modern decorations and very sophisticated. The people in the lobby were helpful (although a little too helpful wanting to take your luggage for the tip).
We checked into our room and it was beautiful - the bathroom especially. There was an opening between the room and window that could be closed with a shade. A glass shower, tub and bathroom closet.

The not so good things -
Pool is NOT what is pictured on their website. I was expecting a huge large pool, but it was really small. There weren't that many chairs, and if you didn't get there in time there was no room. Drinks were way overpriced. The private "beach" area they claim to have is just a small man made area of sand (no water to even go into) and some beds / chairs.
Hotel is very far from everything else. Very few restaurants in walking distance and cabs were really expensive to get into the main part of Miami.

Would recommend this hotel for those wanting to just stay at the hotel and only relax there. If you are wanting to experience the rest of Miami, go to the beaches, go out, not the hotel to stay at. We probably spent more money on cabs than food.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

After a busy stay in New York, the Mandarin was the perfect place for me and my wife to relax for a few days. The hotel itself is excellent. Our room was spacious and had a great view. The bathroom was massive. Staff were always polite and very helpful and we made good use of the fitness suite which was fairly well kitted out. The pool was a little small for the size of the hotel, but overall it is a great place to stay. As other reviews have said, it is about $25 taxi to south beach, but there are a few nice restaurants close by in a small complex just off Brickell key.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank supersunfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#10 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 2,973 reviews
Conrad Miami
#7 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131-2605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing