We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“More to Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Ranked #3 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“More to Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is bar none: views of the water and city lights is always perfect. Access to an array of menu items and restaurants on location is key. The food very well prepared. Service outstanding, quite possibly the best I have encountered.
It would be a good idea for valets to have umbrellas for patrons coming out of their vehicles in the rain. That is the only minuscule criticism i can make.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,482
    397
    151
    62
    46
See reviews for
375
849
106
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was such a beautiful hotel! The view of the ocean was spectacular! We had the most incredible room with a large balcony, which was great for reading out in the sun! The only downside is that it is far removed from the strip, but great if you want to stay in the business district! The service was excellent, the food was AMAZING, and the views were incredible!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizzy1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights last week, and I have to say that it exceeded my high expectations! The customer service was always available and very helpful. Service at Cafe Sambal and the Azul was excellent and first-class. It happened to be my birthday one of the nights while I was dining in the Azul and the waiter gave me a birthday card signed by the staff of the kitchen wishing me a happy birthday. It was great, they were extremely friendly and professional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's first class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RayDolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for only 1 night traveling on business, therefore I did not get to use all of the amenities this hotel has to offer like the spa/fitness, etc. However, my room was beautiful and very clean! Staff when checking in is very friendly and accommodating. My room was very spacious and I had a water view. Bathroom has a separate walk-in shower and whirlpool tub. Bed was very comfortable. The balcony was enormous for a hotel balcony! Great to sit out there at night and view the water. I also had room service for breakfast and food was good. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again. FYI, valet parking is $36.00/night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMB514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a bad name to a hotel chain that supposes to be the best. The rooms have balcony overlooking a beautiful ocean or bay view, but is impossible to enjoy because is pigeon pup all over the balconies, after the third room we try to find clean, we gave up, no going outside.
The staff was very unprofessional and acted like they didn't care. $35.00 for one drink nothing special, and the stone crabs were so bad some of my friends got sick, glad I don't eat them.
Bad experience, I hope they clean their act.

Room Tip: Don't get in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I regret to learn that your stay was not up to the standards of service we strive to provide to all our guests. I will share your comments with the team and reinforce training that focuses on providing excellent service that is gracious, personalized and attentive. I can assure you this is not the norm and can be supported by the many favorable trip advisor comments that the hotel and restaurants have received.

I would like to point out that we have an intensive maintenance program in place which focuses on deep cleaning and upkeep of all our guest rooms and balconies on a regular basis. I sincerely apologize for the conditions of the balcony you encountered and will address this with our Housekeeping team to schedule more frequent checks.

Thank you again for sharing your valued feedback and again my apologies for the disappointing experience. We hope you will give us another opportunity with a return visit in the future. Please contact the Executive Office and we will ensure your next visit is seamless and enjoyable.

Sincerely,


Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

You have to go a long way to even come near to the quality of customer service experienced at this hotel. We are staying here at the moment as we have done on numerous occasions and have to say that everything is exquisite from the wonderful food and service at Cafe Sambal (Unfortunately Azul is closed the 2 nights we are here) to the detail to attention given to you at the front desk and at the pool, especially from Nadia and Jacky who both make sure that your every need is attended to without any fuss or problem. Returning to this wonderful hotel is like coming home and all the employees make you feel like family. Mr. Gonzales, we commend you on all of your wonderful employees and would never consider staying anywhere else in Miami. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful at this great hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lope3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went to the Mandarin expecting the very best. Most of the staff tried very hard to be friendly and attentive, but between the construction (jack hammering beginning at 8:30am and going most of the day) and limited restaurant menus, we were off to a bad start. When the waiter disappeared during dinner and no one could find him, it was another bad sign. Finally, when we were ready to check out, I discovered they had lost my shoes! You would think they would at least apologize for some of this, but they did not flinch. 'See you next time' they said. I don't think so.

Room Tip: Check to see if the jack hammering is still going on. Even high floors cannot escape
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize that the overall quality of your stay was disappointing. I regret that we did not provide the level of service expected and apologize for the deficiencies experienced. I assure you I will address your comments with the team and take corrective measures.

We hope you will give us another opportunity with a return visit in the future. Please contact the Executive Office and we will ensure your next visit is seamless and enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Conrad Miami
#9 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131-2605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#2 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing