We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$200 Spa Credit Per Night
Ranked #4 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale
Level Contributor
250 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Impeccable Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for three nights whilst attending a wedding on South Beach.

I wanted something luxurious and quiet away from the party crowds near the beach and I wasn't disappointed.

From start to finish I was made to feel like a special guest and nothing was too much trouble. The food was amazing, best room service I've ever experienced.

They provide iced tea in reception, free chilled water and sunscreen by the pool and every member of staff has a cheery comment.

There are dozens of restaurants and bars in walking distance and a lovely walk round Brickell Key.

Would highly recommend for location, service and standards of food.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Miami downtown skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MysteryGuestRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,436
    381
    147
    62
    46
See reviews for
353
822
104
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I am increasingly finding that there are vast differences in the quality of the various Mandarin Oriental hotels around the world, from the original Asian ones to, well, San Francisco, one of the worst 5-star hotels I have ever experienced. Miami falls somewhere in between, although overall it is good and I have stayed there more than once, partly because of the lack of better options in the area. The service is fine (again, sorry, not Miami-bashing, but fairly typical of Miami: laid back, somewhat inefficient, somewhat friendly); this assessment extends from the concierge, to the front desk to housekeeping and to the restaurants (which, again, are good but not great). The rooms are in need of refreshment despite a recent much vaunted renovation (I really couldn't tell much between before and after except that flat-screen TVs were added!); the bathrooms have a strange 1990s layout and feel, still. The views are beautiful, and I personally like the location, although of course it is not at the beach (there are tons of nice restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute drive, overall better than at the beach, I think). The gym is fantastic, the pool is not.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcinbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize that the experience you had at the hotel was not up to the standards we strive to provide to all our guests. I will address each of your detailed points with the pertinent departments and will correct the deficiencies in service you encountered. Please understand that providing excellent service that is gracious, personalized and attentive is our top priority and we will continue to train our team of dedicated colleagues on a daily basis.


I hope you will give us another opportunity and am at your service for any assistance in the future

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed there back in November for the first time, although we were familiar with the hotel's restaurants before. Comfortable rooms, excellent housekeeping and facilities kept us satisfied. Despite no access to direct swimming, simulated beach shore was very appealing. Walking around the Brickell Key is definitely a plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namrun14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel! Infinity pool, walking/running path around the extended area. Stone crabs are excellent when in season. Nice patio/balcony to relax and look at bridge. Deep bath tub in separate bathrooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurerMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Am a big fan of MOs and often stay when I can. The hotel is very nice and our suite was good. Was surprised that some of the furniture was beat up, the carpet and fabric on the couch was stained. Usually never see that at a Mandarin.

We departed the hotel after putting our bags in storage only to discover later in the day before our departure from Ft. Lauderdale that we were missing a backpack. Major panic as my son was leaving for London the next day and his laptop and other papers were in the backpack. We called twice to the hotel and gave them the locations on where to look for the backpack. Both times two separate people called back to tell us they could not find it. Out of sheer desperation I called back a third time to speak with the manager. He located it in less than five minutes. Did they even look the first two times? Thought the whole episode was very odd.

To be fair they did drive it to the airport for us and we had ten minutes to spare but got the item. Can't tell you how much stress this was on all of us. While we also have some responsibility here for not matching the bags with our claim check, you would think after spending thousands of dollars in three nights for a suite they would have found the bag sooner, or taken our request more seriously. Odd they found it immediately once we contacted the manager.

Not the way we wanted to end the stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTrun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at Mandarin Oriental, Miami and for taking the time to write about your stay on Trip Advisor.

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and stress you experienced during your recent stay due to the missing bag left behind. I will address this issue again with our bell staff team.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon and thank you for your valued feedback.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Staff are well trained (efficient and friendly - a bit 'too much' - maybe a cultural thing - but I cannot criticize - they remember your name; guide you to the bar, elevator, spa, restaurant or wherever you need to go, rather than point & direct).

Food was very, very good (we ate twice in Cafe) - it was well executed, tasty and fairly priced.

Would consider another MO again - but what is with the WIFI gauging? I don't mind paying to have ice delivered to my room, pay for movies on the tv, pay for valet parking - but I am increasing used to getting WIFI for free (irrespective of charge of the hotel) - I consider it as essential as a pillow or a bed sheet.

PS Room wasn't available on check-in at 2pm; this was slow and miscommunicated (but I wasn't in a rush, so no problem, and was before the 3.00pm check in time).
Room appointments a little dated.

Maybe someone could enlighten me - am I unreasonable about WIFI charges in hotels?

Room Tip: the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElGordoVisito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I am delighted to learn that over all you had an enjoyable stay at Mandarin Oriental, Miami

With regards to the Internet, some hotels do offer free Internet access, but the service offered is limited (low bandwidth, lack of security, poor signal) which we understand but would be unacceptable in a luxury hotel. The Internet is more than communications to our guests – whether they are using it to bank online, check investments, book travel, check information or their emails, we assure you that we will continue to invest in this technology to offer our guests the quality of service with the performance and security that you would expect of Mandarin. It is an important service offering that we consider of value to those that use it.

We appreciate and respect your opinion and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,


Jorge Gonzalez
Area Vice President
& General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Exactly what one would expect from a Mandarin - and the Miami hotel does not disappoint. From the moment we checked in until check out, we were expertly taken care of. The staff was friendly, attentive and eager to make our stay perfect. Beautifully appointed, the hotel is ideally located downtown with striking views of the Miami skyline. We had a lovely balcony room overlooking the bay. Our room was tastefully appointed with down comforters and pillows, a sprawling bathroom and an entertainment system that will make most techies quite happy.

And if you're wanting to partake of the spa services, you won't be disappointed. An 80 minute deep tissue massage was fantastic. The massage rooms were beautiful and with a wide array of services provided (facials, pedicures, manicures, massages). Truly relaxing and the perfect way to wrap up a vacation.

Definitely a fantastic hotel in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking Brickell Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
W Miami
W Miami
#72 of 119 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing