We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Giving it 5 stars but not sure why” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Ranked #3 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Giving it 5 stars but not sure why”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Took our family of 5 here from the UK for a 3 night break. Yes, the hotel is probably worthy of 5 stars - the service is excellent, the rooms are very good, the food is recommended, the view from the hotel over the mall bay is magnificent. Howeve, it's just lacking a certain something......CHARACTER! Visually, the hotel is very bland, it's in quite an isolated spot (great for business, however there's very little to do in the direct vicinity of the hotel for a family), and dare I say the excellent service was all delivered without much warmth and sincerity compared to other MO hotels I've stayed in. Downsides? Small things really: the breakfast is overpriced, as is the $15/day Internet fee. Also, we asked the concierge to recommended a good hamburger restaurant for 3 hungry UK kids - and after a $25 taxi ride he had pointed us to a real cheap, takeaway, 'eat on trays' restaurant. Would a Mandarin guest really want that?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,520
    408
    153
    64
    47
See reviews for
388
870
107
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cary, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a nice stay!!!!! Couldn't have been better!!!!! Everything about the hotel was great-location, service, guest rooms, and food!!!!! The hotel room was great-it was very high-class and there was a balcony where we could look out at the Miami skyline and bay. The service was great. A service member gave us a free welcome package with 2 cups of milk, 4 different kinds of cookies and 3 mini brownies with nuts on a lollipop stick- all served with coconut shreds!!!!! Another service member named Mihai showed us all around the island where the hotels stands in. It was beautiful and ever so relaxing. There are so many amenities!!!!! If you ever go there, try to find the 4 iguanas that just wander around the hotel property. Most of them are near the sand area. Overall, this stay was HEAVENLY!!!!!

Room Tip: Definitely choose the skyline/bay view!!!!! It''s beautiful!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redmund c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Located on a small key close to the downtown area, this high quality hotel provides an interesting alternative to the Miami Beach hotels.

The man-made beach is cute and gets the job done. This provides a good spot for local wildlife - on two occasions there were frolicking dolphins directly in front of the sun-loungers and manatees swim lazily by.

The rooms were large and well appointed e.g. B&O TVs and high count cotton sheets. On the negatives, the bathrooms are starting to show their age relative to the rest of the room.

Overall the the food was great and in particular the black cod and the sushi were exceptional.

This is an excellent option for those who want the benefits of being in Miami without the craziness of Miami Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JordanNYC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State of Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
124 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We've stayed just for 24 hours, just for a stop before going to Caribe, but we loved it. The service is impeccable, and ambiance is amazing. We had an early check in, that was perfect. We certainly would like to come back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cintiafarhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Here for an overnight stay. Fantastic greeting and two wonderful joining rooms for our family. Great service, everything a Mandarin should be. Fabulous swim and breakfast overlooking the bay before continuing our travels to Central America.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fjhowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I am writing the review at the hotel. Lets just put aside the inconvenience of the location aside at the moment. I chose to stay here inside of the south beach because I want a quiet hotel but guess what, there are plane flying over my head every ten minutes! And guess what, when I called the front desk they told me they have never heard any plane noise. I went down to talk to the manager on duty and he claimed he has never had any complaints and he has been working here for two years. They are treating me as if I made this up. I invited the manager on duty to go to my room to prove that there are planes noise every ten minutes. He heard it himself very inevitably and instead of trying to solve the problem, simply told me that there is nothing he can do about the planes. I told him that I am aware of it but is the other side of the hotel going to be better I asked. Of course he can't answer the questions since he claimed no guests have complained about the noise before...well they must all be deaf. I requested to check the rooms on the other side of the hotel. We went together and it's slightly better, the catch is its facing a main road and there is traffic. I truly dislike how they handle my complaints. Now lets get to some other technical issue. The vents of the air conditioning blows directly to the bed onto my head so I can't turn any air conditioning on. By the way they don't give you adapters, they are part of the minibar item so you need to purchase them. Not to mention that one needs to purchase wifi connection. That is the least of the problems.
By the way I asked the manager on duty in light of the noise of planes on the one side and the traffic on the other side of the hotel, which is the lesser of two evils for an insomniac like me. He said it would be the side facing traffic. Oh so he finally heard the plane noise? So I didn't make it up after all! Shame on this mandarin oriental. The chain should disown this property to preserve its standard. Do not stay here!

Room Tip: Stay at some other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Ms. Yao,

I am very sorry to read of the noise disturbance you encountered which has also been brought to my attention by our Front Office Manager and our Rooms Division Director, who has tried contacting you.

Please understand that Mandarin Oriental, Miami was built with the highest of standards and to withstand category five hurricane force winds.

We are an urban city resort, tucked away on a semi private island, away from the traffic noise of downtown and the South Beach festive scene. We have never received a report from our guests of air traffic noise since the hotel opened and if you review other Trip Advisor reports, there has not been such an incident.

I would like to assist in making the remainder of your stay seamless and enjoyable and would like to speak with you. Please contact me at your earliest convenience to see what we can do to help make your stay a restful one.

Kind regards,

Greg Nunez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel in downtown Miami. Situated a short cab drive from the craziness of south beach (the good and bad that that is!). Quality of rooms, public areas and service far exceeds that of any hotel in south beach or competing 4 seasons downtown. Beautiful decor and high quality materials used through out. Perfect for business or family vacations

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Five star T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#10 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 2,973 reviews
Conrad Miami
#8 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131-2605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami
#2 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing