We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, relaxing hotel, highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Ranked #4 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Checked in here at 10am after an overnight flight from Los Angeles and they kindly found us a room to check into straight away. Carlos at the desk also gave us a complimentary upgrade as we were on honeymoon.

Lovely room, great balcony overlooking the ocean.

Staff were lovely, really helpful.

The pool was great, a little small but still relaxing. Very comfy loungers and delicious cocktails and food.

Location is good for downtown Miami. Taxi to SouthBeach costs about $35. Free trolley service outside the hotel takes you on a loop around to the main shopping areas.

All in all a great hotel, amazing service and very luxurious.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,579)
There are newer reviews for Mandarin Oriental, Miami
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,535 - 1,541 of 2,579 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel was so fabulous, we cannot find one thing that we did not like. First, we stayed here to attend a baseball game, just a short taxi ride. It was so wonderul we extened our stay. The hotel staff could not have been more warm and caring. Since we were celebrating a birthday, they went way out to make the day special. We enjoyed the pool, the view of the Bay, the location, the service and the food. The Oasis pool has wonderful sushi and Azure is fabulous. We had a drink an apetizers at the lounge and Claudio took care of us. Not only was he a good server and bartender, but he was so funny! We enjoyed our stay so much and want to return soon.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Bay, high floor
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MauiLani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Amazing! The spectacular views of this hotel, combined with the amazing private beach & pool, make this hotel simply like no other! I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday - and, loved it. I can honestly say, from all the other places I have visited... this is the only place that I have felt sad leaving... & cannot wait to go back!

The front desk staff was amazing! Especially the 2 front desk agents/bell that were working the night of the 27th... and, assisted us on making plans to go out for the night! Their suggestions were right... they knew the area, and they made suggestions based on what they thought we would like, and not what they personally liked...

We ordered room service one night... and, the food was delicious! The room service person was also extremely nice!

The hotel is about 15 minutes from Ocean Drive... and about $25. Not a big deal. The view that you wake up to in the morning, and go to sleep at night - makes this location a MUST! (;

While in Miami, this is the hotel to stay... simply amazing!

Room Tip: high floor... amazing view!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Mandarin for 3 nights. We arrived early afternoon to find that our room (deluxe bay view) was not ready for check in. We were offered a complimentary lunch and drinks at the on site restaurant, Cafe Sanbal. Many comparable hotels do not do this so we were immediately impressed with the service level. Overall a great property...would definitely return.

Negatives:
*Brickell Key is beautiful but a significant taxi ride to South Beach or other notable shopping areas and restaurants. We rented a car but took taxis at night.
*The configuration of the room was a bit strange...open to the bathroom but a blind that could be closed.
* Man made non swimming beach that I consider just ok... was not a factor for us in choosing the property.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our deluxe bay view room...spacious and nice balcony with great downtown view at night.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanaLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed last week with my family - Cafe Sanbal excellent for breakfast - Rooms appeared to be a little tired (furniture had damage to it ) Staff friendly but expect tips eg on arrival and every time you get in a taxi or car - which I guess is normal but it was slightly insincere with everyone saying 'Have a nice Day ' and not really meaning it ! - Valet parking 36 dollars - quite expensive if you are staying several nights - We were due to return next week at the end of our holiday but saw on the internet when looking at other hotel possibilities that MO has major renovation work starting - No pool No spa etc This we cannot see on the MO website Miami which is - if true a little naughty of the MO not to mention this as its pretty major and if you arrived expecting a relaxing vacation it would be dissapointint - if it is there I apologise but I could not see the warning of this anywhere so be warned !! I called the hotel reservations yesterday and they confirmed the work is starting soon - so you may want to check yourselves - Normally hotels warn of this or offer a reduced rate on rooms re noise and lack of facilities !

Room Tip: go high floor and ask for a bay view away from the brickel bridge (road noise) and away from elevato...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SleepyEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us.

I sincerely apologize that the overall quality of your stay was disappointing. I will address the lapses in service you encountered with our staff. I regret that we did not provide the level of service expected and apologize for the deficiencies experienced. I assure you I will address your comments with the team.

With regards to the pool refurbishment, we have information posted on our website pertaining to the details of the closure and have advised all guests that have made reservations in August. We have arranged a variety of leisure options for guests to choose from during this time period.

Guest will have the option to enjoy the new lap pool and ambience at the luxurious St. Louis Condominium adjacent to the hotel. Our pool attendants will provide a selection of non-alcoholic beverages on a complimentary basis throughout the day at the St. Louis. From our hotel, it’s a leisurely five-minute walk to the St. Louis pool or guests may opt to take our golf cart service departing from the hotel front entrance or the hotel beach.

Guests will also have the option to enjoy our Oasis private beach and enjoy a gourmet Food Truck experience. Named one of the best Asian fusion restaurants in the US by Bon Appetit magazine, Miami’s favorite Food Truck Sakaya Kitchen will be offering an Asian-inspired, organic comfort food menu. Our private beach although not for swimming provides stunning views of the bay and Miami skyline. The hotel has taken every measure to ensure the guest experience is not interrupted.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Although, we regret that we did not fully meet your expectations on this visit, we value and respect your opinion and hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

went here during 4th of july weekend. we got a deluxe bay view room (king bed with a small balcony facing downtown miami. the room was phenomenal. the room had an asian touch of decoration with wood furniture and the bathroom was very nice and spacious. the bathrooms had marble tile on the walls and floors making it very elegant.

the room offers morning maid service and evening turndown service. they even throw in 2 bottles of water free every night!

we also got to enjoy the spa, which was the only 5-star spa in miami. we got a facial and body massage which was fantastic! the spa has all the amenities you could ask for....steam room, sauna, showers, lockers, relaxation area.

the hotel is centrally located from downtown miami, south beach, and little havana. it is accessed by brickell key dr.

i would recommend this hotel looking for a 5-star hotel in miami.

Room Tip: choose a room with a bay view
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Mandarin Oriental in Miami. This hotel offers impecable service throughout. From the front desk, to the pool, to the restaurants, everything is first class. The rooms are spacious and with a great view. I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TampaDocFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#19 of 124 in Miami
3,307 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131-2605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $281 - $798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio,YAKU by La Mar, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing