We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel with an even more amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Ranked #5 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel with an even more amazing view”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband and I spend a getaway weekend at the Mandarin for our anniversary and it was all that we hoped for... From the check in everyone was very kind and helpful, my husband noted on the reservation that we were celebrating our anniversary and all the staff continued to congratulate us on our stay.

We were first assigned to room 1010 and as when we got there a maintenance man was changing the lightbulbs, he was so apologetic and quickly left the room. (no big deal) although we still decided to change out of this room because even though it was a bay room category it was facing more of the city and downtown area also there was a really bad smell that came from the water by the bridge going into the key (not the hotel's fault i'm sure but still not nice when you are paying that type of price for a hotel.)My husband spoke to the front desk and they immediately changed our room without any hesitation. They sent the bellman up with the new cards immediately.

OUr second room was beautiful and it had an amazing view! The bed was amazing and the pillows were great. The room decor is asian modern which is very relaxing and beautiful. Great stocked mini bar! I think I even saw an outlet converter in there.
The soap and other bath products were so amazing!!! Kind of minty and it is sets you in a very relaxed mood. The soaking tub was kind of narrow, cant fit two people but one person was fine.
The down service was so beautiful... they made a heart with rose petals and left us a beautiful dessert for our anniversary with even the ice bucket prepared.

We also went to the beach area and the pool which the service is was impeccable. They even had complimentary sun screen (which was helpful since I forgot mine)

Overall our experience was amazing. The only con for my taste is that pets are allowed. There was a hollowing dog at various points through the night on our floor and you heard scattered doggie yapping. But I have to admit that you would never know the hotel allows pets if you don't see or hear them. The hotel is very meticulously clean and it does not smell like animals. I have allergies to dogs and never did I experience any allergy episodes while on my getaway.

Room Tip: Bay views start on floor 7 or 8 the further down the hallway the more water view less city view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,755
    459
    177
    72
    54
See reviews for
442
1,024
118
541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The size of the room and mainly of the bathroom were striking (Deluxe Bay View room). The hotel is relatively new, with all amenities one can think of: huge fitness area, great spa, nice views (unfortunately, it was foggy and misty during my 2-day stay).
I hope to return there sometime accompanied by my loved one to spend some romantic time there.

Room Tip: Deluxe Bay View room has nice view and lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSL3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is a great hotel to stay in Miami. The best they have is the people that they work at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmenabrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed at the mandarin Oriental for 3 nights in a deluxe Veranda Room. Room is very large, nicewith a huge bathroom and a beautiful Veranda overlooking downtown Miami and biscayne bay. Staff members all very friendly, good service at the Pool, very efficient valet parking. Small minus: the brickell key location. There is not much around there, except some restaurants in walking distance, so if you stay there, you definitely want to bring your car.
If you don't want to stay in overcrowded Miami beach, I highly recommend the Mandarin Oriental. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelerGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

When the Mandarin Oriental offered a special for Floridians, we traveled up the Keys for two nights and enjoyed the experience thoroughly. This is of course a world class hotel, so the service is superb and the standards high throughout. The summer special came with full breakfast and use of the 5-star spa--which meant access to their steam rooms and showers, though one could also pay for a very wide variety of spa services. The location on Brickell Key is useful for getting around Miami by car or by foot--the downtown (free) people mover is only three blocks away. Their signature restaurant, Azul, was excellent but probably not up to its prices, despite a great wine list. The secondary and less formal restaurant has food half as price and 2/3 as good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S6usanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I've stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Miami from the 6th to the 10th August. From check-in to check-out the experience was fantastic. The interior of the hotel is stunning with a beautiful decoration. The rooms are very big and very well decorated. My room was a deluxe room with a city skyline view. The view is very beautiful. The bed is so comfortable and the bathroom is big and beautifully appointed with a large shower. The surroundings are very well kept and the jogging track has very nice views of Biscayne Bay. The restaurants have the most delicious food I've ever eaten. The food at the Cafe Sambal restaurant is marvelous with excellent asian inspired dishes. The Azul restaurant is an excellent fine dining experience. The food is excellent and delicious. Both restaurants have excellent wine options. My compliments to the chefs. The pool area is spacious with a good view of the city. The staff throughout the hotel is very friendly and very helpful. I loved my stay, loved the atmosphere and the ambiance. I've stayed at other Mandarin Orientals in Macau and Singapore and the experience was similarly stunning. It is among the best hotels in the world. Next time in Miami, I will definitely stay at the Mandarin Oriental again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Cabecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Well, it's the Mandarin Oriental, so no complaints here! Top-notch service from the concierge, the waitstaff in the restaurant, the bartenders….it was a wonderful experience all around. I truly loved being situated on the bay, which afforded me a great venue to walk and feel secure about my surroundings, as so many others were involved in jogging, blading, walking with their children, etc.

It was a lovely way to break into Spring; I would love to visit this hotel again. It was a nice break from trendy, noisy South Beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank godsfavdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#14 of 122 in Miami
3,263 reviews
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 122 in Miami
478 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131-2605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio,YAKU by La Mar, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing