We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Ranked #17 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Davenport, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
266 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“PERFECT STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was a wonderful Hampton Inn. Started at checkin, and there was two great desk clerks working, and they were so gracious and helpful. They gave me just the perfect room, and then fixed me up with directions to all the places I needed to go. They printed out mapquests and train schedules for me without me even asking. Nice touch.

Room in perfect shape and everything worked great and looked clean. Nice fridge with a big freezer.

Very quiet at night.

Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Steve S,

Thank you for staying with us and recommending our hotel. I am glad that our team member's display of hamptonality elicited such a praise for our staff. I look forward to your next visit.


Regards,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    634
    150
    37
    26
See reviews for
603
447
84
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Like others have said, this hotel is in a great location. 15 minutes walk to the Grove and all it has to offer. Very clean with great amenities such as free parking, extensive free breakfast, free coffee and tea and free wifi.

I saw another review saying the wifi isn't fast. However, that is untrue. The down speed is about 1.62 and up is about 0.72 at peak hours. This is fast enough to watch you tube, surf the web and even watch Netflix. Trust me when I say that it is better than many hotels.

The reason for only 4 stars were two things. One within hotel control and one the hotel had no control over. The first thing was I received several packages during my stay. No one called my room to say they arrived and they had some difficultly tracking them down when I did inquire (they do have a good system, I just had a moment of panic when they couldn't immediately find the packages). But the front desk staff is very courteous and helpful, so I am unsure if the lack of call was due to my DND sign on the door or just a policy.

Next, beware of the noise if you stay on the street side of the hotel. You can plainly hear the traffic, train and construction that is going on. It didn't bother me, but if you aren't from the city it might be difficult to deal with. I recommend rooming on the parking side if you aren't used to city noise.

One other thing to note is that the A/C unit is digital and difficult to adjust to your particular preference. I prefer the white noise of the fan running to block the sounds you get in a hotel, but this is not an option. Also, often the unit would sometimes just kick on even if I had the wall unit off.

One other recommendation for the hotel would be to have a 'suite shop' like the Hampton Inn Miami Brickell. That would be so helpful if you get up in the middle of the night for a craving, or just want a cold beer for a night cap and don't want to get fully 'dressed' to go to the shop. However, the gas station across the street sells everything, so that would just be a convenient amenity as it is not really a necessity.

There was a fridge and microwave in my room and a spacious bathroom. I don't think any of the rooms do have a bathtub if that is your thing. Also, the bed and pillows are very comfortable.

As a business traveler, I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Spadionis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
The Hampton team would like to apologize for the delay in responding to your review about our property from your stay back in April 2014. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and look forward to welcoming you the next time you’re in town.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you stay at this hotel and plan to use your computer...don't plan to be happy with the internet speed. It was brutally slow during my stay and had huge lags when checking email or browsing the web (I actually was on Tripadvisor and the load times were long). Forget about streaming video, Netflix or Youtube will keep stopping to buffer.

The fitness room was more of a fitness closet. One treadmill, one seated bike, one crosstrainer, zero remotes for the TV.

And (this may just annoy me) the in-room TVs do not have HDMI hook ups so forget plugging in the laptop or PS3. Come on - for nearly $200 a night we should have newer equipment.

On the good side, the room was as clean as a Hampton typically is and far more quiet. My room (#200) was a good size and I didn't hear any other guests during my stay. Breakfast was better than the Hampton usual - they had Greek yogurt and really fresh oranges.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGetemTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Go getem tiger,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your ratings and feedback. I am sorry you feel the value for your stay with us was not there when it comes to internet speed and size of our fitness room. I am disappointed to hear you were not able to connect, not even to check email messages. Currently we offer a complimentary WIFI access of 2 Mbps download and 1.0 Mbps upload which should be more than enough. We will be upgrading our circuit to offer additional badwidth for a fee as part of Hampton Hotels initiative. Our fitness room even though small offers the necessary cardio equipmen that you mentioned, along with free weights, medicine balls, and exercise matts and ball for core training. I understand your frustration with the lack of HDMI connection to our flat screen TV's and I promise to keep that in mind when we replace them with a newer commercial model.
I am glad to know you found our hotel to be clean, rooms of good size, and that you enjoyed our hi quality breakfast
Thank you again for your feedback and look forward to your next visit.


Sincerely,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I'm a little conflicted in writing this review. As a Hampton Inn, the Coconut Grove is nice. The facilites are good, front staff, especially Ligia, are very good, rooms are basic. But for the price of $228/night plus $28 in taxes, at a Hampton Inn, I was expecting a lot more. The carpets were dirty and the rooms and breakfast were nothing special. The LOCATION is very good. Easy walk to the Grove, near Unv. of Miami, near the Miracle Mile and Key Biscayne. Easy to walk to restaurants and good parking at the hotel. All in all, I would say the hotel is good if you find the prices down. We stayed during the Sony Tennis tournament - not knowing the tournment was in town. The hotel was totally sold out and breakfast was jammed every minute.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel away from the street is better. The front looks into the rear of a strip mall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APrettyLittlePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel served it's purpose. The location is close to food options. Very clean and breakfast was good. Staff very friendly and proficient. The rooms are very "golden girl" but clean. I don't think that the price I paid was worth it $740 for 3 nights but it was a last minute booking and it was blocks away from where I needed to be. If the price point was better, this would be totally worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDALH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Mrs. Dalh,

Sorry for the delay in responding to your review regarding your past stay at Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you stay with us again next time your in town.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed Valentines weekend and again this past week. Quick and friendly check in and easy parking. The room was large, quiet, and comfortable. The Hampton is within walking distance to several good eating spots and also affords easy access to U.S.1 and I-95.

Room Tip: Upstairs is always a "plus" for a quiet nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d17mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear D17mike,

The entire staff at Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/ Coral Gables wants to thank you for your outstanding review and rating of our property and we hope that you stay with us next time you’re in town.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Favorite hilton property in the Miami area. Conveniently located off the Grove train stop with plenty of local restaurants to choose from within walking distance. The entire staff is above and beyond perfect! The breakfast in the morning is above average and the managers reception on Tuesday and Wednesday evenings is the highlight of any business travel week. Tania and staff will greet you with a warm smile and professional courtesy that keeps this hidden gem in the grove at the top of your travel list when in the area. I have been staying here for a year now and can't imagine staying anywhere else. This is home away from home. Great job Hampton Inn Coconut Grove Staff!

Room Tip: Elevators on east end
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Eric F,
Tania and the rest of the Hampton team would like to thank you for your amazing review of our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast & our Manager's reception of food & drinks every Tuesday and Wednesday evening. We take great pride in providing exceptional customer service to all of our guests and are honored to be considered your home away from home.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#39 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Property: Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133-3713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#9 Family Hotel in Miami
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#14 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami/Coconut Grove-Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, business center, 37" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing