We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG! Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Ranked #22 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I refused to take possession of my two hotel rooms due to the lack of cleanliness! I demanded a refund. There was no parking available. The parking garage was cordoned off. The lobby was a filthy mess! A maintenance worker was spraying an obnoxious smelling liquid on the carpets while we waited for our refund! He pinched his nose and waved his hand under his nose, and I won't repeat what he said to us! The only good thing about this hotel was the young man behind the front desk. He handled the situation like a true professional. Please, young man, do as I recommended that night, find another hotel to work at. You are too much of a professional to be defending such a horrible establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McD824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear McD824,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feed back. I apologize for our renovation project ruining your plans to stay with us. Thank you for noting John's Hamptonality and professionalism, which is an asset to our company. I will make sure to share your comments with him. I hope you would give us an opportunity to serve you the way you deserve to be serve in the near future.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night recently & found the entire 1st floor under construction and the outdoor parking area blocked off. Had to go to 2nd floor to a makeshift reception area. Was told to park in the garage under the hotel. This garage has no elevator so we had to carry our luggage up to the 1st floor. We also found the room somewhat average...not up to the standards we've been accustomed to at Hampton Inn. One side of the bed did not have an end table and there was no light/lamp on the work table. The breakfast was very good & included in the room price with wifi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randomMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear randomMA,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We do apologize for any inconveniences you may have faced due to our efforts to improve our public areas/breakfast, parking. We truly appreciate your comments regarding the breakfast and we are glad you were able to enjoy. We look forward to the summer of 2014 to refresh our guest rooms, which will enable us to meet and most likely exceed your expectations of our brand.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very nice hotel with newly remodeled bathrooms. Stay was very nice, staff helpful, hotel clean. Bought cruise package that included parking during cruise and transfer TO cruise terminal. You are responsible to get back to hotel. Taxi cost approximately $30.00 or you can make arrangements with shuttle service that delivers you to cruise port that costs $10.00 per person. Hotel staff could not tell me this. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Raylene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Raylene W

Thank you for your great ratings and comments. Thank you also for noting the hotel cleanliness and our team members' friendly service. I hope you found the cruise package of great value, being able to park while you cruised.

Comeback to see us again. We love having you here!


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Can't really say what the hotel is like without construction - have stayed there 10 nights in 2 months and still being worked on - last trip had to park in the street due to parking lot being redone - also only one elevator working at times - I would suggest bypassing the hotel until the renovation is completed/

The breakfast is good and the reception they have a couple nights a week is appreciated.

Also within walking distance of Coco walk, Dinner Key marina and Monty's about 8-9 blocks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear CDY

Thank you for your continued loyalty to us. We truly appreciate your feedback. We continue to be very mindful of our guests' comfort while we finalize our lobby renovations and appreciate your candid feedback. Our parking should be back in order on 12/8 as noted on our website, weather permitting.
We look forward to inviting you back and gathering your comments about our changes.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were not informed that renovations were taking place when we booked this hotel. My husband has Parkinson's and it was very hard for him to get around. The microwave was faulty, parking lot was blocked off, TV didn't work the morning we were leaving, lobby was a mess, breakfast was too far away for my husband to go to. They should have informed us about the renovations - I would not have stayed there if I had known. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Caroline M,

We're sorry for all the incnveniences you encountered during your recent stay with us. We realize that our efforts to post our renovation notice on our website and confirmation email were not enough to reach out to you. I totally understand how dificult it must have been with you trying to get to our breakfast area and having parking access. I also understand your frustration. We'll be sure to keep your comments in mind and in the future, we would be happy to assist in any way we can to make things easier for you and your family. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to discuss this in further detail.

Kind regards,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Hampton Inn Coconut Grove provided excellent service and the staffing was friendly and accommodating. The room was updated with granite countertops with fridge and microwave, and it was clean and comfortable. It is located off the main road in a somewhat residential setting giving it a more relaxed quiet, less of a commercial setting, than other hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Patricia1125

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to submit your feedback and rating. We appreciate you noting our team members' friendly service disposition. We will make sure to share your comments with them. We are glad you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable, which is our commitment to each and every one of our guests.

Please coma back to see us again!

Cordially,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A top notch and well priced facility, conveniently located close to the start and the finish line, during the 2013 Miami Gran Fondo cycling event, part of the Giro D Italia Gran Fondos. Close to many restaurants, in the heart of Coconut Grove. Also close to major highways, and easy to get to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Hans G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Hans G ,

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and ratings of your recent stay with us. We are glad access from our hotel to the race and restaurants in the are was easy for you. As you mentioned, our location off HWY US1 is very convenient to access fine dining, shopping, entertainment, and business destinations in the Miami Dade area.
Come back to see us when you are in the area. We will be more than happy to welcome you back.


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#20 of 127 in Miami
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133-3713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#9 Family Hotel in Miami
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#14 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $139 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami/Coconut Grove-Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, business center, 37" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing