We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Ranked #14 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Odd Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is in a weird location. It is the only hotel there surrounded by apartments, gas station, some odd restaurants and businesses that tourists would likely not visit, fortunately, it is close enough to Coco Walk, roughly 1 mile by walking. If you don't feel comfortable walking in the neighborhood then you might as well drive and park in the residential area. The walk at night can be very dark and dogs do poop on the residential grass & sidewalk and dog owners don't pick-up after their dogs, so bring a flash light. The latter doesn't really reflect on the hotel but just be aware.

They do have free breakfast every morning which can be a plus to save money. I did not interact much with the staff so I would not know if they are friendly, it seemed like they were always doing something. There is free ample parking in the garage if the street level is full. People do smoke in front of the hotel entrance so beware for non-smokers, the smoker's "ash tray" is conveniently located by the entrance (I don't smoke so this bothered my a lot).

The room was up to par, clean & quiet hallways.

Room Tip: I wouldn't say this is the best location near Coco Walk because there are hotels closer but like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear wanderlust1979,

I just wanted to say thanks for your recent stay here at our hotel! I'm very sorry that the cigarette smoke bothered you and we will keep the ashtray placement in mind as we consider all guests' comfort. We hope we get the chance to see you again so you can experience our warm Hamptonality.

Thank you,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    581
    133
    32
    21
See reviews for
542
384
75
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe twp, nj
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at this location for a week and everyone from the front desk to housekeeping was very accommodating.
My Kids came over to visit and I requested a rollway bed and within minutes and no questions asked the bed was brought.
Breakfast was excellent every single day.
I will definitely go back and will recommend to family and friends
Carmen G.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us and for awarding us with such oustanding comments and ratings. We are glad you found our team members' hamptonality to be superb. Thank you for the recommendations and really hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here 6 nights for a youth regatta (Orange Bowl) and was very pleased with the accommodations & location to the venue and to the Coconut Grove area. Staff was friendly, breakfast was good - lots of choices, not just cereal or bagels. Even some week nights they had a free happy hour with wine, beer & munchies. Parents could relax while the kids were in the rooms showering. Rooms were nice and clean, there is a workout room & pool, too. Parking was easy here and was included in the price - many other hotels charge for that. Walkable to waterfront or Cocowalk ( a little long), but because parking was free here we didn't mind using the car and paying to park other places.

Having breakfast here saves a lot of stress, time and money for families. The community area downstairs was nice and gives you a nice seating area away from the room. Good restaurants within very close walking distance. Centrally located for heading pretty much any direction in the Miami area I gave them 5 stars because of the great value .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailormom97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear sailormom97,


Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us and for awarding us with such oustanding comments and ratings. We are glad you found our location to be perfect to complete all of your regatta activities, which I am sure were very demanding. Thank you for the 5 stars and really hope to see you again next year.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here for five three at the Hampton Inn in Coconut Grove. Rooms were nice and clean and beds were cozy to sleep in and a nice walk in shower a nice large bathroom. Other nice things about this hotel is that breakfast and parking are complimentary. Hotel is well located and was so close to AAA.we were in Miami to see the Basketball game and we loved it because we were not too close to the downtown nut not too far either.Thanks to Jorge,another guy and the two ladies at the front desk was very helpful.Jorge was exceptional.

Room Tip: nice hotel if you are going to AAA,complimentary breakfast and Parking :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank godschild912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear godschild912,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Jorge and our guest service staff will be so glad to know that you shared such a nice comment about them. We are glad you found our rooms to be nice and clean, with cozy beds to sleep in after an eciting evening at the AAA . I am hopeful you found our complimentary breakfast to be delightful. As you experienced, our hotel provides a convenient location with easy access to businesses and leisure venues in the cities of South Miami, Coral Gables, Brickell Financial District , Downtown Miami, and the beaches at Key Biscayne.

Thank you again and we hope to see you next time you are in the area be it for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were in town just for a night before we got on a cruise ship. This was an excellent hotel, convenient to the airport where I had to pick up two of our friends in the morning, Pollo Tropical across the street for a convenient bite to eat when we did not want to get back in the car. Free parking is always a plus and they let us extend checkout by an hour so our friends could take a quick nap after they came in at 7am.

Room Tip: I always take a wheelchair accessible room if it is available, there is more floor space and the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecspeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear thecspeck,


Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us. We are glad you found our location to be perfect and convenient when it came to going to the airport. We are also glad to know that you took advantage of the complimentary parking, which is a popular feature with most of our guests. We have several restaurants in the nearby area and we encourage you to try a new one next time you come to visit.
We love having you here!


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed three nights at the Hampton Inn in Coconut Grove. Rooms have been recently remodeled so room was clean, comfortable and had a nice large bathroom.

Other nice things about this hotel is that breakfast and parking are complimentary.

Hotel is well located just off the Dixie Highway and a 5 minute drive to a nice walking street with restaurants and a mall called Coco Walk.

Also a restaurant called Berries in the grove is a two minute walk from the hotel and is a great place to eat with delicious paninis, salads, pizzas etc!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burningrivergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear burningrivergirl,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time rate your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for noting our great location in addition to the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms. I am glad that you got to enjoy the breakfast and complimentary parking

Come back to see us again! We love having you here!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great location when traveling in and around Miami. Nice breakfast and coffee, cookies and fruit always available. A "lunch to go" offers snack and water. A nice extra. Beds very comfortable!!! Bathrooms clean and new.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirl22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear shirl22_12,


Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time rate your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you for noting our great location, which provides easy access to the nearby cities and business districs, as well as to leisure destinations, retaurants, shops and dinning.

Come back to see us again! We love having you here!

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Regency Hotel Miami
#30 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Property: Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133-3713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Miami
#9 Family Hotel in Miami
#12 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#14 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami/Coconut Grove-Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, business center, 37" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing