We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Miami Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Ranked #12 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
los angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Miami Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The king room is as expected for the size and furnishings. Although clean, the room itself shows it is an old hotel. The carpet inside/out and the smell around the floor are indication of an older structure. The bathroom is clean and looks like it has been renovated. The front desk staff are very helpful and readily available when needed. The freebies are an added plus for the hotel: breakfast, parking, internet access.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time rate your recent stay in our hotel. Our staff will be so glad to know that you shared such a nice comment about them. Sorry you found our hotel to be old. We are starting a three phase renovation of our rooms and public areas this Summer coming up, which will give our hotel a fresh look.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again for business or leisure.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    557
    128
    31
    19
See reviews for
515
366
74
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed one night in this Hampton Inn.

This is an older Hampton Inn and it is showing its age. I have stayed at many of the newer Hampton Inns, so this was a bit of a letdown.

The king room was fine, but the furnishing were a bit worn. Bed was comfortable and Internet worked fine.

Breakfast area is very small and was crowded the morning I was there.

Location is good for the area, although it can be difficult getting in and out at high traffic times.

The staff was very friendly.

I would recommend this Hampton if you need lodging in this area, but don't expect a lot if you are used to newer Hamptons.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BhamBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear BhamBuddy,


Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time rate your recent stay in our hotel. Our staff will be so pleased that you shared such a nice compliment. We will be sure to keep your comments in mind as we are starting a three phase renovation of our rooms and public areas, we will also monitor the breakfast area so we can assist in managing any lines.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again for business or leisure.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betim, MG
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It's a new hotel and the room was confortable and cleaned.

It's a nice hotel although the location that is not as good as I expected. It l should see before.

I just can complain about the atendent, l arrive 12:00 and ask if they had an availible room, they told me to wait. When it past two hours I went to front desk and the little girl said that l should wait for a while, I freaked out.

If you coming to Florida and will be in Miami just one night, don't do it. Stay all vacation in Orlando and go directly to the MIA Airport. You'll lost your time in Miami.

Room Tip: It's look like you shouldn't get roons from the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Calheira,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we appreciate that you chose to stay with us. I'm very sorry if any of our staff members were anything less than helpful. I've addressed this with them but apologize for your experience. We hope you will give us another chance to show you what our friendly staff and Hamptonality is all about.

Warm regards,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I like Coral Gables ,Coconut Grove and easy access to Cuban restaurants on calle 8. I do not care to be near the beach. This hotel was perfect for me. Free parking, free breakfast, internet,clean room but must drive a bit to beach

Room Tip: No restaurant no room service
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DIPLOMAT1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear DIPLOMAT1126,
thank you for the ratings and comments regarding your stay with us. I am glad that you got to take advantage of all the complimentary ammenities and services we offer our guests. Thank you also for noting our great location granting easy access to the cities of South Miami, Coral Gables, and Downtown Miami. Even though South Beach is about 20 minutes away, the beaches at Key Biscayne are a lot closer. Give them a try next time you come visit us.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at Hampton Inn on Nov.29 returning from Key West to Miami. The location was very convenient for completing our sightseeing in Southern Florida. Vizcaya Museum and Gardens were 6 minutes drive from the Hampton Inn, and a charming restaurant El Carajo International Tapas and Wines was within 5 minutes drive.
Coco Walk, Miami's open-air shopping, dining, and entertainment destination is also within 5 minutes drive, and the Miracle Mile in Coral Gables is not far away either.
The price was very reasonable for the services this hotel provides: free parking, excellent free breakfast, the size of the room, its cleanliness, the comfort of sleep.
We would definitely stay again if in the area. Before leaving Miami, we had a chance to recommend this hotel to the strangers at the gas station who were looking for a nice and inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Belbri,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us and for awarding us with such oustanding comments and ratings. We are glad you found our location to be perfect to complete all of your leisure activities. Thank you for the recommendations and really hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you don't want to pay the higher prices of Miami Beach this is a good place to stay. Its only 20 minutes drive from South Beach - except in the evening rush hour, the price is reasonable for Miami, the rooms are a good size and we loved the enormous shower. The front desk desk give excellent service and there is plenty to eat at breakfast. It is also very close to good restaurants. Berries on the corner really is excellent - the Italian next door is empty so maybe treat with care, and you are 2-3 minutes from a small mall with more restaurants including a Cheesecake Factory.
On the downside: The aircon and fridge in the room were SO noisy we had to turn both off at night as our first night was very disturbed and we just couldn't match up the commitment to environmental initiatives shown on the notices in the bathroom with all the disposable cutlery and crockery at breakfast. They all get thrown in the general trash bins and presumably sent off to landfill. How green is that?
Overall though its a good hotel and we would definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear hamman1,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us, and for providing us with valuable feedback. I am glad to find out you enjoyed our great location and the value of your stay. We are currently implementing a three phase renovation plan, which includes replacement of AC units, a whole new look in our lobby, and new bedroom furniture. I also apologize that our recycling program is not in full effect, we are looking to expand on that as soon as our Perfect Mix Lobby renovation is completed in 2013.

Come back to see us next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We love this hotel and stay here at least twice a year for the past several years. We are in Miami often to visit my parents, who live in a small house nearby. This hotel is clean & recently updated, the staff is friendly, our kids love the pool and hot tub. And the breakfast (included) has everything you'd want from Greek Yogurt to make-you-own waffles. We like that the parking is free (try finding that on a downtown or beach hotel), great location, updated showers. And a happy hour hors'd in the afternoon. Can't go wrong!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBK19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear TBK19,

Thank you for making us you home away from home, when you visit your parents in Miami.
Thank you also for the great reviews and ratings of our hotel. I will share your comments with our associates because it is this kind of recognition and feed back that really fuel our morale to continue to provide outstanding customer service. Please come back soon, we love having you here!


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coral Way
Hotel Urbano
Hotel Urbano
#45 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Property: Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133-3713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Miami
#9 Family Hotel in Miami
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#14 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami/Coconut Grove-Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, business center, 37" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing