We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value if interested in area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Ranked #14 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value if interested in area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I like Coral Gables ,Coconut Grove and easy access to Cuban restaurants on calle 8. I do not care to be near the beach. This hotel was perfect for me. Free parking, free breakfast, internet,clean room but must drive a bit to beach

Room Tip: No restaurant no room service
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DIPLOMAT1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear DIPLOMAT1126,
thank you for the ratings and comments regarding your stay with us. I am glad that you got to take advantage of all the complimentary ammenities and services we offer our guests. Thank you also for noting our great location granting easy access to the cities of South Miami, Coral Gables, and Downtown Miami. Even though South Beach is about 20 minutes away, the beaches at Key Biscayne are a lot closer. Give them a try next time you come visit us.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    605
    138
    35
    23
See reviews for
561
412
81
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at Hampton Inn on Nov.29 returning from Key West to Miami. The location was very convenient for completing our sightseeing in Southern Florida. Vizcaya Museum and Gardens were 6 minutes drive from the Hampton Inn, and a charming restaurant El Carajo International Tapas and Wines was within 5 minutes drive.
Coco Walk, Miami's open-air shopping, dining, and entertainment destination is also within 5 minutes drive, and the Miracle Mile in Coral Gables is not far away either.
The price was very reasonable for the services this hotel provides: free parking, excellent free breakfast, the size of the room, its cleanliness, the comfort of sleep.
We would definitely stay again if in the area. Before leaving Miami, we had a chance to recommend this hotel to the strangers at the gas station who were looking for a nice and inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Belbri,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us and for awarding us with such oustanding comments and ratings. We are glad you found our location to be perfect to complete all of your leisure activities. Thank you for the recommendations and really hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you don't want to pay the higher prices of Miami Beach this is a good place to stay. Its only 20 minutes drive from South Beach - except in the evening rush hour, the price is reasonable for Miami, the rooms are a good size and we loved the enormous shower. The front desk desk give excellent service and there is plenty to eat at breakfast. It is also very close to good restaurants. Berries on the corner really is excellent - the Italian next door is empty so maybe treat with care, and you are 2-3 minutes from a small mall with more restaurants including a Cheesecake Factory.
On the downside: The aircon and fridge in the room were SO noisy we had to turn both off at night as our first night was very disturbed and we just couldn't match up the commitment to environmental initiatives shown on the notices in the bathroom with all the disposable cutlery and crockery at breakfast. They all get thrown in the general trash bins and presumably sent off to landfill. How green is that?
Overall though its a good hotel and we would definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear hamman1,

Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us, and for providing us with valuable feedback. I am glad to find out you enjoyed our great location and the value of your stay. We are currently implementing a three phase renovation plan, which includes replacement of AC units, a whole new look in our lobby, and new bedroom furniture. I also apologize that our recycling program is not in full effect, we are looking to expand on that as soon as our Perfect Mix Lobby renovation is completed in 2013.

Come back to see us next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We love this hotel and stay here at least twice a year for the past several years. We are in Miami often to visit my parents, who live in a small house nearby. This hotel is clean & recently updated, the staff is friendly, our kids love the pool and hot tub. And the breakfast (included) has everything you'd want from Greek Yogurt to make-you-own waffles. We like that the parking is free (try finding that on a downtown or beach hotel), great location, updated showers. And a happy hour hors'd in the afternoon. Can't go wrong!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBK19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear TBK19,

Thank you for making us you home away from home, when you visit your parents in Miami.
Thank you also for the great reviews and ratings of our hotel. I will share your comments with our associates because it is this kind of recognition and feed back that really fuel our morale to continue to provide outstanding customer service. Please come back soon, we love having you here!


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Second time here, this does seem to be a very well managed hotel. Rooms are clean, free hot drinks and fresh fruit always available,free breakfast.

Location is good for visiting around Miami or Miami Beach. Berries restaurant round the corner is good for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Graham7,

Thank you very much for your comments and outstanding ratings of our hotel. I am extremely glad that you have come back to stay with us, and that you found our accommodations to be superior.
I am also glad that you got to enjoy our free buffet breakfast, which is one of the features our guests get to enjoy the most.
Visit us again, We love having you here!


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn several times a year over the last 6 years. I travel to Miami for doctor appointments and the Hampton Inn has special rates for patients and their family's. They provide excellent service and provide a very warm receptive atmosphere. The only thing that has changed over the years has been the morning breakfast bar. It has not been as good the last few years as it once had. It is still an excellent value for your money and a friendly environment in which to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gcapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear gcapen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments and ratings of our hotel. We are glad that you have continued to visit us through the years. As you noted we have a partnership with hospitals in the area to provide you with a lot more value. I am a bit surprised that you find the breakfast to be of lower quality than previous year. Our breakfast is at par with our brand standards, but if you have any suggestions please forward them so we can bring them to the attention of our corporate office. Come back to visit us soon to enjoy the great restaurants in the area, the beaches at Key Biscayne, or to enjoy a baseball game or watch the Miami Heat, we promise it will only be minutes from our hotel.
We love having you here!

Sincerely,


Miguel Velasquez,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Got special price but for handicapped access room. Great value!Only clear difference was no-tub shower with wall mounted hand-held shower. Downgraded for fair water pressure, but excellent temp. Large, clean room. No-pillowtop bed, perfect for me, not as much for wife. Free hot breakfast included seasoned scrambled eggs yesterday, and cheese omelettes today- both very good- as well as usual flip-over waffles, bagels, oatmeal, fruit. Good coffee, several choices of tea. Didn't walk the area, easy drive to Coconut Grove complex and to Miami. In room wireless, and HBO on HD 32" LG were nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gajaybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear gajaybird,

Thanks on behalf of everyone here for your outstanding ratings and nice comments regarding your stay with us. Our accesscible rooms are as nice in size and cleanliness as every other room in our hotel, I apologize that you found the water pressure not at par. We are glad you got to enjoy the complimentary breakfast, and its broad choices, which is the most popular feature with our guests. As you noted our hotel has easy access to Downtown Miami, the cities of Coral Gables and South Miami, Brickle Business district and the beaches at Key Biscayne.
Come back to visit us, we love having you here!

Sincerely,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Regency Hotel Miami
#37 of 124 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Property: Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133-3713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Miami
#9 Family Hotel in Miami
#11 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#14 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami/Coconut Grove-Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, business center, 37" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing