We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value in convenient location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Ranked #12 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great value in convenient location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Even though my stay was overshadowed by hurricane Isaac, the Hampton Inn a great place to be on 'lock down'. The area is easy to get to when driving into Miami, and is conveniently located on the edge of the Coconut Grove/Coral Gables neighborhoods. The breakfast was good, compared to other hotels in the same price category, and the staff were very helpful and informative.The rooms are well appointed, modern, clean and comfortable. I am becoming a big fan of this chain, and will certainly return to stay here next year!

Photos taken at time of check-in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LNT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear LNT66,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry to find out that hurricane Isaac overshadow your stay, but I am hopeful that you got to enjoy some of the nearby locations and attractions. I am glad you got to enjoy our hot buffet breakfast which as you mentioned is good compared to other hotels in the same price category. I am also glad that you found our staff to be very helpful and informative, specially during the time of a threat. Thank you for noting that our rooms are well appointed, modern, clean and comfortable.

Come back to see us soon. We love having you here!


With pleasure,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    571
    131
    31
    20
See reviews for
530
375
75
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here while moving my daughter into University of Miami. The hotel is clean, well appointed, has free parking and the staff were very helpful. Close enough to the university and Coconut Grove as well. The updated rooms were very nice and had a small fridge and microwave. My only issue is at the time I stayed the Wifi connection was having some difficulty, so if I had been on a business trip it might have been difficult. They have likely worked out that kink.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malvernmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear malvernmom,

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel and the ammenities we offer. I am sorry to hear that the Internet was slow to meet your needs, we are currently working with AT&T looking to upgrade our circuits. We are glad that you found our hotel to be clean, accommodating and convenient, while moving your daughter into "Cane Country." As you mentioned our location provides easy access to University of Miami main campus, Coco Walk, Medical Campus, and the cities nearby. Come Back to see us during Parents weekend we would love to have you back.


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This no-frills option provides an excellent value for a short-stay Miami stay: complementary breakfast, free parking, secure, and all located a few minutes (by car) from the major sites, including the newly opened Marlins Park. Rooms were clean, lobby well attended, with the staff providing directions, instructions and help as needed. While there isn't beach access or a glamourous address, it is easy enough to reach any major location in minutes - bring a good map/gps, you will be happy with your choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AOKtravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear AOKtravel12,

Thank you so much for your recommendation and great comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad you found our staff to be helpful and attentive and our facilities to be clean and secure. Thank you for noting our central location offering easy acces to all major locations, including restaurants, shopping centers, night entertainment and South Beach. Although we are not an ocean front location, the beaches at Key Biscayne are only a short drive away.
We love having you here, come back soon!


Sincerely,



Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from 3 nights at the hotel. Great staff. Clean. Secure. Attractive facility. Breakfast is average. A good value especially since it has free parking and wifi throughout the facility. Neighborhood seems safe. Would stay at the facility again.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rae-48895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Rae-48895,

Thank you for the great ratings and the reviews recently posted about your stay with us. We are extremely glad that you found our staff to be great, and our facilities to be clean and secure. We would love to have you stay with us again. Our hotel offers easy access to restaurants, museums, night entertainment and beaches, in addition to the cities of Coral Gables, South Miami, and Downtown Miami. Come back Soon!


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights while moving son into apartment. It's centrally located close to Coconut Grove - but can't really walk to and from the hotel to the Grove. Free parking is a plus - the other Hampton Inns in the area charge for parking. The place is clean place is clean and the staff is helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nsb_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear nsb_TX,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to know that you found our staff to be helpful and our guest rooms to be clean. We are also glad that you took advantage of the free parking, since not only other Hamptons, but every other hotel in the area of Coconut Grove charge for it. I am sorry that you could not walk to the Grove, although only seven blocks away from our hotel, we recommend to take a cab or a short drive. There is plenty of unexpensive parking options in the area.
Come back to see us when you visit your son. We would love to have you here again!


Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a very nice Hampton Inn. Friendly staff, clean rooms and very good location--near U Miami, Coconut Grove & the airport.
Breakfast has a good selection and is well presented and Free just like the Free Parking! This can really make a difference for families traveling on a budget and looking for a nice place to stay.

You will not be dissappointed by this property--management gets it, staff is friendly and it is a great value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Farways2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Farways2000,

I would like to say thank you on behalf of our staff and management team for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. It is our pleasure to know that you found our service to be friendly and our rooms to be as clean as you expected. Our hotel as you mentioned is conveniently located off US HWY 1 offering easy access to Coconut Grove, Coral Gables, University of Miami campus, Marlins Stadium, and the beaches at Key Biscayne. Come back to see us next time you are in the area on business or pleasure, we will be happy to have you here.

Sincerely,

Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here while visiting the University of Miami. We stayed for four comfortable days. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The lobby and rooms are basic but very clean. The rooms, including the bathroom, were spotless. Parking was included and secure and there was also a complimentary breakfast, with coffee and tea conveniently available all day! We had a package mailed to the hotel, and it was waiting for us, no problem. The only negative was that the room smelled a bit musty, which I'm sure came from the carpeting, which was older. My only suggestion would be to change the carpeting, and that would make it a perfect stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neo603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel V, General Manager at Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Neo603,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are glad our staff was pleasant and helpful, and that your package was here waiting for you. I am also glad you found our housekeeping services to be first class. I will forward your comments about the carpet to our maintenance staff to make sure we are on top of that issue and will make sure carpets are replaced if needed to. Come back to see us soon!

Cordially,


Miguel Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#14 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Property: Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133-3713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#6 Green Hotel in Miami
#9 Family Hotel in Miami
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#14 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami/Coconut Grove-Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, business center, 37" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing