We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables to your Saves list
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #12 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I was looking for a nice, comfortable, and affordable hotel in Miami for a business trip. Although my company pays for my stay, I never like to choose a hotel that's too pricey. As I began my search, hotel rooms in the area were going for a premium and availability was surprisingly not good. As it turned out, the couple nights I stayed just happened to be when the X Factor was filming in Miami.

I really had planned to stay on South Beach since that is where my meeting was, but the cost was prohibitive. I expanded my search and found this Hampton Inn which had a reasonable rate so I booked the room. What a great decision!

Besides being comfortable and clean, it's really in a great location. It was a short drive over to South Beach each morning, and since I seemed to be moving against traffic, it was much faster than I expected.

It was also within walking distance of a few restaurants so I didn't need to drive anywhere for dinner which is a big plus for me. I felt perfectly safe walking in the area.

Parking is free; however, the lot on the street level is a little tight on space. With a small rental car, it wasn't a big deal, but a larger vehicle might have some difficulty backing out. There are also spaces below the street level, but I never had to park down there.

Overall, I would definitely stay at this property again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room on the back side of the hotel which faced some apartments. It was perfectly quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeetingPlanner_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    554
    128
    30
    19
See reviews for
510
365
73
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was the second time I have ever stayed at a Hampton Inn and let me tell you they are amazing. It just feels like an expensive hotel. They haven't forgotten anything. It definitely seems to cater to business people but we were on vacation and loved all the perks. This hotel has free parking which in Miami is a big plus. It is a nice long walk to the marina and shops at CocoWalk along residential streets...we had to keep crossing the streets because the sidewalks would disappear...but the neighborhood felt safe and is fairly well-lit. Also the Metrorail is right across the street so you can take that downtown and then switch to buses. The young man who checked us in at the front desk said that it would take two hours to get to South Beach on the bus but we went anyways and it was barely half an hour...saved money on parking and tons of stress from driving in that crazy traffic. There is also a free breakfast with eggs and sausage and hash browns and make-your-own waffles every day. A minor complaint would be that the hot tub only had one working jet so my husband and I took turns sitting in front of it :) If you have read any of my past reviews you will know this happens to me all the time that the hot tub doesn't work at the hotel so I must bring that bad luck with me. Another very small complaint would be the hallway noise...loud talking and doors banging...we didn't notice it on Saturday so this may be the early-business-traveler crowd on weekdays. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank backstagecheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel was just perfect. The staff were really kindness . There were free parking, free wifi, amazing free breakfast and a wonderful snack on the afternoon .
The room were big enough and the the beds were really confortable.

Definilly , I would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViajanteBrasilia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is in a pretty good location for the Coconut Grove area of Miami. You are a short drive from Versailles if you are interested in great Cuban food, a short drive from/to the airport and to Key Biscayne. There are a few good places to eat in the area, nothing fancy, but good. They only complaint would be that the pool is small, hard to find, and completely shaded.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lishane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed here 4 days while moving my freshman son into the U. If you're looking for a place to stay close to the school, and you're not looking for a resort hotel, this is the place. It's clean, easy to get around to places, and has very good free parking. Bathrooms were recently re-done, so they're very nice. We had a refrigerator and microwave too. Pool is small but functional, and they have a few tables to relax at out there too.

The only negative I saw was the front help desk. They always seemed to be more concerned about what was going on behind the counter, instead of in front of the counter. Luckily, I didn't need them after check in.

We realized at the end of the visit that it's very close to the Grove, a popular area with restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljayglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This was a great little hotel in a very nice area. Only thing is it's not near the beach and it's a bit of a walk to the Coconut Walk shoipping area. aslo there is no shuttle service to/from the airport or Port of Miami.
The service was great and they had the regular Hampton Inn breakfast and each night, they had a nice appetizer mealk with beer or wine for guests as well. This was a great place to stay and very friendly. The Pollo restaurant across the street was great for a fast food restaurant. large grills with lots of caribbean/spanish foods.
We really enjoyed the place and thought it was great.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff. They'll help you right out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StogieTbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The staff was very friendly and courteous. The room was spacious and clean. We really enjoyed the breakfast.
The location was within walking distance to restaurants which is perfect if you do not have a car. We will stay at this hotel the next time we are in Coconut Grove.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggie34468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coral Way
Hotel Urbano
Hotel Urbano
#44 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables

Property: Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Address: 2800 Southwest 28th Terrace, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Miami
#9 Family Hotel in Miami
#11 Best Value Hotel in Miami
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#14 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel value in Miami/Coconut Grove-Coral Gables. Located directly across from MetroRail station, walking distance of Coconut Grove and minutes from Coral Gables, downtown business districts. Our 135 deluxe guestrooms are spacious, comfortable, our amenities include Free High-Speed internet access, Free "On The House" Hot Breakfast, Free local calls, business center, 37" LCD TV's w/extended cable, free in-room movies, voice mail, pool/whirlpool, fitness center, meeting rooms, microwaves/refrigerators also available in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn Coral Gables
Hampton Inn Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing