We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Location, Sticky Fingers....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Ranked #57 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Location, Sticky Fingers....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is my second Marriott review where things have gone missing....The good stuff first...the Courtyard Marriott did a good renovation. I stayed at this hotel (when it wasn't a Marriott)10+ years ago and it was scary...so, well done with what you have, Marriott. It has some rooms that have amazing views, and some rooms that look at the creepy guy in the building a stones throw away, so there's that. The pool is very, very nice, and they have a nice breakfast mini-service that has a lot of offerings. The locations could not be better. The space of the rooms vary. I have had some that were larger and some that were pretty small with very small bathrooms. It seems to be whatever the layout of the apartment was before it was a hotel. The bathrooms are clean but very low maintenance. The beds are comfy, and the air conditioner is good for me- has kind of a constant white noise sound that blocks out hall noise. Good sleeping. That being said, my brother's family and my family both stayed there over the holidays, and three pairs of expensive sunglasses went missing on the same floor, different rooms. When we spoke to management, no one knew anything and they said the people they had working there for years would never steal. That is fine, but I had given my sister glasses a mere 3 days before and they were gone along with another pair, and my Ray Bans that I have had for over 10 years disappeared too. You be the judge. Again, our property disappeared from another Marriott too, so I wonder what their policy is with staff. They seem to cover for them in the two experiences I had with stuff walking off...Bought my sister another pair of glasses...hope she doesn't take them to a Marriott. :)

Room Tip: ASK what view you are getting...ranges from amazing to amazingly creepy (shades shut the whole time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

I reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We operate a full lost and found department, where it’s full of items like you’ve explained you lost. I would encourage you to call the hotel and speak to our lost and found department, if you haven’t already. I’ve spoke to our team on how we should have responded to your concerns, which is we do have seasoned employees, with employee entrances that are monitored 24/7.

We will review our procedures and tapes to ensure our procedures are in fact effective to prevent anything like this.

With your other comments, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed our recent total renovation of the hotel and you where able to enjoy the new amenities we have to offer. 80% of our rooms have balconies, with the majority of them overlooking the Marina, pool and Biscayne Bay, and a few if you look west of the hotel there are some resident condominiums.


Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    142
    98
    26
    22
See reviews for
99
93
19
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
151 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

-Noisy AC first room, had to move, 3am Sunday could not take the banging noise any longer. Desk clerks did not leave much info for the follow-on staff about the room change, desk clerks did not know we moved, did not provide maid service until 7pm for our new room, only after four calls. Severe problems with TV satellite in our rooms, channel two for both Miami Heat games we attempted to watch in room this week. Second room AC had noise issues too, had to call that in as well. This hotel bathroom has almost NO horizontal space to lay out your stuff. Single sink back, toilet tank top and one small glass shelf were the spaces besides the floor to use. One drawer was completely stuck that had to be fixed, no refrigerator in the room, had to ask for one to be installed/loaned. One telephone did not work, had to get that fixed.

Spouse liked the pool and chairs, usually good breeze and sun, and was convenient to the bar and snack and starbucks coffee lounge. Fresh Market food store directly across the street, as well as the Bay/Marinas, outdoor food and drink places along the water.

Room Tip: Sixth floor or higher, get side that faces pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldGuido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

I reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We routinely go through our rooms and bring them back to new status every 90 days; I will review your concerns with our engineering department and ensure we have a pro active plan in place.

I apologies for the bathrooms not having all the shelves installed, we recently renovated the entire hotel with several of the bathrooms scheduled to be completed with the proper shelving by 7/27

We have taken the corrective action to ensure these challenges do not happen again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The CYM is a good stay for the area. Coconut Grove is beautiful and lots of things to walk to. The hotel staff was excellent especially the valet parkers. The building is ok, lots of updating has been done, but still some older themes surviving. The rooms are somewhat small. The towels are mixed, some soft, some sandpapery. Very comfortable beds. My only real complaint, (besides the costs) is the temperature in the hotel and my room. My thermostat was set at 65 but the room would not cool below 78 in the daytime, and uncomfortable for sleeping.

We went for baseball games and the hotel is only 35 min in rush hour traffic from Marlins Park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcsteve56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

We’re delighted to know that you found our hotel beautiful and the staff excellent, all situated in a great location. We’ve since installed new equipment in our hotel laundry that will improve the consistency of all the linen and terry throughout the hotel.

I will share your concerns with our engineering department to ensure the rooms are cooling properly.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
347 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Spent 2 nights here. Has all the new Courtyard lobby upgrades including the bistro. Was upgraded to a deluxe view. Room was comfortable and well appointed. Looks updated although the hotel has to be a little older. Gym has enough equipment to get a decent workout. Pool and pool area is very nice with plenty of chairs, tables, and even cabanas. Free wifi which is always a plus. Only thumbs down are the 24 dollar parking, but there are no other good parking options nearby. Location isn't perfect--you'll walk 10-15 minutes to get to shopping and entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshb2j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

We’re delighted to know that you found our hotel to have everything that you needed. You may choose next time to use the parking either on the street adjacent to the hotel, which is metered or use the city parking lot located across the street and to the left of the hotel. Valet parking is a 24/7 service where your car is stored in a covered, cool area and there are no additional cost for in and out service.


Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I dont like staying on Miami Beach. Too many people and prices way too high for what you get. I do like clean, modern hotels with large rooms/suites which is what I found at the Courtyard Coconut Grove. I styaed in 1806 which is a large suite with a gorgeous view of the harbor, sailboats and Key Biscayne. ONLY downside is the VERY small shower which I overcame quickly becasue of the view. Warning: if you are a large person you will not fit in this shower.
the pool and pool deck are great including pleanty of shade if you need it and even a few cabanas. The little bar/restaurant serves great foood/snacks and Starbucks coffee. Valet parking is $25 per night which compared to Miamai Beach hotels is very reasonable. I'm sure you could find beach parking if you wanted to. Also it across the street from Fresh Market so both nights we just got cheese/wine/bread and salads and ate in the room enjoying the view! All the fun Grove restaurants and shops are a short walk or drive around the corner. This is a GREAT place to stay when visiting the Miami area

Room Tip: Top floor and get a suite if you can afford it. Mine with tax was only about $250 per night. Consi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WondersBatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

We’re delighted to know that you found our hotel to have everything that you needed. Please note that we do offer two types of rooms, some with walk-in showers and others with full size tubs/showers. We can easily accommodate either type of shower upon request. I’ll ensure our team is communicating this option upon arrival so you can decide which type of shower/bath you feel comfortable with.


Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great location and excellent value for the price. I would definitely stay again. The bed was very comfortable and while the room was small it was well appointed.
Word of warning, though, the hotel bar/food is very expensive and there is a $24 per night parking fee.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaJ12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

We’re delighted to know that you found our hotel to have everything that you needed. Please note that there are self parking options either adjacent to the hotel or across the street and to the left of the hotel at the city parking lot. Our valet parking is a 24/7 service where your car is parked in a covered/cool area and there are no in and out charges.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We came into Miami to stay one night before departing on a week-long cruise. Our family with young children was happy with the very super-friendly service, the nice pool, and the availability of good food. If I had one criticism it would be that the mattress on the bed was way too soft, but that is often the case for me in hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

We’re delighted to know that you found our hotel to have everything that you needed.
We’re happy to hear that you used our Bistro restaurant that’s open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and your dinning options include our covered pool side terrace. Our Starbucks is open 24/7 along with our 24 hour pantry. We do have pillow top mattresses with plush mattresses pads and bedding, next time if we can remove the additional pillow top from the mattress for you please let us know

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#15 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#51 of 121 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Property: Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Address: 2649 S Bayshore Dr, Miami, FL 33133-5464
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove , South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual! Introducing the Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove hotel, where the views are spectacular and location perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove Hotel Miami
Doubletree Coconut Grove
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing