We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent location close to everything in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Ranked #56 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent location close to everything in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I dont like staying on Miami Beach. Too many people and prices way too high for what you get. I do like clean, modern hotels with large rooms/suites which is what I found at the Courtyard Coconut Grove. I styaed in 1806 which is a large suite with a gorgeous view of the harbor, sailboats and Key Biscayne. ONLY downside is the VERY small shower which I overcame quickly becasue of the view. Warning: if you are a large person you will not fit in this shower.
the pool and pool deck are great including pleanty of shade if you need it and even a few cabanas. The little bar/restaurant serves great foood/snacks and Starbucks coffee. Valet parking is $25 per night which compared to Miamai Beach hotels is very reasonable. I'm sure you could find beach parking if you wanted to. Also it across the street from Fresh Market so both nights we just got cheese/wine/bread and salads and ate in the room enjoying the view! All the fun Grove restaurants and shops are a short walk or drive around the corner. This is a GREAT place to stay when visiting the Miami area

Room Tip: Top floor and get a suite if you can afford it. Mine with tax was only about $250 per night. Consi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WondersBatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

We’re delighted to know that you found our hotel to have everything that you needed. Please note that we do offer two types of rooms, some with walk-in showers and others with full size tubs/showers. We can easily accommodate either type of shower upon request. I’ll ensure our team is communicating this option upon arrival so you can decide which type of shower/bath you feel comfortable with.


Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    136
    95
    23
    21
See reviews for
93
86
17
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great location and excellent value for the price. I would definitely stay again. The bed was very comfortable and while the room was small it was well appointed.
Word of warning, though, the hotel bar/food is very expensive and there is a $24 per night parking fee.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaJ12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

We’re delighted to know that you found our hotel to have everything that you needed. Please note that there are self parking options either adjacent to the hotel or across the street and to the left of the hotel at the city parking lot. Our valet parking is a 24/7 service where your car is parked in a covered/cool area and there are no in and out charges.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We came into Miami to stay one night before departing on a week-long cruise. Our family with young children was happy with the very super-friendly service, the nice pool, and the availability of good food. If I had one criticism it would be that the mattress on the bed was way too soft, but that is often the case for me in hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

We’re delighted to know that you found our hotel to have everything that you needed.
We’re happy to hear that you used our Bistro restaurant that’s open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and your dinning options include our covered pool side terrace. Our Starbucks is open 24/7 along with our 24 hour pantry. We do have pillow top mattresses with plush mattresses pads and bedding, next time if we can remove the additional pillow top from the mattress for you please let us know

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester nh
Level Contributor
275 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel itself is fantastic. It is very clean, has a small but great pool, nice pool deck area, great breakfast but not as close to Coconut grove as you would think. It is a great walk during the day, but it was very scary when the sun goes down to walk. I wish we were given real advice by the staff and warned.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sctredsoxone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

We’re delighted to know that you found our hotel to have everything that you needed.
We are located 4 blocks from downtown Coconut Grove, which can be reached by walking down the well lit main street along the bay. We will be sure to train the team to give both sets of directions, with the well lit direction along the main street to be used at night. The back street is shorter but not as well lit.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed in a balcony bay view room. The view from the room was great! However, the room itself was not very large and the bathroom is small with minimal storage space. The rooms overlooking the bay hear alot of noise from the traffic on the main street in front of it, people at the pool, and the many trucks pulling into the Fresh Market. The pool was nice, but no hot tub. The location is excellent for sailing events at Shake-a-Leg, with Monty's Raw Bar, The Chart House and the Fresh Market all very close by. Parking is excessive and a car really isn't needed once you get to the hotel. Downtown Coconut Grove restaurants and the CocoWalk are easily within walking distance of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkielvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

We’re delighted to know that you found our hotel to have everything that you needed. We have since added additional weather stripping around the balcony doors that has taken care of the outside noises. Thank you again for your feedback, we take it seriously and always look to make the next guests stays better for them.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
152 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is a hard review to write because we were very pleased with some aspects of our stay - but less than pleased with other parts.

First, what we liked: Location is great, very close to many restaurants in Coconut Grove. There's a Fresh Market right across the street. We were upgraded to a suite (but, I think many of the rooms are suite-like) and it was an enormous space. Living room, dining room, bedroom, with room to spare. We were on a high floor, with great view of ocean. Service was great. We had a light evening meal at the Bistro Cafe in the lobby and it was good - with awesome service.

There were some less-than-optimal parts to our stay. Parking is $20 a day - pretty expensive for a Courtyard. I gave the room high marks for space. The room gets lower marks for other things. For instance, the bathroom was tiny! I mean it might have been the smallest hotel bathroom I've ever seen in my travels. Door to the bathroom had paint peeling. Door to bathroom also ended about 2 inches above floor - meaning, you could slide your hand under the door. Very strange. Our room had a connecting door to another room. One lock worked...the flip type lock had screw missing and was loose. One more issue with bath - we could hear the entire conversation in the room next to us (while in our room's little tiny bath). I was worried the sound would keep us up, but it didn't.

Would we stay here again? We just don't know. It wasn't bad, but it certainly wasn't the best place we've ever stayed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wintersummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your review,
I reviewed your comments regarding your recent stay with us; we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize if your room did not meet your expecations. We have since taken care of all your concerns.

We hope to see you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during late February on our way down to the Keys. The upper floors provide spectacular views of Biscayne Bay and the Marina across the street. A little pricey (it IS Coconut Grove for pete's sake) priced fairly for the area. Staff was friendly and responsive, room was spacious, modern and clean. Much has been said in other reviews about the comparatively small size of the bathroom but I found it to be fine. Perhaps an extra shelf for personal items would be a plus but I found it to be fine. My wife and I enjoyed the breakfast outside and I have to say that the eggs were some of the best-prepared I've ever had...I wouldn't expect that from a small kitchen like theirs. A typical excellent Marriott experience.

Room Tip: The view from 1705 is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioPassinthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, Manager at Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your review!

We’re delighted to know that you found our hotel to have everything that you needed, and happy to hear you where able to relax and enjoy our food and service while you stayed with us.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Coconut Grove
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#13 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Coral Way
Four Points by Sheraton Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove

Property: Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Address: 2649 South Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove , South Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break away from business as usual! Introducing the Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove hotel, where the views are spectacular and location perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove Hotel Miami
Doubletree Coconut Grove
Doubletree Miami Beach
Miami Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing