We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent base for exploring Miami area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Villas at Doral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marriott's Villas at Doral
Ranked #8 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent base for exploring Miami area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in the Palm Building. This is the building farthest away from the pool. We were happy with that location because it was quiet. But being closer to the pool could be an advantage for people with children or those with mobility issues. The room was clean and quite spacious. Although I had been worried about the noise from the planes landing at the airport, that was not an issue at all. In fact it was fun to see the planes coming in and I would regard the proximity to the airport as a positive overall. The resort itself is well maintained and the staff could not have been nicer. Everyone was so sweet and helpful! There is no restaurant on site but there are many restaurants nearby, as well as a Publix supermarket. Bottom line -- although there are fancier places to stay, this is a great place to have as a base if you want to explore Miami.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynx505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    210
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
293
123
9
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We recently had a great stay at the Marriott Villas at Doral. Check-in was a breeze and the villa was amazing. Everything was clean, neat, and the villa was well stocked in all areas. The property is well maintained and the pool area is kept clean with plenty of fresh towels. The Doral area is centrally located for exploring the area, and despite being quite close to the airport we heard very little noise inside of our villa. I can't say enough great things about this property. We would come back hear in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hunwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union,nj
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Staying at the Marriott Villas at Doral was a good choice for us! The area was quite close to all the major highways~Miami and South Beach were 30 minutes away, Fort Lauderdale about 45 minutes, and we ever took a pleasant 3 hour drive to key West! We were minutes from the Miami Airport,though we opted for Fort Lauderdale,minutes from the Marlins' Stadium(hey, they won while we were in attendance!),and minutes from the Miccosaukee Indian Casino Resort. There are a lot of nice restaurants on Doral Blvd, and the Villas are on the Doral Golf Course.
Trump now owns The Doral Resort and Spa across the street, but the Marriot guests have access to the facilities~they even have a free shuttle! We spent a day at the Spa~it was wonderful!
The two bedroom suite we had was in the Reception Building by the pool. It was newly renovated and very nicely appointed. I understand that all of the buildings have now been renovated.
The staff was very friendly and eager to please. We would, without a doubt, stay here again if we were going to Miami

Room Tip: We liked the Reception Building because it had the pool,but I believe,in the mid of summer, it could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taramyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics. UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband & I are MVCI owners & opted to exchange into this property as part of our month long road trip to Florida. We are not disappointed. Arriving on Friday after a long drive from Orlando we were greeted by a very charming Brittany who immediately stated that our requested room on the top floor of the Palm building was not avaiable due to an elevator break down. A little disappointed we accepted a 4th floor room in Hibiscus which although beautiful did have a plam tree outside the main bedroom window somewhat limiting the view. No problem early next morning we moved up to the top floor & it is wonderful.
Yes, as per other reviews, if you hate aircraft noise & looking at planes making their descent into MIA whilst on your balcony then stay away, for us it is no problem whatsoever. Though saying that there are no planes today as the wind direction has changed.

This property overlooks a beautiful lake & golf course & is in reach of both Miami & South Beach. A drive of about 30 mins dependant on traffic. Miami is a big city so expect the worst.

The only criticism about the villas is that the white goods, certainly in this room, are badly in need of replacement. They still work perfectly but are no way tip top. Apart from that everything is great. Two bedrooms /two baths, 3 flat screen TV's .....all the usual.
However this is a Vacation Club & not a 5* hotel so accept that there is no room service unless you are prepared to pay. There is no restaurant or a beautiful landscaped pool & garden but it serves it's purpose well & you don't expect Hawaii when you stay in a suburb of Miami, or at least you shouldn't.

I will say we have stayed in more luxurious Vacation Clubs around the world but this is just fine & we would certainly recommend a stay here. Particularly if you don't want to pay the hotel prices on South Miami Beach. You do need transport, even for visiting nearby eateries, Publix & Walmart.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank antonleics_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

BEAUTIFUL!!! The Villas & balcony are SPACIOUS and the view looks over the lake to the gold course on the other side!!! GREAT gas grills to BBQ, mini golf, horseshoes, bags, daily activites. Great Sports bar across the street. Lots of space by the pool area and the bar & grill was a great place to grab a snack. The grounds are very well kept and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Since we had never e been to Miami, we did an exchange to stay at Doral. We read other reviews and decided to pick a location close to the pool area. We love to be able to overlook the pool and have our "Happy Hour" on our own balcony. The accommodations are very comfortable, and we are close to the airport and about 20 minutes from South Beach and Downtown. As long as you keep your windows closed, you cannot hear the planes. The staff have been very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grani Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The apartment itself was ok but it was not really clean and the daily tidy service did not do much more than change the towels. They would not do cleaning as mentioned in the description of the tidy service. That was the main negative aspect.
There is some noise from the airplanes. It was ok during the nights but at daytime you could hear it loud and clear every 90 seconds, but I guess that is normal being rather close to the airport.
The hotel is a good starting point for trips to malls etc. it just took us longer than expected to get to South Beach, almost 45 minutes.
We chose the property because of the Doral golf courses and the WGC taking place while we were there. The Blue Monster course was amazing, the Great White also very nice, the other three not so great and overpriced (especially Jim Mc Lean).

Room Tip: Upper floor, building 7 if you want a relavtively quiet room away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Villas at Doral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Villas at Doral

Property: Marriott's Villas at Doral
Address: 4101 NW 87th Avenue, Miami, FL 33178
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#35 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Villas at Doral 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Villas at Doral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Villas At Doral Hotel Miami
Marriotts At Doral
Marriotts Hotel At Doral
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing