We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2013 Here in Room 6504 - Hibiscus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott's Villas at Doral
Ranked #12 of 127 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband & I are MVCI owners & opted to exchange into this property as part of our month long road trip to Florida. We are not disappointed. Arriving on Friday after a long drive from Orlando we were greeted by a very charming Brittany who immediately stated that our requested room on the top floor of the Palm building was not avaiable due to an elevator break down. A little disappointed we accepted a 4th floor room in Hibiscus which although beautiful did have a plam tree outside the main bedroom window somewhat limiting the view. No problem early next morning we moved up to the top floor & it is wonderful.
Yes, as per other reviews, if you hate aircraft noise & looking at planes making their descent into MIA whilst on your balcony then stay away, for us it is no problem whatsoever. Though saying that there are no planes today as the wind direction has changed.

This property overlooks a beautiful lake & golf course & is in reach of both Miami & South Beach. A drive of about 30 mins dependant on traffic. Miami is a big city so expect the worst.

The only criticism about the villas is that the white goods, certainly in this room, are badly in need of replacement. They still work perfectly but are no way tip top. Apart from that everything is great. Two bedrooms /two baths, 3 flat screen TV's .....all the usual.
However this is a Vacation Club & not a 5* hotel so accept that there is no room service unless you are prepared to pay. There is no restaurant or a beautiful landscaped pool & garden but it serves it's purpose well & you don't expect Hawaii when you stay in a suburb of Miami, or at least you shouldn't.

I will say we have stayed in more luxurious Vacation Clubs around the world but this is just fine & we would certainly recommend a stay here. Particularly if you don't want to pay the hotel prices on South Miami Beach. You do need transport, even for visiting nearby eateries, Publix & Walmart.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank antonleics_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 652 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

BEAUTIFUL!!! The Villas & balcony are SPACIOUS and the view looks over the lake to the gold course on the other side!!! GREAT gas grills to BBQ, mini golf, horseshoes, bags, daily activites. Great Sports bar across the street. Lots of space by the pool area and the bar & grill was a great place to grab a snack. The grounds are very well kept and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roxann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Since we had never e been to Miami, we did an exchange to stay at Doral. We read other reviews and decided to pick a location close to the pool area. We love to be able to overlook the pool and have our "Happy Hour" on our own balcony. The accommodations are very comfortable, and we are close to the airport and about 20 minutes from South Beach and Downtown. As long as you keep your windows closed, you cannot hear the planes. The staff have been very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grani Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The apartment itself was ok but it was not really clean and the daily tidy service did not do much more than change the towels. They would not do cleaning as mentioned in the description of the tidy service. That was the main negative aspect.
There is some noise from the airplanes. It was ok during the nights but at daytime you could hear it loud and clear every 90 seconds, but I guess that is normal being rather close to the airport.
The hotel is a good starting point for trips to malls etc. it just took us longer than expected to get to South Beach, almost 45 minutes.
We chose the property because of the Doral golf courses and the WGC taking place while we were there. The Blue Monster course was amazing, the Great White also very nice, the other three not so great and overpriced (especially Jim Mc Lean).

Room Tip: Upper floor, building 7 if you want a relavtively quiet room away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

When deciding where to stay on a 4 night trip with my husband and two children it was between the Marriott doral villas or the marriott beach place towers. they were about the same price but the Marriott doral offered reciprocal use of the Trump property across the street that had some restaurants, great pool and a spa. We often choose a vacation closer to the beach but thought this would be a great option. The only thing was that the Marriott did not have on their website that the days we would be there the Trump property was under a major renovation and not only was the pool not available some of the other amenities were not also. We booked our trip and when we checked in were not notified of the renovations. We did not know until the next day when we stopped by the concierge to ask a few question about their shuttle that we were told. We were all very disappointed and to be honest would have chosen the other Marriott property if we knew this.

It was not all bad. The property is very well maintained and the employees are friendly and helpful. There are activities listed for the whole day which is good except when we were there some of them were not held. We ate lunch at the poolside grill which was good food and drinks.

The poolside grill and bar are only open from 11-6 so if you want a cocktail later than that you would have to drive somewhere to do that. Some evenings they had specialty drinks like sangria or mojitos usually with entertainment. If you wanted something other than the specialty drinks you were not able to get that. I like a variety so it wasnt a problem for me, but someone wanting a beer was not able to get that.

Our family likes Marriott's and usually look at them first whenever taking a trip, but this taught me to make sure to ask about availability if there are reciprocal agreements.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Literary48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great Hotel. I actually only got to stay one night in one of the beautiful two-bedroom villas. I found the rooms to be spotless and everything was very clean.

I did notice a few ants but I live in Florida and didn't find it to be a big deal!

The beds were a little on the hard side and not that comfortable but the pillows and covers were amazing!
I definitely wouldn't hesitate staying here again. Beautiful Property!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JM11traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spent five days at the resort recently. Enjoyed the facility and the room was above average. The views from the balcony overlooking the golf course and lake are awesome. The pool facility and grill were just what you needed for a relaxing afternoon. Always had some event going on for family activity and adult entertainment. The only downside was the constant commercial air traffic overhead since it is located directly along approach route for Miami airport runways.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sang108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Brickell Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#10 of 127 in Miami
1,276 reviews
Downtown
Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Villas at Doral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Villas at Doral

Address: 4101 NW 87th Ave, Miami, FL 33178-2122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#35 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $213 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Villas at Doral 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Villas at Doral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Villas At Doral Hotel Miami
Marriotts At Doral
Marriotts Hotel At Doral
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing