We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“May 2013 Here in Room 6504 - Hibiscus” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Villas at Doral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott's Villas at Doral
Ranked #9 of 123 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
leics. UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“May 2013 Here in Room 6504 - Hibiscus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband & I are MVCI owners & opted to exchange into this property as part of our month long road trip to Florida. We are not disappointed. Arriving on Friday after a long drive from Orlando we were greeted by a very charming Brittany who immediately stated that our requested room on the top floor of the Palm building was not avaiable due to an elevator break down. A little disappointed we accepted a 4th floor room in Hibiscus which although beautiful did have a plam tree outside the main bedroom window somewhat limiting the view. No problem early next morning we moved up to the top floor & it is wonderful.
Yes, as per other reviews, if you hate aircraft noise & looking at planes making their descent into MIA whilst on your balcony then stay away, for us it is no problem whatsoever. Though saying that there are no planes today as the wind direction has changed.

This property overlooks a beautiful lake & golf course & is in reach of both Miami & South Beach. A drive of about 30 mins dependant on traffic. Miami is a big city so expect the worst.

The only criticism about the villas is that the white goods, certainly in this room, are badly in need of replacement. They still work perfectly but are no way tip top. Apart from that everything is great. Two bedrooms /two baths, 3 flat screen TV's .....all the usual.
However this is a Vacation Club & not a 5* hotel so accept that there is no room service unless you are prepared to pay. There is no restaurant or a beautiful landscaped pool & garden but it serves it's purpose well & you don't expect Hawaii when you stay in a suburb of Miami, or at least you shouldn't.

I will say we have stayed in more luxurious Vacation Clubs around the world but this is just fine & we would certainly recommend a stay here. Particularly if you don't want to pay the hotel prices on South Miami Beach. You do need transport, even for visiting nearby eateries, Publix & Walmart.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank antonleics_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    203
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
284
118
9
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

BEAUTIFUL!!! The Villas & balcony are SPACIOUS and the view looks over the lake to the gold course on the other side!!! GREAT gas grills to BBQ, mini golf, horseshoes, bags, daily activites. Great Sports bar across the street. Lots of space by the pool area and the bar & grill was a great place to grab a snack. The grounds are very well kept and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Since we had never e been to Miami, we did an exchange to stay at Doral. We read other reviews and decided to pick a location close to the pool area. We love to be able to overlook the pool and have our "Happy Hour" on our own balcony. The accommodations are very comfortable, and we are close to the airport and about 20 minutes from South Beach and Downtown. As long as you keep your windows closed, you cannot hear the planes. The staff have been very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grani Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The apartment itself was ok but it was not really clean and the daily tidy service did not do much more than change the towels. They would not do cleaning as mentioned in the description of the tidy service. That was the main negative aspect.
There is some noise from the airplanes. It was ok during the nights but at daytime you could hear it loud and clear every 90 seconds, but I guess that is normal being rather close to the airport.
The hotel is a good starting point for trips to malls etc. it just took us longer than expected to get to South Beach, almost 45 minutes.
We chose the property because of the Doral golf courses and the WGC taking place while we were there. The Blue Monster course was amazing, the Great White also very nice, the other three not so great and overpriced (especially Jim Mc Lean).

Room Tip: Upper floor, building 7 if you want a relavtively quiet room away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

When deciding where to stay on a 4 night trip with my husband and two children it was between the Marriott doral villas or the marriott beach place towers. they were about the same price but the Marriott doral offered reciprocal use of the Trump property across the street that had some restaurants, great pool and a spa. We often choose a vacation closer to the beach but thought this would be a great option. The only thing was that the Marriott did not have on their website that the days we would be there the Trump property was under a major renovation and not only was the pool not available some of the other amenities were not also. We booked our trip and when we checked in were not notified of the renovations. We did not know until the next day when we stopped by the concierge to ask a few question about their shuttle that we were told. We were all very disappointed and to be honest would have chosen the other Marriott property if we knew this.

It was not all bad. The property is very well maintained and the employees are friendly and helpful. There are activities listed for the whole day which is good except when we were there some of them were not held. We ate lunch at the poolside grill which was good food and drinks.

The poolside grill and bar are only open from 11-6 so if you want a cocktail later than that you would have to drive somewhere to do that. Some evenings they had specialty drinks like sangria or mojitos usually with entertainment. If you wanted something other than the specialty drinks you were not able to get that. I like a variety so it wasnt a problem for me, but someone wanting a beer was not able to get that.

Our family likes Marriott's and usually look at them first whenever taking a trip, but this taught me to make sure to ask about availability if there are reciprocal agreements.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Literary48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great Hotel. I actually only got to stay one night in one of the beautiful two-bedroom villas. I found the rooms to be spotless and everything was very clean.

I did notice a few ants but I live in Florida and didn't find it to be a big deal!

The beds were a little on the hard side and not that comfortable but the pillows and covers were amazing!
I definitely wouldn't hesitate staying here again. Beautiful Property!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM11traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spent five days at the resort recently. Enjoyed the facility and the room was above average. The views from the balcony overlooking the golf course and lake are awesome. The pool facility and grill were just what you needed for a relaxing afternoon. Always had some event going on for family activity and adult entertainment. The only downside was the constant commercial air traffic overhead since it is located directly along approach route for Miami airport runways.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sang108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#1 of 123 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Villas at Doral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Villas at Doral

Property: Marriott's Villas at Doral
Address: 4101 NW 87th Avenue, Miami, FL 33178
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#35 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Villas at Doral 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Marriott's Villas at Doral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Villas At Doral Hotel Miami
Marriotts At Doral
Marriotts Hotel At Doral
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing