We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it was better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Miami Airport
Ranked #35 of 122 Hotels in Miami
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wish it was better”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Not my favorite business hotel, actually my least favorite business hotel. Great that it's close to the airport, that's it. The hotel is in a "gated" area fortunately because the hotel is in a really sketchy area. The rooms aren't great the internet is shaky and the beds aren't nearly as good as the Westin's and Sheraton's I've been at lately. They don't even give you lotion in the bathroom. There aren't any refrigerators which is ridiculous. The hotel has one restaurant, there are 3 other hotels on the campus and a starbucks. It's okay food, not great, however the staff at the restaurant is fabulous, they're professional fun and very personable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJGolfVac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
NJ,

Thank you for your feedback. Our team values it. I will pass your positive praise on to our Restaurant Team and give them a pat on the back!

I noted that you said there was an internet challenge during your stay. Please know that we recently did a major upgrade to our internet service and 90% of our challenges have been eliminated. There are a few "dead spots" in certain hotel corridors and we are adding routers to those areas to address the speed and connection challenges.

Please know that no concern here goes unaddressed, however, some take us longer than others to solve completely.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Jerry Rice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    443
    145
    35
    33
See reviews for
281
298
75
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Three of us gals traveled to Barbados for a Gemini birthday celebration. American Airlines left us @ the Miami airport 7 minutes prior to the time of the plane departure. We had checked all our luggage and raced to the gate to find the door was closed and they would not let us on. Am. Airlines did offer a comp of one room @ your facility. We arrived around 11pm, absolutely exhausted. The gals @ the front counter were excellent. They welcomed us with the most gracious attitude and our needs were met and beyond. They deserve every promotion you can think of to give them but I would hate to lose them on the front desk for travelers like us that come in with no clothes, toiletries, etc. They even provided a refrigerator for our room as I have to have a bottle of mountain dew upon awakening. Our flight out on June 2nd was scheduled to leave @ 6:30am. What a trip but thanks to your gals, the last part was great.
Sorry for the delay in getting this to you. The room was booked under Judy Garrett.
Donna F. Goare

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi Donna,

The ladies that you mentioned are all new to our day/night team and as I read your review I was delighted that we hired them all! Customer service is at the heart of our industry, and most definatley our company. I am SOO happy that we were able to give you a pleasant stay.

The interesting thing about being right next door to the 2nd busiest International Airport in the US is the number of times (for various reasons) our guests get delayed or stuck. It's something that we deal with on a daily basis and I am glad that we were equipped to make you comfortable.

I hope that the next time you are in the Miami area that you'll choose to stay at our hotel!

Jerry Rice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I really like this place. The rooms are updated and the bed very comfortable. Desk with work space, sofa and a good setup all around. I like the decor, a lot.
The front desk staff is super friendly and helpful.
The gym is really good. Quality circuit, free weights and variety of functioning bikes, treadmills and other machines.
Maybe the sport bar leaves a bit to be desired: but hey, your in Miami, walk a block to some delicious Cuban food restaurant that I forgot name of!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Peggy,

I must say that I LIKE that YOU LIKE our hotel! The owners of our hotel put quite a large sum of money into our renovations 4 years ago and one of the places that they indulged most was in our fitness facillty. Rarely does one find more than 2000 square feet of space in a hotel like ours. I must say that it's the largest I've seen in my 17 years with Marriott.

I will pass all of your comments on to our team. Please know that we appreciate all feedback and that we take it seriously.

The best from all of us to you!

Jerry Rice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubingen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

After travelling around for 3,5 weeks mostly in Florida we stayed here 2 nights to fly back home. The whole wide hotel area is highly secured, there is plenty of space, esp. also parking space. The room was very clean. At day we went to Florida's great malls in the Miami area. In the evening we enjoyed delicious food in the truly amazing sports bar of this hotel! Not only is this place and it's food fantastic, but also the staff always really cares about you. So does the front desk and all of the staff. At night we watched a blockbuster in the room on a large lcd tv. The car rental center is less than 5 minutes away. So we could check out conveniently. :-) They also have a timely airport shuttle service, that many other guest used. We had an excellent stay and will definitely come back whenever flying to or from Miami.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_and_Kathrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Alex and Kathrin,

You made my day! I will pass all of your comments on to our staff. As you saw, our Courtyard isn't like most others, and our Champion's Sports Bar is one of the things that make us special. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal and our team.

Champion's is always lively, and recently we have added a wide variety of craft beers to our list of beverages.

Then next time you are in Miami, stay with us and check it out. Your first drink is on me!

Thanks again, and as always, our team wishes you the very best!

Jerry Rice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were on our way to a vacation in the Keys and needed to stay near the airport. We just assumed this was a crappy old Courtyard and planned to only sleep there and move on. Honestly though, we spent two nights there over a weeks time, and the beds were the most comfortable of all the Marriott resorts we stayed at throughout our entire Florida Keys vacation! Check-in was a breeze and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Not to mention there is a Starbucks at the regular Marriott right next-door. Not in the best neighborhood though, and parking can be tough as there's 3 Marriott's on the compound. ;o(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hi Sue,

Thanks for your response. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel. You're right in that we are not the typical Courtyard. Having 3 Marriott branded hotels on a 16 acre campus gives our guests variety in lodging product choice and amenties.

Normally parking is not a challenge at our hotel, however, things always happen. I am glad that it did not ruin your stay and that overall you were happy while you were here. That's our goal every day here and it's been the goal of Marriott for over 85 years!

I hope that in the future you'll have a chance to return to our hotel.

Jerry Rice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is nice, clean and pretty new. It has all upgraded features in the room and lobby. The hotel restaurant food is good and priced well. There are Marriott sister properties connected to the Courtyard that are accessible and their restaurants are good also. The only downside to this hotel is the shuttle service to the airport. The bus can get very full since it services the Courtyard as well as the other Marriott properties. Leave yourself enough time to get to the terminal for your flight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Steve,

Thanks for saying such nice things about our hotel and the campus that we are a part of. It's definatley not the normal hotel experience, which we think is a good thing.

Shuttle service can occaisionally be full due the fact that, as you stated, we have 3 hotels on our campus and 828 guest rooms. The good thing though is that we have a shuttle departing every 15 minutes and they run 20 hours a day, 7 days again.

Thanks again for your response, and we hope that we get the opportunity to take care of you again very soon.

Jerry Rice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have stayed here several times and more than once we have encountered a problem with the noise. I know this has nothing to do with the hotel. The hotel is clean, location convenient, but the type of guests it attracts is not good. Almost every time we stay here we do not get a good night sleep because of the noise. Very late at night you can hear adults and teenagers wandering around the hallways, talking, laughing, running and continuously throwing doors. This time was worse that before so we called the front desk 4 times. Security did not respond until after 4 calls and 30 minutes. We have had enough. From now on we plan to stay far from the airport where hopefully the crowd it attracts will be people that respect other people's need to rest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry R, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Airport, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
TravelLovers2,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not have the best stay at our hotel. If you would, please email me directly at Jerry.Rice@marriott.com. I'd like to hear more about your stay and address these and any other challenges you had directly.

All my best,

Jerry Rice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Miami Airport
0.1 mi away
Miami Airport Marriott
0.3 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#38 of 122 in Miami
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Miami Airport - Blue Lagoon
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Miami Airport Hotel & Executive Meeting Center
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Airport

Property: Courtyard Miami Airport
Address: 1201 NW 42nd Ave, Miami, FL 33126-2656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami
#27 Business Hotel in Miami
#35 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this newly transformed, sleek Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport South. Settle into the newly renovated guest rooms at this warm, welcoming Miami international airport hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Miami Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Airport South Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Airport South
Miami Courtyard
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing