We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Simple Luxury at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Miami
Ranked #32 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Boston.MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple Luxury at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

You can not go wrong with this hotel. Prime downtown location with solid amneties and professional staff. Was booked at new JW Marquis but it did not open in time, so got placed here. They were very accomidating(conciere level). Food great and surprisingly inexpensive for such a high end hotel. TV in the bathroom mirror is a must see. Prompt service in valet service and the $32 a day reminds me of Chicago. Check out Inca res(peruvian) if you get a chance. Overall, very nice stay and I would definately go back!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    281
    88
    34
    29
See reviews for
134
171
44
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

My wife and stayed at this hotel October 9 through the 12th.

I've read some earlier reviews that described indifferrent service. Our experience was nothing like that. I appreciate politeness and every staff member we dealt with was exceptionally pleasant. From the person who checked us in, to the housekeeping staff and the valet. In my experience folks in Miami can be somewhat brusque, I didn't experience that here. The staff was very helpful in arranging in room massages for Sunday morning.

The rooms are tastefully decorated. Photos uploaded by previous reviewers are representative of the accomodations we had. Upon check-in we were given a corner room on the 19th floor that we really enjoyed. The room wasn't huge, but it was very comfortable and quiet.

The hotel is located in the financial center of Miami. Consequently, I'd say it caters to a business clientele. But vacationers shouldn't feel out of place. There are numerous dinning options within walking distance (depending on the heat/humidity and your comfort level with it). Ranging from the chain, Gordon Biersch, Morton's to the ethnic, Colombian perros at "La Moon". Mary Brickell Village is within walking distance and it offers some nightlife. Tobacco Road (oldest bar in Miami) isn't far. If you're looking for South Beach frenzy you won't find that here. The neighborhood will be very quiet in the evenings.

Other observations:

The fitness room was above average. Parking costs $25.00, comparable to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zsmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

reasonable location downtown - near lots of good restaurants.

the hotel is well kept and provides pretty good facilities.

it is a bit dated in places, but still clean.

nothing extraordinary to report, but at the same time, nothing bad to say either.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAXUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I won this hotel stay so actually used a gift certificate. The hotel staff were very attentive, pleasant and courteous. My room was luxurious, with a huge flat screen tv mounted on the wall, and the bathroom shower/tub was first class.

After not being able to find a dunkin' donuts or starbucks close by, we stopped at the sport cafe [forgot the name] in the hotel and got a delicious hot chocolate and coffee for no cost.

Having stayed at hotels in Egypt, London, New York, Canada, the Caribbean I can say I was very impressed with this hotel right on my doorstep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxineS1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

This is a super nice hotel. The stainless steel pool is beautiful. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are luxurious. The restaurant service is very good. My only complaint is that my husband and I went swimming at the pool around 5:30 pm, and we wanted to use one of the tents set up in the pool area. But they were both in a state of disarray. They had left over food in them that looked like it had been setting out for a long time from previous guests, including fried onion rings. Yuck. That was a bit of a turn off, but other than that, this place was great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

I tend to stay at luxury hotels. I really enjoyed this hotel for 1 night. Quiet on 18th floor, pool was large, weight room acceptable, free wi-fi and free business lounge with printer was key. 40" HDTV was really nice. Will stay here again whenever have early meeting on Brickell Avenue. Nicely appointed room and public spaces too. Extremely helpful front desk and concierge. Valet was efficient even at $29 overnight.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Great hotel, great service but not cheap either. We visited the hotel in December 2009 and stayed for 2 nights. A very elegant business hotel with good food. The location is not the best as it is in downtown Miami which is not the nicest place to be as a tourist. Not much to do or see after 7pm. But if you are looking for a great business hotel with a business center in downtown and price is not an issue, you found your place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank innerewut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Conrad Miami
#8 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,768 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#10 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Beaux Arts Miami
#21 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Property: JW Marriott Miami
Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Miami has received numerous recognition's including, Best Design Award by Marriott International, Overall Guest Satisfaction Award, Connoisseur's Choice by Resorts & Great Hotels, and the Wine Spectator Award 2007-2014. Being selected One of the World's Best Business Hotels by Travel & Leisure Magazine is one of the most recent accolades. The JW Marriott Miami offers a one-of-a-kind experience that allows you to enjoy the comforts of home during your stay. This award-winning downtown Miami hotel blends the features of a premier conference and meeting facility with timeless elegance, thoughtful amenities and award-winning service. Elegantly furnished guest rooms and suites offer the finest details, including marble tubs, high-speed Internet and flat-screen televisions. Dine at La Terraza Cafe and Bar, a casual fare with an array of options to choose from. Relaxation is as close as the luxurious spa and the unique stainless steel pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing