We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Miami
Ranked #32 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fast Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I decided to just take a quick vacation for 3 days and decided to take my mom as surprise. The flight was short, the cab was only 27.00 from airport to hotel. We were greater at the door, and our luggage was stored due to our arrival was early. Check in was at 4 but we were able to check in at 12, we arrived at 10. Room was nice, clean, and more. The bathroom was a bit small but it was still nice and clean. We were suppose to be eligible for an upgrade due to the package i brought which was "breakfast buffett included and upgrade upon avaiblity on arrival" well the upgrade was not available due to they were packed. So he provided me with 2 gift cards to the spa and access to the concierge lounge on 21st floor that you need a special key to get in. The room came with complimentary computer and free wifi.. which was a huge plus, but the disappointment was no fridge. I always need one and i would have had one if the upgrade was available, also there is no microwave anywhere.. I am still here we leave tomorrow (sunday). I will come back again but make sure that i am in a suite because i need a fridge and microwave at all times. oh well, one more day...OH WAIT, the breakfast buffett is so worth it.. omelets are amazing and the food is great and lots of choices.

Room Tip: always ask for an upgrade and top floors for view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Great friendly environment, i felt safe and comfortable and everything like food and shopping is in walking distance.. just take a right outside the door.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onlyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    275
    85
    34
    29
See reviews for
131
166
42
290
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The location was excellent and the facilities too. The gym/spa was fantastic, well attended, clean equipment with friendly employees. The only thing lacking was the pool area was sort of a forgotten area. We had to ask for the TV be turned on so we could watch the World Cup game. After they complied, the volume was very poor. There was no attended bar/grill at the pool either so we had to phone orders into room service.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony. The view can be spectacular and will give you an extra area to relax.
See more room tips
Green Features: You have the option to reuse towels or get clean ones.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
666 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed at the JW Marriott Miami for 3 days this week while in town on business. Overall, it was a good hotel and I wouldn't mind staying here again if in the area.

Pros:
- Great service. I really enjoyed the personal touches the staff made such as calling to see how my stay was going, calling to see if I enjoyed the room service, letting me borrow a mouse for my laptop, recommending local restaurants. The staff really makes this hotel what it is and I hope they are recognized by management.
- Spacious rooms and comfortable bed. It was nice to come back to a relaxing room after a long day in meetings.
- Good location. Close to the financial district and restaurants.
- Good food. I had lunch in the restaurant and room service for breakfast. Both were really good.
- Nice bathroom amenities. I loved the shampoos, soaps and body washes.
- Great tv. I often find that hotel room tvs are not very good. The JW was an exception to this rule. Large, wall mounted flat screen with a lot of HD channels.
- Good value for the price paid.
- Free wifi. I can't remember the last time I've stayed in an upscale hotel with free wifi. Loved that they decided to offer it at no cost.

Cons:
- They put me in a handicapped accessible room which meant the shower and closet were designed for people with mobility issues. They claimed that they were sold out and didn't have my room preference in the reservation but I have a Marriott Rewards number with this information on file so expect that any Marriott property should know my preferences.
- Decor was a little boring. Don't get me wrong, it was nice but Miami is known for it's design and latin influences. This hotel could have easily been in Chicago, Dallas, or St Louis. Not a deal breaker, but when I travel I like to feel like the hotel is unique to it's location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I was with my friend 2008 in August and I still remeber how nice time we had.
Stuff very polite and It was my first time in the USA and thay was so helpfull. Perfect perfect room clean and with very comfortable bad. I remeber every thing and I hope I am going to have time to come again.

Room Tip: I like my room and i think all are very nice
See more room tips
Green Features: I will like to have advertisment from you at my e-mail. Thank you for everything.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gergana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Just arrived from Orlando on business and property in heart of downtown right across the street from Morton's steakhouse (fantastic) lobby was impressive and our room on concierge level is just great since on this level breakfast was free with many different options. Pool on 7th floor and spa nice and clean and small but nice gym and spa. So far so good!! Love it

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maldonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself was wonderful. The staff was great. Very helpful and friendly. Concierge lounge was amazing. But the room service was horrible. Both times I ordered a steak and it was overdone. The second time I even got the filet and ordered it medium rare. It came to my room butterflies and burnt on the edges. The person delivering the food left before I had the chance to even look at the steak. Do not waste your money, go to a better restaurant nearby.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Smittie684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I love Marriott Hotels for business trips. This trip was personal so walking into room, I was a little disappointed as it felt like any other Marriott – just a different city. We had a corner room so the night view was amazing! Went to dinner and sat outside on balcony. Service was great. Valet was always busy but didn’t take long to retrieve car. Pool area is not as nice as the professional photos on website. If you get there at the 4pm check in time or after the sun is blocked by other buildings. Area of town was nice and several restaurants close by.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie7313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
W Miami
W Miami
#71 of 119 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Conrad Miami
#9 of 119 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#42 of 119 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 2,603 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Property: JW Marriott Miami
Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131-3101
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing