We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not of a JW standard”
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Miami
Ranked #47 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not of a JW standard”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel was definitely not of a JW status. The hotel itself is beginning to be a bit dated. While the staff was very nice, they did not have adequate training to deal with some issues.
We had booked a room with two double beds and a pull out bed - which was confirmed by email by the hotel itself. When we arrived, they said that this room configuration was not possible. When they promised to move us to a suite two days later, the beds they had in that room was wrong again.
At the lounge, they charged for drinks - something we have never encountered at other JW marriotts. The bar was empty and lacking atmosphere. With the JW Marquis just down the road...stay at this one!!
While it was not a BAD hotel - it just was not a up to the calibre of other JW. We have stayed in better courtyards!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    310
    108
    42
    38
See reviews for
147
198
48
341
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
535 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We recently stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed the hotel very much. Our stay was enhanced by having concierge lounge access. the lounge is really well run and they have a nice variety. Good selection of breakfast items and attentive staff. I liked the hotel decor in the public spaces and the pastel color rooms. Definitely did not feel like a standard Marriott.

The location is great s people have remarked before. a short walk to Brickell Village or Brickell Key for meals, and longer walks take you to Little Havana and nicer neighborhoods south. Also a short drive to Miami Beach. The staff throughout the property was helpful, polite and went out of their way to enhance our stay.

Room Tip: try to get concierge access if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very nice hotel, staff was excellent ~ very helpful and courteous, restaurant was able to accommodate my non dairy requests and had soy milk for my coffee. ( a big plus for me) Room was clean and well appointed. Even though this hotel is not direct water front, I requested a room with partial water views and they were able to locate one for me. Thank you front desk!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAmAdventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Great location close to downtown. Metro mover station close by will take you to downtown. We stayed there as it was a preferred hotel for Disney Cruise Line to pick us up. Facilities are good, staff were friendly. Room was a little small for the big bucks I paid. I did not like that they only had valet parking at $32 per day. Restaurants in the hotel and around are very expensive.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustoff_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at the JW in May of 2013 while in Miami for business. This hotel is my favorite in Miami and is my top choice when work takes me to Miami. Service is excellent and location along Brickell is convenient. Rooms are good-sized, bright, clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank offthewalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
405 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is what you would expect from a JW Marriott! Stunning lobby, great service, spacious and well decorated rooms. We even had a built-in TV display in our bathroom mirror - pretty cool. The breakfast in the club lounge had decent choices, but very limited seating. Great place to stay on a short trip to Miami.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelandLearn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

They have a great location near the water and with city views. But, that is where the good ends. The rooms are a very old layout with bathroom doors swinging into the tiny bathroom where one person in the bathroom can't turn around.

Then the very worst food I have had a Marriott. The menu is so overpriced I thought I was in Central America. You pay 5x more for bad food here than just down the street for great food.

I think the management has real issues that only changing a complete management team will fix.

After you pay $200.+ per night for a bad room you also have these add-on's.
Parking $30. per day
Internet $12. per day

Avoid this Marriott!

Room Tip: Avoid this bad hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank segway-rider0134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Conrad Miami
#11 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#10 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SLS Brickell
SLS Brickell
#1 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#12 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Property: JW Marriott Miami
Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Miami has received numerous recognition's including, Best Design Award by Marriott International, Overall Guest Satisfaction Award, Connoisseur's Choice by Resorts & Great Hotels, and the Wine Spectator Award 2007-2014. Being selected One of the World's Best Business Hotels by Travel & Leisure Magazine is one of the most recent accolades. The JW Marriott Miami offers a one-of-a-kind experience that allows you to enjoy the comforts of home during your stay. This award-winning downtown Miami hotel blends the features of a premier conference and meeting facility with timeless elegance, thoughtful amenities and award-winning service. Elegantly furnished guest rooms and suites offer the finest details, including marble tubs, high-speed Internet and flat-screen televisions. Dine at La Terraza Cafe and Bar, a casual fare with an array of options to choose from. Relaxation is as close as the luxurious spa and the unique stainless steel pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing