We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Miami
Ranked #41 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Went to a large conference at the hotel. All facilities were very good and the staff was friendly. My room was spacious and clean. The hotel is located in the business district so I would not choose it for a private vacation.

Had some time for some shopping so the staff gave good directions on how to get to the nearest mall. Took the train which is less than 5 min walk from the hotel.

Only negative thing was that the consierge told me that the water in the room was complimentary. When paying the bill the hotel had charged me for two bottles of water for a ridicilous amount of $7 per bottle!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    298
    102
    38
    36
See reviews for
143
188
47
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I booked this hotel about 3 weeks in advance. I used my government discount and spent $105 a night! You can not beat that in the Brickell area of Miami I typically stay at the Viceroy when i come to Miami but the overpriced room and the holding the entire room stay as a deposit on my card is getting on my nerves. With that said.... I was apprehensive at first from reading the reviews I thought it was going to be an outdated hotel. But i was more than pleasantly surprised. JW Marriott was awesome. When I got there I asked for a room with somewhat of a view and I got it at no charge. The bed I swear is one of the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in in my life! The hotel is located in walking distance to alot of places to eat. We walked everyday to the Mary Brickell village and enjoyed places like Blue Martini. I didnt order the room service bc it was a bit pricey. We ordered pizza one night that was ok with us. :-) The Gym was amazing. Bottled water, towels, and fruit for you at your leisure. I didnt visit the pool but my girlfriend did and she enjoyed it. The staff was helpful with tips on how to get to southbeach quickly and cheaply. Overall I will never spend $300 a night for another room as long as I can go to the JW Marriott when I visit Miami. All those people who gave this place negative reviews should just have a seat and chill out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monalisasmile1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Nice place, friendly staff, clean and nice
Nothing major to be noted

Pool pretty poor - all concrete
Parking confusing
Nothing major in the neighborhood

Overall nice experience, but better get a place closer to the beach if you are in Miami for holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinMihaylov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business for 2 nights. The service from the bellhop who got me water when I arrived, to the check in receptionist who upgraded me to a lovely one bedroom suite was fantastic. This hotel is all about service. We had a lovely breakfast in their restaurant and I had an absolutely delicious dinner in the evening. The food is not only tasty, but so well presented. I will be back again! Thank you.

Room Tip: Concierge level floors are always the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy3720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I town for a visit for a football game. Hotel was very comfortable, staff top notch and good location. Found it odd we were the only ones at the pool. If you are looking for activity its not the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTTraveller441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at this location this past weekend for the Miami/UF game. This JW location is excellent, and the nicest JW that I've visited. The staff was friendly and very professional. The room was excellent. The only drawbacks were having to prop the black-out curtains up with furniture to keep out the sun, the lack of an elevator that linked the main entrance to the lobby level, and no lobby store for drinks, snacks, or forgotten necessaries. I don't mind carrying my bags, but others might have found it difficult with a bunch of luggage. Overall, I would suggest this location to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
269 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were here last year same time and really enjoyed the two nights. While our stay this time was good I noticed things have started to lag with upkeep and repair. Lots of hallways trim work needs painting and the carpets have stains on them in the hallways. Our room this time was on the back side facing the bay and smaller than the last time where we faced Brickell Avenue.
Pros: Close to a lot of good restaurants on South Miami Avenue one block over. Close to Freeway and in a safe part of Miami. easy to walk. Room bed was comfortable and quiet. This hotel is dead on the weekends so that helps.
Pretty good food and service in the club room for FF with Marriott. Open 24 hours a day for coffee and water.
Pool is dead and quiet so great place to rest get some sun or even work remotely. :)

Cons:
The room smelled of dampness throughout our stay. Not enough to request a move but we could smell it every time we came into the room. Once the AC kicked on the smell went away.

The pool area has a bar layout but no drink or food service is available. Both evening when we were at the pool we would get the strong smell of propane gas which would last for about 5 minutes a pop. We could never figure out what it was.

Check in never has more than one agent at the front desk so if you are not the person at the counter and others are ahead of you - you will have to wait.

All in all for the rate paid it was a nice hotel and I just hope it does not slide down because of its newer cousin 5 blocks away is both super cool and flashy.

Room Tip: pick one on the Brickell side as I swear the rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Conrad Miami
#11 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#10 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#12 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
Hotel Beaux Arts Miami
#44 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Downtown
W Miami
W Miami
#58 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Property: JW Marriott Miami
Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Miami has received numerous recognition's including, Best Design Award by Marriott International, Overall Guest Satisfaction Award, Connoisseur's Choice by Resorts & Great Hotels, and the Wine Spectator Award 2007-2014. Being selected One of the World's Best Business Hotels by Travel & Leisure Magazine is one of the most recent accolades. The JW Marriott Miami offers a one-of-a-kind experience that allows you to enjoy the comforts of home during your stay. This award-winning downtown Miami hotel blends the features of a premier conference and meeting facility with timeless elegance, thoughtful amenities and award-winning service. Elegantly furnished guest rooms and suites offer the finest details, including marble tubs, high-speed Internet and flat-screen televisions. Dine at La Terraza Cafe and Bar, a casual fare with an array of options to choose from. Relaxation is as close as the luxurious spa and the unique stainless steel pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing