We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good business hotel:location & service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Miami
Ranked #32 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
tsgbhalf
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good business hotel:location & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

My first time here and it was for three nights. Was on the 20th floor and the room was spacious. Elevators were available and quick travel time. Internet strength was more than adequate.

I did not test the staff. Both the fitness center and outdoor pool were quite nice.

Good location for work and safe neighborhood for walking.

We did not dine in the hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank tsgbhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    280
    88
    34
    29
See reviews for
134
171
44
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel in the CBD area so not very good for beach or shopping. However the rooms are large,clean and very comfortable, particularly the bed. Excellent bathroom and typically wonderful American shower - lots of power! No real views from any of the bedrooms, however Bricknel Bay has a great circular walk just a few blocks from the hotel. Good if you have a bot of jet lag and want to blow away the cobwebs. Very handy for the port of Miami if you are picking up a cruise liner - less than five minutes in a taxi. Try to get a package with breakfast included if you can otherwise go out to have it! Staff really helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyannconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed recently for several nights. While it was an okay stay, some things about our stay were slightly disappointed and we expected better for a JW Marriott property. The wireless in the hotel was unreliable and spotty, and we experienced several problems with the signal on the television. The maid service was lacking; the room never looked completely clean and the rollaway bed was not made properly each day. However, the front desk service was very good and they were very attentive to all problems. If you're just staying for business, this hotel may be okay - but if you're in Miami for fun, I'd explore your options.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Joined my two brothers in Miami for the BCS Championship Game and stayed at the JW on Brickell for two nights. We had three rooms on the concierge/club level which were all spacious (400 sq ft) with great views (two of us had balconies), very comfortable beds and very impressive bathrooms. I suspect the bathrooms were recently renovated as they were in better condition than the rooms and equipped with rainfall shower heads and more modern fixtures. I got the feeling that this hotel once allowed smoking as i detected a hint of it...but it wasnt strong enough to affect the quality of my stay. People don't realize how smoke just lingers and it truly has no place in a room where people sleep (or eat). That said, we paid a considerably elevated rate because of the game (approximately 200$ per night/per room over regular prices) but overall it was a good stay for what we needed. The front desk staff at check in was friendly and accommodating. The maid service was excellent. The valets were great in spite of horrible taxi service because of the game and its festivities.The food offerings on the Club level (two..one in the morning/one late in the day) were actually sufficient. The food at The Terrace restaurant was excellent for lunch. The gym and pool area could use some work...it has taken on a sort of self-serve atmosphere. That said, it was not a deal breaker by any stretch. I happen to be a big fan of the downtown area. You can walk to so many great places and its not filthy the way south beach has become. Would i stay here again ? Sure...but i prefer The Epic, The Viceroy and even the Marriott Marquis just down the road...and of course The Four Seasons. But...for the money...it's very nice. I have no complaints for this trip whatsoever aside from ND getting pasted by Alabama. For the price of the tickets alone i could have gone to Europe. Oh well.....As im in Miami two to three times a month I'll be back to this hotel im sure.

Room Tip: The higher you go will enhance your views and the natural light coming into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasg42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Hills, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Business trip-- 4-day/ 3-night stay, found the rooms lacked space; could have been attributed to the "downtown" feel, however I was expecting a little more. The room decor was "blah", and I continued to experience plumbing problems, although the staff was most helpful in attempting to remedy the problem. Spa services were ridiculously expensive--even by "downtown" standards. In all, the service was great, the hotel was a bit of a let down, and although Marriott doesn't have anything to do with this, I was challenged with finding a cab that took credit cards. You would think being in the business district that this would not be problematic, unfortunately many cabbies refuse to convert. Oh, if you are thinking about trotting down to South Beach, it will run you roughly $30 each way--better off renting a car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBoogie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The management at this spa is atrocious. And to top that off, the spa is VERY un-relaxing. The "waiting room" is located in the middle of the door to the pool and the gym. So, while one sits naked in a robe, kids are going by, men are jogging on treadmills, and anyone and everyone sees you in a robe. It is what I would call the opposite of relaxing. To top that off, the management is terrible and is NOT the same management as the JW Marriott hotel. I made 3 appointments for my mom, my sister, and myself. All appointments were made at the same time. When we all arrived, together and at the same time, we were told that the appointments were made an hour and a half apart from each other. Well, we could not physically stay that long nor did we want to wait 2.5 hours in the "relaxation" area. So, I asked to speak with management. The manager would not speak directly to me and instead, speaking through her employee, assured me that the person who made the appointment is very professional and didn't make a mistake. I finally was able to speak directly to the spa manager only after i asked for a refund AND to speak with her. She spoke to me in a disrespectful manner: not allowing me to finish what I was saying, raising her voice unprofessionally, and telling me to stop "yelling" at her. I then told her I was going to speak to someone above her since she cannot handle her own costumers. It wasn't until I spoke to someone directly with the hotel that the situation was dealt with. I later found out that JW Marriot does not manage their own spa, which is definitely the reason for the discrepancy. I do want to note that the non-management staff is very friendly and felt very bad. I took off time from work, waited 2.5 hours, and left very unhappy. There are better spas in the Brickell area. For example, I had a wonderful time at the Mandarin Oriental. Although a little more money, it is worth is when compared to the overpriced crap you get at the JW Marriot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmas, TO
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you want to go Miami to enjoying the beach, I would not recommend this hotel. The taxi ride to get there is about $25 each way. There is a really cool bar nearby with live band and some other cool places downtown and the design district is kind of close but you will need to take a cab anyway. The hotel is okay, clean, the room looks a bit old, nobody helped me when I walked in, maybe because I was in jeans and t-shirt? Couldn't tell, but they looked friendly.
Overall is was okay. Definitely a business hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeciaFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Conrad Miami
#7 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,761 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#9 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Beaux Arts Miami
#20 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
W Miami
W Miami
#65 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Property: JW Marriott Miami
Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Miami has received numerous recognition's including, Best Design Award by Marriott International, Overall Guest Satisfaction Award, Connoisseur's Choice by Resorts & Great Hotels, and the Wine Spectator Award 2007-2014. Being selected One of the World's Best Business Hotels by Travel & Leisure Magazine is one of the most recent accolades. The JW Marriott Miami offers a one-of-a-kind experience that allows you to enjoy the comforts of home during your stay. This award-winning downtown Miami hotel blends the features of a premier conference and meeting facility with timeless elegance, thoughtful amenities and award-winning service. Elegantly furnished guest rooms and suites offer the finest details, including marble tubs, high-speed Internet and flat-screen televisions. Dine at La Terraza Cafe and Bar, a casual fare with an array of options to choose from. Relaxation is as close as the luxurious spa and the unique stainless steel pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing