We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Pre Cruise Hotel”
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Miami
Ranked #46 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Good Pre Cruise Hotel”
Reviewed March 24, 2008

This is a very good hotel. The desk and bell staff were excellent! The room large and modern, complete with a flat screen tv and an internet terminal at no additional charge. I must say that the beds were the most comfortable hotel beds I can remember. The hotel is obviously upscale and you pay for it. But as in most things you usally get what you pay for.

My only negative comments and the reason I didn't rate the hotel excellent would be the terrible service outside by the pool bar. It took forever to get a cocktail. For some reason they had to be ordered through the outside bartender and brought out from inside the hotel by wait staff, and wait you did. All things considered, I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I would just go to the brew pub next door for drinks.

  • Liked — Clean and modern
  • Disliked — Poor service at the pool bar
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jwachh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    317
    111
    42
    39
See reviews for
148
204
48
349
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Very Nice Hotel ....Nice Amenitities.......Very Good Business Hotel.....but if you are looking to live the fun life......it is not that type

  • Liked — Nice Hotel
  • Disliked — it is not a fun location businesslocation
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2008

After checking in and out of a terrible hotel in a matter of minutes, I called Marriott and booked a room here. First class hotel all the way. The staff was friendly, check-in quick & efficient and the room warm, large and well appointed with large flat panel tv, internet and decent bathroom. Thank you Marriott for turning a bad night in to a wonderful night. Would absolutely stay again. In financial district so not the place to stay if you're trying to do the beach. The views from the Biscayne Bay Marriott are incredible but the rooms are nicer here.

  • Liked — Quality of hotel and friendly staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JW37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

Top rate Five Star Hotel located in heart of Business District we stayed for 5 nights to watch the tennis at Key Biscayne. Service and rooms are as you expect from a hotel of this standard in the USA.

Couldnt find any fault with the hotel. Location is safe with some excellent quality restaurants within walking distance. So good in fact that we didnt eat in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Sicall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

The staff is unattentive. For starters, the bell hop never took our bags after saying he would take them in and up to our room. He left them at the curb side. After checking in, I had to go back outside and get my own bags. The pool area looked like it had just been through a storm. The area was not crowded and there are very few chairs to sit on. Most hotels ask you to use towels provided at the pool. In this case, there were no towels to be had. The pool staff hung a sign to use the towels from your room. I was told by the pool staff that my towels would be replaced in the room. This now required me to go back to my room to get the only 2 towels that were left in there, call the desk for replacements and then go back to the pool. 2 hours later, the towels were not left in the room. It took me a total of 3 phone calls to have the towels replaced in the room, with the final call to the hotel manager. The main restaurant was also not open for dinner. This hotel was not what is expected from a Marriott owned property. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Disliked — Most everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vlartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

Beautiful hotel, right in the business area of Miami. All amenities are in the hotel and the service is great. Beds have that pillow mattress effect - very comfortable.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — stairs to and from lobby (small elevator almost hidden)
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellady44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2007

Quiet, clean, convenient, great all the way around. And, no noise or slamming doors. Thank you Marriott.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MI_Jayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Conrad Miami
#13 of 122 in Miami
2,083 reviews
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 122 in Miami
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#14 of 122 in Miami
3,263 reviews
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#10 of 122 in Miami
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Property: JW Marriott Miami
Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Miami has received numerous recognition's including, Best Design Award by Marriott International, Overall Guest Satisfaction Award, Connoisseur's Choice by Resorts & Great Hotels, and the Wine Spectator Award 2007-2014. Being selected One of the World's Best Business Hotels by Travel & Leisure Magazine is one of the most recent accolades. The JW Marriott Miami offers a one-of-a-kind experience that allows you to enjoy the comforts of home during your stay. This award-winning downtown Miami hotel blends the features of a premier conference and meeting facility with timeless elegance, thoughtful amenities and award-winning service. Elegantly furnished guest rooms and suites offer the finest details, including marble tubs, high-speed Internet and flat-screen televisions. Dine at La Terraza Cafe and Bar, a casual fare with an array of options to choose from. Relaxation is as close as the luxurious spa and the unique stainless steel pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing