We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“In the Brickell, but a business hotel at heart.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
JW Marriott Miami
Ranked #38 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“In the Brickell, but a business hotel at heart.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Booked hotel through the cruise company, for one night before my cruise. It was the Friday night before the Miami Marathon and the Brickell was hopping. But don't be fooled. The JW Marriott is a business hotel catering to conferences and the like. There wasn't even a coffee shop on premises, and the place literally died on Saturday. The front desk and concierge were very helpful in finding me a fun place to hang out. In that regard, the hotel is very close to lots of restaurants and bars and shopping. So, I did like the location a great deal.

My room was great. Very inviting, upscale decor and furnishings. Lovely pillows and quiet (did I mention the hotel was dead) The bathroom was great with lots of extras. Very luxurious. The towels could have been a little thicker, given how beautiful the bathroom is.

Didn't check out the dining area and walked over to Starbucks for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    293
    98
    38
    33
See reviews for
143
184
47
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Of Marriott standard but at the tired end of their portfolio. The dullness of the interior jars with the vibrancy and brightness of the Florida setting. Although perfectly situated for business meetings in Brickell, I would definitely chose one of the many other hotels in the area if on vacation. Pretty pricey this place too. It scrapes a 3 rating because I loved their lobby muzak soundtrack which included Arcade Fire, Coldplay, REM. A refreshing change!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had a generally fine stay at the JW. The bathroom is large, and the room was clean with a view of the pool. There's a good size gym and the hotel provides lots of complementary bottled water. The neighborhood is nice to walk around with some restaurants and bars although it's mostly office buildings. The in-room Wi-Fi did not work well, but they have cat-5 jacks. The pool is on the 19th floor and there are hot tubs along side. Along the wall one can see a sliver Biscayne Bay, which is a short walk down the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mukhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed for a weekend trip with a couple of friends.
The Staff from start to finish were absolutely amazing. If not for them the rating would be much lower. Only thing they missed was telling me you need the room key to activate the elevator.. took a couple of trips up and down until I figured that one out..
The location is pretty good. Walking distance to some great restaurants and bars and the inner-city rail line to get around the downtown core.
The room... overall basic.. the internet didn't work the whole time I was there no matter what was done to fix it. The room looked worn and dated. Bed was only moderately comfortable.
Bathroom was nice and spacious. Quite large for a hotel bathroom really.. but the finish work on the shower was definitely sub-par for the Marriott name.. one tile on the tub surround right where you enter/exit was not installed properly and stuck out about 1/4".. Quite easy to catch yourself on the corner..
Overall I would not return unless I received a fantastic rate, and even then, there are much better options in my opinion that I really wouldn't return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caronrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton rouge, LA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

It's expensive, a tad dark and gloomy, but it's quiet and near a lot of good restaurants. It's also a short trip to South Beach. I liked eating in Met Cafe & Bar. Even though I say it's not great we will go back for the tennis tournament in March. I'll review it again then. I can recommend it because I have stayed in worse in Miami and the hotels in South Beach are too expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

I used 30,000 points to reserve a room for an overnight stay pre-cruise. A really beautiful room, well appointed with a lovely bay view. It's within walking distance to Bayside Market which is a great place to walk along the river, see nice boats and have a drink and dinner. This area is adjacent to American Airlines Arena ie; Miami Heat play here.

Unfortunately, my stay was marred by a mishap in the bathroom. The hassock had 2 legs loose and I fell to the tile floor. What could have easily been a serious incident, was fortunately just a bruised arm and a sore back, but hardly how I wanted to begin my vacation. In addition, the blow dryer smoked when turned on and the bed had a huge crater in the middle which made sleeping well impossible. All of this was addressed at the front desk upon check out. They comped us lunch for our trouble and promised the manager would follow up with me regarding the fall. I did receive an email from the assistant manager but their compensation offered was wholly inadequate. I'm still waiting on their reply to my reply.

If you stay here, just watch out for those small legs on the hassocks in the bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colorations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Booked hotel for Miami Marathon - Nice and clean! Hotel is close to Mary Brickell Square (Great place to relax and meet the locals).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Conrad Miami
#10 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Hotel Beaux Arts Miami
#43 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SLS Brickell
SLS Brickell
#13 of 122 in Miami
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#11 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#9 of 122 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Property: JW Marriott Miami
Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Miami has received numerous recognition's including, Best Design Award by Marriott International, Overall Guest Satisfaction Award, Connoisseur's Choice by Resorts & Great Hotels, and the Wine Spectator Award 2007-2014. Being selected One of the World's Best Business Hotels by Travel & Leisure Magazine is one of the most recent accolades. The JW Marriott Miami offers a one-of-a-kind experience that allows you to enjoy the comforts of home during your stay. This award-winning downtown Miami hotel blends the features of a premier conference and meeting facility with timeless elegance, thoughtful amenities and award-winning service. Elegantly furnished guest rooms and suites offer the finest details, including marble tubs, high-speed Internet and flat-screen televisions. Dine at La Terraza Cafe and Bar, a casual fare with an array of options to choose from. Relaxation is as close as the luxurious spa and the unique stainless steel pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing