We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Brickell”
Review of JW Marriott Miami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Miami
Ranked #46 of 122 Hotels in Miami
SA TX
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Location in Brickell”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I stay here when visiting my daughter and the staff always treats me as a welcomed friend. Our room is bright and cheerful, but really could use the carpet replace. Air conditioning is excellent. Beds are very comfortable and our view of the city is enchanting. It is an easy walk to restaurants and night life, but not in the middle of Mary Brickle center which is about 3 blocks away. I'm not sure I'd like to walk back to it alone at night. Taxis are easy to get, 15 min to SOBE and 25 to the airport

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mama4llama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    318
    111
    42
    40
See reviews for
148
206
48
349
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We had our wedding here and had two very different experiences. The social catering team was exceptional and we were 100% happy with our wedding reception.

However, our experience and our families' experience staying at the hotel was a different story. It was horrific, really. The people at the front desk were incredibly rude and incompetent during every interaction we had. My parents and other family members were treated horribly. The room service was disgusting. The experience was so bad that we decided not to stay at another JW Marriott that we had planned to stay at on our honeymoon.

We regret suggesting to our wedding guests that they stay here, and we will never stay at this, or any other, JW Marriott again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank medbacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Spent a week at this hotel on business. This is a very high-end business hotel with all the ammenities and services one would expect with this brand (and price).

The rooms are fantastic and very quiet. The service is very good, especially given how many clients stay in the hotel at any given time.

The location is great if you are in town on business. If you are looking for something near the beach for a vacation, then perhaps look elsewhere. Then again, this hotel has a great heated pool and you can always take a quick cab ride to the beach.

Room Tip: Concierge level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigPl8Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We state at this hotel post cruise for one night. We had a fabulous cruise around the Caribbean with Royal Caribbean, unfortunately our travel aent picked this for us as a recommendation. The say after we tried to change but with no luck!

This spoiled our holiday. We arrived surprisingly early at 8:30am with the whole day ahead of us. First off the receptionist couldn't help with telling us what time we were being collected the next day for the airport, they said other than the room they had no record of us. We went to the room to drop put luggage off and came back and tried again with a different receptionist. She also didn't know I asked her to ring the transport company for us, but she gave me the number told me todo it! We gave up and asked the concierge lady what was best to visit nearby. We asked about shopping but there was nowhere without travel less than $50 she didn't seem interested in helping really. We set off toward the sea I heard about the Bayside and thought we couldn't be far. We were it was about 20 min walk and we had a lovely pleasant day! Now why couldn't she tell us about it?! We got the Metromover back shv didn't metion that either and once we sussed it it was so easy to use and FREE!!

Got bcd tried again with reception, no luck! I rang the no. She gave me from the room but it was for Celebrity Cruises! Tried with them again and they were just no help at all! You get free very, very slow Internet in your room so found RC's no. and rang them. Hotel staff were useless! More interest with their business clients. The pool had a bar and would have been very pleasant to use at the end of our day, but it was shut! So we went to the veranda and got lots of stares because we took the children in. There was a conference on the next day and they were all in there!

The room they gave us for 2 adults, 13 & 11 yr old boy & girl was 2 'double' beds - more like 2 three quarter beds they were so small!

No TV in the mirror.???

If you want a family holiday or pre/post cruise hotel don't choose this one!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdjcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I had stayed at this Hotel a few times in the past. I think it is well located, in that you can access all of SOBE easily enough, but you're also just far enough removed to keep your sanity.

This visit got off to a somewhat shaky start, but then Mr. Alex Blanco, the Front Office Manager, came to our rescue and ensured that we enjoyed the rest of our stay. Alex is a true professional and a credit to Marriott.

Thanks Again Alex,
The gang of 4 from the 9th floor

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murrd90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Rooms very comfortable and well-equipped, excellent wifi coverage, good business location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CitizenDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

I stayed here for a meeting last week and we had the worst experience ever. We were a large party, aroung 150 people and the meeting coordination service was awful. Our meeting executive never showed up in two days, the hotel meeting staff was rude and they even broke into one of the sessions and for no reason they started to yell at me something about the audio as I was presenting. I was astonished to see this kind of service from a Marriott. The food was ok, but they were careless enough to serve as the exact same lunch buffet twice in the same week, just two days apart...incredible.
Also, I was expecting a package to be delivered at the hotel, and when it got there they had a huge mess with all the packages and they couldn't even find mine and it turned up stored but not even logged on their records.
Overall a bad experience for the business meeting and the stay due to poor service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
Kimpton EPIC Hotel
#15 of 122 in Miami
3,266 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Conrad Miami
#14 of 122 in Miami
2,087 reviews
Downtown
EAST, Miami
EAST, Miami
#6 of 122 in Miami
478 reviews
Downtown
Atton Brickell Miami
Atton Brickell Miami
#9 of 122 in Miami
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Miami

Property: JW Marriott Miami
Address: 1109 Brickell Ave, Miami, FL 33131-3101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Miami has received numerous recognition's including, Best Design Award by Marriott International, Overall Guest Satisfaction Award, Connoisseur's Choice by Resorts & Great Hotels, and the Wine Spectator Award 2007-2014. Being selected One of the World's Best Business Hotels by Travel & Leisure Magazine is one of the most recent accolades. The JW Marriott Miami offers a one-of-a-kind experience that allows you to enjoy the comforts of home during your stay. This award-winning downtown Miami hotel blends the features of a premier conference and meeting facility with timeless elegance, thoughtful amenities and award-winning service. Elegantly furnished guest rooms and suites offer the finest details, including marble tubs, high-speed Internet and flat-screen televisions. Dine at La Terraza Cafe and Bar, a casual fare with an array of options to choose from. Relaxation is as close as the luxurious spa and the unique stainless steel pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Miami Hotel Miami
Miami Jw Marriott
Marriott Miami
Miami Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing