We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very very disappointed, would never recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #94 of 121 Hotels in Miami
exeter
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very very disappointed, would never recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I was never told that i had to make a $100.00 deposit when i get there, i asked if all my money would be refunded the answer was yes, to my surprise the next morning at check out i was told that they have to take $2.00 for safe deposit, i did not need a safe, breakfast was horrible the toaster does not work properly and by the way what is wrong with the pool ?before i got to Florida i called to ask for information on how to get to the hotel useless no one knew what kind pf business is this ? I would never recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    168
    277
    157
    227
See reviews for
200
257
86
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel has no restaurant or bar. Pool was full of leaves and unusable. Room appeared to not have been updated in many years and had no amenities, ie coffee pot, no ice bucket. Lights were out in the elevators in the morning. Beds are hard and uncomfortable. Would have expected from a cheap motel but not this.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami hotels

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We needed a cheap, safe, decent place to stay for atleast a month before finding a perm place. And this hotel solved our purpose. Next to metro station this is a good bargain. We got a good discount as well. Bfast is basic but not bad, better then those who do not provide. Rooms have distinct old carpet smell, linens are old and not so comfy. You get what you pay for basically.
Tip: Ask for higher floor and river view room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poonash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

First and foremost

Water Pressure in the SUITE was HORRIBLE
Roaches everywhere!!!!!!
BEDBUGS ON MY TRAVEL BAG THE MORNING I WOKE UP
MOLD NONSTOP
NO TOWELS
NO WASH CLOTHS
NO ICE BUCKET
Bed sheets dirty
Staff could really careless
Light fixtures fell apart

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Felisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the River Park Hotel and Suites in November 2013 for one night before our cruise. While it was nothing to write home about, it was one of the least expensive hotels downtown Miami convenient to the cruise port.

The Pros:
Convenient to public transit. We were able to take the metromover from the hotel to Bayside Marketplace to enjoy some last minute shopping before our trip. We also took the metromover to the cruise port the morning of our cruise, avoiding a $15-$20 cab ride once you figure in the tip.

Incredibly helpful staff! We were pleasantly surprised by the courteous staff and their willingness to help us out. My husband was in dire need of a haircut, and several of the male staff members came to the front desk to recommend barber shops in the area. One of the female employees also gave us some touring tips, as well as let us know where was safe to visit after dark.

Safe and Clean. The hotel itself was very secure, and I did not feel uneasy at any time. The rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable.

The downside:

The breakfast spread left much to be desired. The restaurant was under renovation while we were there, so there was construction debris all around.

The rooms are dated. It's an old Clarion hotel that is no longer a franchisee. There's a bidet in the bathroom, and the toilet water pressure left much to be desired.

The decor was tired. Plain and simple. It needs a good facelift.

In closing: This is a great place to stay if you need a safe, clean and comfortable place to rest your head for the night. It's not a 4 star resort- but you're not paying 4-star prices either. For the money, it's truly one of the best deals in the area, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to any of my friends or clients.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelMagicDiva88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I am a travel agent and some of our clients booked this hotel through our website and guaranteed their rooms with a credit card. The rate that was booked was a guaranteed rate, where they hold them room and if the guest doesn't show then they charge the card. It was not a rate that required a deposit. The guests arrived at the hotel to have the front desk tell them their rooms had been cancelled. The clients called me to assist them with their reservation. I called the hotel and the front desk agent began to argue with me, then transferred me to the manager. I spoke with the manager who said the rooms were cancelled because the client's credit card had been declined so they cancelled the rooms. They did not notify us nor the client that there was an issue with the card. The clients had booked the rooms for $99/night. The manager told me they were offered a rate of $170/nt if they wanted to stay there. The client said they were told they would have to pay $225/nt. The manager told me it was bad business practice for us to allow them to book the rooms with an invalied card. On our website, the rooms will not confirm unless the card is valid. Obviously, when you are travelling, many holds get placed on your credit card so it may decline. The hotel is responsible for at least notifying the guest or the travel agency bofre they cancel the rooms. I advised my clients to leave the hotel immediately. The manager was extremely rude and if he argued with the guests as much as he argued with me, I would never recommend anyone stay here regardless of the price of the rooms. Pay a little more, get a nice place with helpful staff, save your vacation. I feel terrible for the clients that they had to endure the negligence of the staff at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sefields2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

The only good thing I can say is that it's cheap, we rented two rooms, (6 kids plus 2 adults ) both rooms are in desperate need of renovations. I am not even talking about for the eye appeal, both rooms needed work specially in the bathrooms, were we found mold. We were told we were on a not smoking floor yet our room smelled of cigarettes... It was disgusting. The continental breakfast was a joke, coffee, juice, toast, and cereal. That's was it. Nothing hot.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#45 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#47 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#43 of 121 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 2,739 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center

Property: River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 100 SE 4th St, Miami, FL 33131-2110
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Park Hotel And Suites Downtown/Convention Center
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/ Miami
River Park Hotel Downtown
River Park Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing