We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #94 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I would not let my dog sleep in this place. It was dirty and the sheets were so thin you could see through them. The room itself was just plain nasty. The bedspread had stains on them and over all I did not rest easy at all. I was so happy by the time morning came around. Also, there was no mattress pad on bed and pillows smelled bad. The pool was dirty and the what they call breakfast is a joke !!!!! Do yourself a favor and stay away from this place. It's Just BAD. I have stayed at Super 8's that have not been this dirty. Spend the extra money and get a good nights sleeps This is one of the worst hotels stays I have ever had, and I travel a lot... BEWARE!!!!!!

Room Tip: Just don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    168
    277
    157
    227
See reviews for
200
257
86
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Overall, it was not a terrible experience, but this has been the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. First thing I did not like was that I pay for a river-view room and they gave me a room with no view at all because according to them, there were no more rooms available (we could see from the outside that only a few rooms were lighted)
We tried to just ignore this, but on top of it, the A/C was not working properly, which made our stay even less comfortable.
Nice lobby and good breakfast, which was included.

Room Tip: Good Luck!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami hotels

Hammond, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hotel is literally off the ramp of the highway. Arrived early morning. As we pulled into the drive way to check in, there were several cars and one shuttle van crammed into this tight area. They only have valet parking. The morning, female staff were nice, helpful and friendly. The evening male staff were cold and could careless who walked in. Nothing spectacular about the room. Interior decor needs much updating throughout the lobby. Continental breakfast was below average. Great location. The free city tram is next door. Lots of local restaurants and souvenir stores walking distance. Bayside Marketplace is approximately 15 min walk.

Room Tip: I've never been to Miami. Must take the Miami Bus Tour. You can view the entire city and South...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LettA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

There is no arguing that this is a very tired old building, but the location is fantastic. We needed just one night in downtown Miami and I simply wasn't willing to shell out $300+ for a bed for one night, post cruise. I was completely unsuccessful in finding anything affordable through Priceline or other travel sites. I am normally the queen of "name your own price" but Miami beat me this time. When we found a deal for under $150/night, I took it immediately and am completely happy that we did. The staff was friendly and quite helpful and the location could not be beat. Having read the prior reviews, there was nothing that came as a surprise and it ended up being more comfortable than I would have expected. I would totally recommend this if you are just looking for an affordable place downtown for one or two nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattyVF132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The River Park Hotel & Suites is conveniently located near the Water Front and Downtown, which is why we chose it, but after we arrived we found a very old and tired property.

The Restaurant and Bar are closed. There is no room service, Bellmen or Concierge Service .

Parking is Valet Only and costs $20 per night.

The Hotel Wi-Fi can only be accessed in the lobby. No internet access in the rooms .

The swimming pool is small and very dirty.

The only food service is a self-serve continental breakfast, which consists of Coffee, Orange Juice, cereal, toast and fruit.

The rooms are mostly double beds and the only amenity is free shampoo and conditioner in the bathrooms. There is no coffee machine or refrigerator in the rooms.

We arrived at 1pm, two hours before the normal check in time of 3pm. As a result were charged a $35 fee for early check in. We had pre-booked three nights and expected a queen sized bed.

The first night we were placed on the third floor with a view of the rooftop air conditioners and the freeway. The room had a double bed. The ice machine on our floor and the one above did not work. The room was clean, but the furniture was antiquated and the bathroom ceiling was peeling. The windows were very dirty.The towels were institutional and the telephone in the room was cracked with wires showing.

The next two nights, at our request, the Hotel did up grade us to a suite on the ninth floor, which was large, but again very antiquated. There were two double beds, a sofa bed and a large wet bar, but no refrigerator or ice bucket in the room. The room was clean, but again the bathroom ceiling was peeling and the towels were cheap institutional type. The draperies were torn and the carpet was thread bare. The windows were very dirty.

Neither room had a Hotel Guide or telephone directory, but the suite did have a Chamber of Commerce guide to Miami.

The Front Desk Staff was pleasant and did upgrade our room without problems on our second day. When asked about the condition of the property, the staff told me that the property recently changed hands. They did indicate there are plans to upgrade the building sometime later this year.

For $200 per night, I expected a lot more for my money and was very disappointed with the Hotel.

I would not stay there again!

Room Tip: River View rooms are quitter than the City View, which faces the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SV_Camelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Day 1: first assigned room was rejected by us due to shabbiness, clogged sink drain & window could not be closed. Second assigned room: A bit less shabby looking, again a semi- clogged sink and only three (!) hangers for 2 people staying for 5 days. Lock box non-functional. No luggage rack, one shabby arm chair.
Day 2: Asking staff for more hangers, thorough cleaning, one more chair, functional lock box, a luggage rack and a new light bulb in the shower. Got 4 out of 6: cleaning, hangers, luggage rack (after mgr. said they “didn't have any in this hotel” and was confronted that we saw one in our friends' room. We woke up that night at 2:30am, b/o rhythmical banging of a headboard of a bed in the next room against our wall. If we had had a choice, we'd have left the hotel the very next am, but we had already pre-paid all the days on-line.
Day 3: NO ONE CLEANED OUR ROOM! (Yet someone took the time to put an ironing board in it, even tho we never requested one - & didn’t have an iron to begin with!) We were told to come downstairs to the concierge to get clean towels for next am, as all house cleaning staff was gone by the time we returned from our day trip (about 9:30pm).
Day 4: Confronted the hotel director with all that had happened and was wrong. He was uncooperative & unapologetic. He never offered true remediation nor - of course - a courtesy discount. When confronted with the fact that BREAKFAST WAS BELOW STANDARDS, (‘continental breakfast’ is offered, but there were no fruits or eggs left after 7:30am), he countered "'what can you do, if people eat too many eggs?".
Day of departure: at 5:30am there was NO HOT WATER for showers! Glad to be out of there - never to return.
Positives: the Hotel is relatively cheap for its location. There was valet parking for 20$ a night for our rental car. The lobby has good art work including a great Botero sculpture. It clearly has seen better times, but needs a lot of help now. The house keeping staff on the floor tried to be helpful - but of course they could do nothing about the poor management of the place. We did leave them a good tip, for 'trying'.
Also: It seems to be a hotel for one-nighters who are catching a cruise ship the following morning. It is clearly not equipped for a longer stay.
DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REGINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed here with my wife an 4 yr old for one night before taking a cruise.

This is an old, run down place. Old decor, and peeling paint on the ceilings. We had a yellow toilet seat in our room... I think it was once white.

There is no phone in room, wifi is in lobby only. The breakfast is terrible - just white toast, cereal, coffee and juice... boiled egg and apples if you're there early enough.

Location: convenient for port. about 8 or 9 blocks from Bayside market. some restaurants and stores within a few blocks.

Terrible, terrible, terrible place. I'd be embarrassed to take money off people to stay here if I was the owner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#44 of 121 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#48 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#43 of 121 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 2,737 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center

Property: River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 100 SE 4th St, Miami, FL 33131-2110
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Park Hotel And Suites Downtown/Convention Center
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/ Miami
River Park Hotel Downtown
River Park Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing