We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place sucks!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #98 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Millinocket, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place sucks!!!!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here recently for one night. We had a large group that booked 5 rooms. When we got there it was discovered that they had charged our rooms to one member of our party's credit card 72 hours before we even checked into the hotel. The point of holding the rooms was so we could pay seperately for our rooms when we got there. The man at the desk informed us they could not seperate the room payments, but they had no problem taking another credit card from a member of my family. It appeared they were going to duble charge one room on two different credit cards. Secondly, we needed to return rental cars to Hertz, we asked for directions and we were given directions to the 4 seasons hotel, which was 1/2 hour was from the hotel, instead of the Hertz rental place that was 3 blocks from our hotel. The one elevator that was working had the certification that expired over 1 year ago. . We went in search of ice, signs indicated that there was ice on the 14th floor, it was never found. Finally we went to the front desk to ask where to get ice to be told that ice could be found on certain floors,not all the floors as indicated on signs throughout the hotel. The room needed alot of updating. The wall paper was coming off, my husband had to fix the shower head so we could us it. We went down to the continential breakfast in the morning. This was a joke, they had stale cereal, frozen muffins and white bread for toast. The toaster's didn't work. The had coffee that wasn't even drinkable. When we went to leave the hotel we had arranged a shutte to the port of miami. We made it very clear that we were a party of 15 and we wanted to have 1 shutte take all of us to the port. We were told that wouldn't be problem, but when the time came for us to leave we had to take two different shuttles.
I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngryVacationer0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    207
    346
    194
    268
See reviews for
250
335
99
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Dirty bed linens, wiring exposed,hairdryer hanging out of hole in wall, telephone didn't work, sink didn't drain, toilet clogged and toilet seat so old peeling! Nothing like pictures presented on their web page! Dangerous area! Our driver was shocked we were staying there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationingnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

After reading the many reviews on this hotel, I admit I was a bit frightened. Upon our arrival, I was checked in rather quickly. We arrived around 7 pm and within 15-20 mins we had the car parked by the valet, the hotel took our bags to our room since a luggage cart was unavailable and we were ready to head out to see the town. Room was in good shape, the staff was friendly, helpful and location of the hotel was great. I would say this was money well spent on a 2 star hotel in DOWNTOWN MIAMI. We were right by two metro mover stations and 4 blocks from our event venue....can't beat it. ***I do have to say watch out for the valet....they will try to double charge you (so keep your parking ticket) and make sure you store your personal items from their view or out of the car...the valet did take an aux cable from my car but all in all, it was a great trip and our room was great. NO BEDBUGS, NO WAITING,FRIENDLY & HELPFUL STAFF, GOOD ROOM, GREAT VIEW OF MIAMI RIVER. Stayed in room 903.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view or an upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsDivaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Black mold in the bathroom, broken fixtures, stained sheets, old smelly mattress, elevator makes terrifying sounds and it's license expired 3 months ago, ice machines broken,. Was greeted in the morning by a homeless man masturbating in front of the hotel. Staff are inexperienced and don't seem to care about the condition of the place.

Literally the only good thing about this hotel was it's proximity to downtown Miami.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a 1 night stay before our cruise.Its in a good location.The staff was friendly,and helpful. We got upgraded to a queen suite. The shuttle to the pier was 6 bucks ,and on time.No bad review here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Woke up at 3:00am on March 15, 2013 to find I was getting bitten by bed bugs. Checked carefully and saw the mattress was full of them. I stayed in room 1004. Went o the font dek, no manager on site. Guy at the front dek said a women just complained a week ago about bedbugs. he said he could not doing anything tht i ould have to speak to the mnager. I checked out out at 3:30am.

Room Tip: Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RAC19333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very good location, very close to the Metro Mover that lets you go places in Miami. Rates are convenient (around US$ 140), but do not expect any frills. Breakfast is included, but forget about something filled with goodies. Besides, breakfast hours are very strict, 7:00 to 9:30, if you get there at 9:30, staff will have removed most of the food. If you have any dietary restrictions, lets say, sugar, bring your own cereal, etc., for there was a choice between Fruit Loops and Frosted Flakes!!! However, it relly breaks your fast!

Room Tip: It is a good place to stay if you do not expect any luxuries and frills. They do not havce any miner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merker Moreira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Downtown
Courtyard Miami Downtown/Brickell Area
Downtown
YVE Hotel Miami
YVE Hotel Miami
#56 of 124 in Miami
2,671 reviews
Downtown
The Langford Hotel
The Langford Hotel
#28 of 124 in Miami
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Miami
Hyatt Regency Miami
#48 of 124 in Miami
3,373 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Port of Miami Downtown
Regency Hotel Miami
#38 of 124 in Miami
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center

Property: River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 100 SE 4th St, Miami, FL 33131-2110
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Park Hotel And Suites Downtown/Convention Center
River Park Hotel & Suites Downtown/ Miami
River Park Hotel Downtown
River Park Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing