We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Shorty's Bar-B-Q

Shorty's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #144 of 4,202 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Allapattah
Teresopolis, RJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I really like this restaurant! It's simply fantastic. The food is delicious and the servers are very polite!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Crespus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    83
    25
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good BBQ for a chain restaraunt.”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I come in here maybe once every other week while in town for work. Overall the food and service has been very consistent. Never a long wait for a table and service is usually pretty fast. The food quality has been pretty good also. Nothing exotic on the menu. Standard BBQ restaraunt. I do like their Brunswick stew a LOT. I would put that as a single stand out item here so give it a try.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went at an off time, probably about 5pm which in Miami is apprently very early to eat. The food was ok, not the best BBQ I've had, but not horrible either. The restaurant is quite unque in the decor. Which means there is all kinds of random stuff on the walls and ceilings. There was also some kind of liquid on the table in a shaker that smelt like campfire but I don't know what the purpose was. The booths are also weirdly designed and not comfortable. If you've eaten here you know what I mean.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank smshrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
288 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Really below average food and service”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Chicken was dried out to the point that it was not edible. I had that piece replaced. Brisket (Famous) was fatty and also dried out. Sauces are uninspired goop. Service was acceptable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Outdoorguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, North Carolina
Level Contributor
179 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I ate at Shorty's last week while in Miami on business. The restaurant on NW 87 has very good BBQ. I ordered some wings, the brisket and a cold beer . Both were very good, and the brisket was smoked perfectly. I really like the buffalo sauce that came with the wings too.

I had a nice conversation with some of the locals, who were still celebrating the Miami Heat's NBA title. The staff there were very friendly. I arrived late, and myself and another customer were there until closing. The staff never rushed us out!.

I will definately go to Shorty's next time I'm in Miami.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guestspeakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shorty's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing