We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel needs updating, but OK for one night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East
Ranked #70 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hotel needs updating, but OK for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Older hotel that needs a complete remodel, but clean enough for a one night stay if you aren't too picky. Employees were very friendly and helpful and make up for this otherwise barely average hotel.

Free parking, free airport and cruise shuttle (make sure you sign up at the front desk when you check in). Free Wi-Fi is always nice. The free breakfast was average at best (cereal, yogurt, pastries, waffles, coffee, juice).

My room was relatively clean, but there's definitely some wear and tear on the furnishings, carpets and walls. Nice flat screen TV with HD channels and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was clean but dated. Didn't see any bugs. The room air conditioner has a "fan only" setting which helped drown out some of the airplane noise. I slept OK here.

For a one night stay, and if you need a free airport pick up and cruise shuttle, this hotel is OK. I paid $139 for one night which I thought was pricey for what you get. The hotel employees were nice though. Not a bad hotel, but it definitely needs some TLC and updating.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBumChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    487
    332
    129
    97
See reviews for
470
403
69
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

While this hotel had some good points (like free parking when you cruise and shuttle to the port) the bad outweighed the good. I am traveling in a wheel chair for the first time and could not believe the Handicap room I was given. It had only a small double bed (which they did warn me about), had no refrigerator or microwave, no closet, only a small wood frame just tall enough to hang a shirt and hold about 4 articles of clothing. - Do they think because I am handicapped I am traveling alone? There was no consideration for my wife - not even 2 hand towels or 2 wash cloths, but there were 2 bath towels. The couple we were traveling with had all those things in their room that we did not and their room cost me the same amount of money as I paid for mine. I needed an extra pillow for my leg because of my surgery and the women at the desk said she would see if they had one (this was at 6:30 PM finally my wife went to the desk about 9:30 to ask again and was rudely told they don't give out extra pillows - when she explained why I needed it the women went in the back and brought out a rough folded up blanket and told her to use that it was all we would get. We had to call the desk at about 2:30 AM to complain of the noise - it sounded like someone was having a big party in the lobby.
I don't mind paying extra because I know Miami hotels are expensive, but I should at least get minimum service for what I paid - what kind of hotel doesn't have an extra pillow? Oh yes and the noise from the airplanes was awful. I won't be staying here again next year.

Room Tip: Stay as far from the lobby as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at La Quinta, good place to stay before a cruise. Staff very friendly Brittany and Mildred very helpfull. Close to airport with free shuttles from airport to hotel and to cruise port. Rooms very clean but matresses are too soft, breakfast was good. Need of decent restaurants within walking distance. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard182166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Ok, let's start with the downside - if you're driving to this hotel yourself, it is nearly impossible to find!! Maybe put the Red Roof Inn into the GPS because La Quinta is directly behind it. The staff was very friendly at check-in and understood the frustration. Rooms are very average, breakfast was about what you'd expect and was very crowded. We rented a car so we'd be able to go see all of Miami before we leave on our cruise, so this was just a place to spend a couple of nights and it seems very well suited for that. And comparably, it's cheaper than some others around and MUCH cheaper than something closer to the beach. Free parking. And I also thought the airplanes would be REALLY loud, but I've hardly noticed them!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shayes0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stopped by for 2 days during the period beginning of January 2014 when NY was blocked by snowstorms. The hotel knew it was very difficult and charged us incredible 170$ per night for a one bed room, that additionally was close to the reception, ground floor and all noise from there, together with the sound of airplanes landing and taking off made it impossible to sleep. That's more than we paid at 5 star hotel, that unfortunately only had room for one night.
It was no idea to go out to the pool either, there the airplanes were ridiculously.
A hotel to avoid!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lennart_brandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at La Quinta Miami East for 1 day before leaving on our cruise. The room was clean. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The pick up from the airport and then taking us to our port of call for our cruise was all included in our room price. We had a couple of issues with our room (air conditioner did not regulate the room temparture and our television did not work). We mentioned both issues to the front desk and in both cases we had a technician in our room within 15 min. to repair our concerns. The breakfast buffet has a good selection available to satisfy your morning appetite. Overall we had an enjoyable stay at La Quinta. It does lack restaurants near the motel for lunch or supper if you have no vehicle. You can order from various restaurants and have it delivered or take a taxi. Thank you for making our stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 1st floor as requested in order to not hear the planes overhead. We did not he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 95GAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport West
1.7 mi away
Regency Hotel Miami
Regency Hotel Miami
#35 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Miami Airport & Intermodal Area
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Miami - International Airport
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Miami International Airport Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East
Address: 3501 NW 42nd Ave (LeJeune Rd), Miami, FL 33142-5647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LaQuinta and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Airport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Miami Airport East Hotel Miami
La Quinta Miami
Miami La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing