We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable One Night Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
Ranked #26 of 121 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Comfortable One Night Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

We booked this hotel for a one night pre-cruise stay. My sister had Hilton reward points so that covered the cost of the room. We were assigned a non-smoking king suite.

When we arrived at the Miami airport, we could not find the board with phones to hotels and their shuttles. In fact, we had a hard time finding a pay phone. We were able to borrow a cell phone from a security office to call the shuttle.

The shuttle arrived at the Departures area as noted in other reviews. It was a very short ride to the hotel from the airport.

Our room had a living room/kitchen space and a bedroom with a king sized bed. Everything was very clean and comfortable. We did receive two free bottles of water and cookies as my sister is a gold member. There was also a bag of microwave popcorn.

The bathroom was spacious and featured Neutrogena products and a towel animal - a swan! Shower pressure was very weak and not much hot water available.

The breakfast was pretty standand fare - scrambled eggs, sausages, triangle hash browns, bagels, toast, juice and coffee. Not the best breakfast but definitely adequate.

The hotel also features a free business center with two computers so you can quickly check your email.

There is an independent shuttle to the Port of Miami if you need it. Just let the front desk staff know to make you a reservations. The shuttles depart at 11:00am, 12:00pm, 1:00pm and 2:00pm. We ended up taking a cab because the 11:00am shuttle was full. Cost of cab from the hotel to the Port of Miami was $25.

Just a 10-minute walk away from the hotel, there is a CVS, Publix and Walgreens. If you are buying supplies for your cruise, it can get heavy so bring someone to do the heavy lifting. The Hampton Inn - Blue Lagoon is actually directly across the street from the shops.

Overall, a decent one-night stay before our cruise. No complaints.

  • Liked — Location - close to the airport & free shuttle
  • Disliked — Location - far from Port of Miami and no free shuttle to the port
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    402
    145
    72
    27
See reviews for
490
217
22
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
218 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

ARRIVAL: We arrived around 3pm and checked in without any wait. They have luggage carts available in the lobby to use. I didn’t receive my Hhonors Gold benefit (2 bottles of water and a package of cookies), but thought nothing of it because some hotels have it waiting in the room, and others deliver it a couple of hours after you check-in. I never received it, so I checked the next day and the reception person was not very friendly. She insisted that if my gold status was on my reservation I would have received it. Well it was on my reservation (shows up when they give me my invoice) and I didn’t. She told me to grab a (one) bottle of water from the little shop. If you are entitled to any free items, please make sure you get them when you check-in. The cost of these items is not much, but I mention this because I think the hotel nickels and dimes you (see safe info below).
ROOM: The bathroom was between the living area and the bedroom, and there were doors to each entry. This was good because my sister was on the sofa bed and didn’t need to go into the bedroom to use the bathroom. Also, the toilet and shower were separated from the bathroom sink by a door. The toiletries in the bathroom were Neutrogena brand and consisted of; shampoo, conditioner, lotion and a shower cap. There is a TV in the living area and in the bedroom. Pay Per View movies were available. There is also a VHS player in the living room (yes, VHS). There was a safe in the room that uses a key. You have to go to the front desk to get the key, pay a refundable $15 deposit and pay $1.50 per day to use the safe. I don’t think I have ever paid to use a safe at a Hilton property, even in hotels in New York City. Also, there was nothing that told you this in the room; I went to the front desk asking about the safe key and was told the policy.
DINING: The free breakfast buffet was not as good as other Homewood Suites locations. It was enough to save the cost of buying breakfast, but I wouldn’t pay to eat it.
LOCATION: The hotel is right next to the airport, which is conveniently close, but also loud at times. We were in a room that faced the airport and could hear airplanes occasionally, depending on the runway they used.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Location; Front Desk Staff
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fligster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed for one night pre-cruise.

We booked this hotel for three reasons. First, the free airport shuttle, Second, the complimentary breakfast and Third, the suite accomodations.

The free airport shuttle was disappointing. We called to request the shuttle once we had landed and retrieved our bags. The receptionist said the shuttle would be there in 15 minutes. That was great - we had arrived 6.5 hours delayed due to weather an just wanted to settle in. We were told just to wait outside the departures. I had hoped that there was a designated pick up/drop off area. I was right in hoping so. In short, we saw the shuttle drive right past us after over 20 minutes of waiting - the driver didn't even look our way. I tried to chase after him to no avail. After three more calls to reception, the shuttle finally came to our rescue. The driver was very helpful with bags etc. It turned out that they had picked up another party and taken them to the hotel. They had thought it was us, only realizing that it wasn't us because we kept calling. Yes, it was a misunderstanding but there has got to be a better system in place. It should not take over an hour to get picked up by an airport hotel shuttle.

That said, the room was nice-sized, updated, comfortable and clean. The suite was great for us and a toddler. The crib they provided was waiting for us in the room (thankfully - as we arrived past 11pm). The man-made lagoon outside is a really nice touch for an airport-hotel. It was nice to sit out there. The breakfast was ample and pretty edible. The breakfast area was spacious with adequate seating and a high chair for our needs. The very large aquarium in the lobby is also very nice.

We took a cab to the port the next day, it was about 30$.

I would stay here again. But I would be much more careful and specific with the shuttle arrangements when I call.

  • Liked — rooms, breakfast
  • Disliked — shuttle service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripper80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

This hotel is nice but service terrible:
-The housekeepers use the same elevator as guests and the push every floor as kids to get down so elevator are to their service no to guests, it takes you more than 5-10 minutes waiting for elevators.
-I had to check out and check in for an award stay, and Aida Venegas at the front desk keep chating on the phone with her friend for 10 minutes by clock, then she ask for the imprint of certificate, is the only hotel has done that, I want to get it and told her that she wanted this only to be able to keep chating with friends, when came back the manager was mad due to my coment to that employee His name Franz Fernandez. They do not understand that they are in the service industry.
-I asked for the internet access code so I wont be incomunicated, they said for some reason did not have it, had to wait againg another 10 minutes for Franz.
-The toilet was leaking water 3 days already and they have not fixed.
-The AC control box is out of battery has not being changed

  • Liked — Rooms Size
  • Disliked — People
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Galapagoslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We only stayed one night following our flight from London. We were given a two bedroomed suite which we didn't really have time to appreciate. Clean ,very comfortable and well situated this was a great place to stay and so reasonable. 11 out of 10.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Well I stayed only one night at his hotel, but it was one of my best. They do care about customer satisfaction. I arrived very late (about 11pm) and tired after a long trip. September was very hot in Miami and in my room a/c didn't work properly. But ok the room has a ceiling fan and made me sleep anyway. It is not the best thing, but I slept as an angel. Well next day at check-out I said: "Please you have to send someone to fix a/c because it is not working well. It was a hot night, but I was very tired to ask someone at midnight to fix it and I slept well anyway, but maybe someone would complain". The lady immediately said: we concern about your 100% satisfaction. We will NOT charge you, ok? It is a free night.

I was with no words.......What I could say?

After this I definitely will stay again at this hotel. They do not only say things about customer respect as a slogan, they do care about us, at least for me.

Thanks!

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — a/c
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank depanho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We had a very early flight from Miami airport and decided to stay the night at a hotel and leave our car. The suite was very nice and they served breakfast ( we left too early to have it) and a very nice light dinner with wine! The shuttle to the airport at 6 AM was fine and they picked us up at 2AM we we got home. We also got to leave our car in their parking lot for 10 days free. The price was about $125.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Miami Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Miami Airport
1.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Miami Airport - Blue Lagoon
0.4 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#40 of 121 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Property: Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126-2028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Family Hotel in Miami
#31 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing