We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if you need to be near the airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
Ranked #29 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if you need to be near the airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We came down to Miami to spend Thanksgiving with family. They are all relatively near the airport, so the location is excellent. More so that it has easy access to a major freeway in Miami. We were in a two-bedroom suite so we had space for us and for our kids. The room has a fridge, stovetop, and microwave, so you would be able to prepare simple meals or reheat things if you need to. Overall this was a great location and a great stay. Now for the good and the bad.
The Good:
The rooms were clean and quiet.
The views were very nice. You have lakes on one side of the building, the airport on the other.
There were TVs in both bedrooms as well as in the living room.
The breakfast is very good by "Free Breakfast at the Hotel" standards, with a lot of choices.
The evening reception/dinner service (only on week days) was also decent, and did save us having to go out again for dinner on one night.
There is a great patio off of the dining room with a couple of tables to have breakfast outside if the weather is cooperating.
For being right across a major freeway from one of the runways for MIA, it is remarkably quiet.
As I stated before, it is convenient to the main East-West freeway through Miami.
There is a shopping center very convenient to the development where the hotel is located. The shopping center has a couple of restaurants, a supermarket and a drug store.
The area is full of convenient places to get a bite to eat.


The Bad
The parking lot is tight
The beds were not terribly comfortable (in my opinion)
There really isn't enough cookware/glassware for a room that had a kitchen. I think our room only had one skillet. No pot, no cooking implements at all.
There is no ice machine in the hotel for guests use. You have a small ice maker in the room, but it is woefully inadequate for 4 people in south Florida.
There are signs posted in the parking lot that you are not allowed to fish on the property despite the fact that the hotel sits on the premier Peacock Bass lake in all of Florida. Sorry, I am an avid fisherman and will take any opportunity to try my luck.

All in all, this was a great place and a great stay. Not so much if you are looking for a beach or other more touristy activities, but if the location works for you (Airport, or even a cruise, since its a straight shot down the expressway to the cruise terminals) then this is a great place to stay. I will definitely always be checking availability when next I go to Miami.

Room Tip: The two-bedroom suites are all located at the far corners of the buildings. Inconvenient for the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eavega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    387
    138
    70
    27
See reviews for
464
209
19
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you have to choose a Homewood Suites in Miami, pick this one. The rooms are spacious, with the shared bathroom right in between the bedroom and the living room with doors in between, so if you are using the living room for guests, sharing the bathroom is not uncomfortable for neither one of the guests.

The only problem I've found and holds me from giving it a full five-star rating is that the Internet signal was very poor in our room (513). A/C was a little noisy but a maintenance person came and fixed it, but still was noisier than average.

Breakfast is what you come to expect from Homewood Suites: eggs, waffles, fruit, oatmeal, the whole thing.

Unless you benefit from the shopping shuttles at the HS-West, don't go there and stay in this one. See my review on the Homewood Suites Airport West and you'll see why I recommend you to stay here instead of there, although this one is quite expensive ($200+).

Room Tip: 513 does not have a good Internet signal. Test your Internet signal before keeping the room they as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank estusal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed with my husband and 2-year old son while visiting family in Miami. Our 1 BR suite was very spacious. The room was clean except for hair left in the hair dryer. As is to be expected, we could hear the airplanes above. But otherwise our room was quiet. The hotel is in an area with corporate offices and felt very safe. Breakfast was typical of free breakfast and wasn't as good as another Homewood we stayed at. Our room had a nice view of the lagoon. We appreciated the free parking as several other hotels in the area charge for parking. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank platinumflyer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, IA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We flew in a day early for a Carnival Cruise and stayed here because they had free transportation from the airport. Turned out our flight was late and they didn't have their shuttle running any longer so we had to pay $20 for the cab ride over. It was disappointing that the hotel didn't even offer to reimburse us or cover the cab fee. I've been to other Homewood hotels, and they did this as a courtesy.

Cab ride to the Port was only $25 for all 4 of us so that's the way to go. No need to get a shuttle which is $10 per person.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerTeam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Everything was great great room beautiful view Front desk staff really nice, good parking great breakfast, easy access to the hotel enjoyed the view sitting out on the patio feeding those huge fish,enjoying the sun and being such a great area to shop and dine out at different resturants my favorite thing to do

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caddygurl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, FL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Booked on Hot wire. The only issue was Hot Wire. They didn't list that this was a studio suite property. One bed instead of two, however the desk clerk handled the issue very well and rented me a two bed suite for the same price. Safe, clean, great value, good location, free parking, nice property in every way. No mint on the pillow but is was well appointed, quiet and very easily a five star.

Room Tip: The room was $8 less than the book direct rate. One of the comments said the bfast and dinner was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've stayed at this property three times, once when it was first open and twice since. Homewood is one of my favorite brands. The hotel accomodations provide ample room to stretch out. The nightly dinner gives you an chance to rest & eat in. My friends opted to eat out & the front desk recommended Flannagans which they loved. There is a grocery store within walking distance which is helpful ($2 for a can of soda??). The convenient location near the airport made for a quick departure via their shuttle. I'll be back for a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chichimom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport West
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami Airport / Blue Lagoon
0.3 mi away
HYATT house Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Miami Airport South
0.4 mi away
Hilton Miami Airport
Hilton Miami Airport
#38 of 119 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 2,433 reviews
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Miami Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Property: Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126-2028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Family Hotel in Miami
#31 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing