We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Ranked #44 of 124 Hotels in Miami
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

perfect for a romantic weekend, and family fun
perfect for a romantic weekend, and family fun
perfect for a romantic weekend, and family fun
perfect for a romantic weekend, and family fun
perfect for a romantic weekend, and family fun

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear jonbrender,

We are thrilled to read that you had a great time in our Iconic property and we hope to have you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    219
    128
    72
    89
See reviews for
185
317
39
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matteson
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was average, pictures are accurate, however they were probably taken at the time after construction. Hotel needs some TLC. For the price you pay I would recommend you stay downtown for a more lively area of Miami. Valet is fast, Spa is great, house keeping slow, TV went out and came back on, furniture is old, gym is small.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Daryl S,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our Iconic property and we are extremely proud of hearing that our valet team was able to exceed your expectations. Our property has been an stable for the city of Coconut Grove and even though Downtown Miami has newer properties they all lack the character and exuberance that our property has possessed for thirty years.
We thank you for choosing for our property and we hope that you continue to visit the Magic city and enjoying all the great areas of the great city of Miami.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Mayfair in November 2013 for our honeymoon and loved the place! Our room was a great size for both of us and so close to everything! The beach was 20 minutes away! There were great restaurants within walking distance. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The restaurant downstairs was a little pricey for us :D The wifi didn't work for some reason and was slow but we didn't stay at the hotel much as we were out most of the time. We have recommended this hotel to so many people and our friends are going there next month.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aroon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Aroon D,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Mayfair hotel and spa to celebrate such an special occasion and we are truly happy to hear that you loved it.
Since your visit in November we have made some adjustments to our WiFi and we are proud to say that it has been a very welcome changed. Our location has always been an amazing amenity that not many properties can claim and that's something that we want all of our guest to enjoy.
We sincerely hope to have made a loyal guest from you and your husband and we hope to have you stay back with us sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

While the lobby and the public areas of this hotel are quite beautiful, this is a place that is in need of updating, repainting and a general sprucing up. The tile floor in our room didn't look clean and the balcony lacked any chairs. The foliage below the balcony should be neatened up. The room smelled musty. Personally, I would prefer carpeting in the room instead of the cold, hard tile. Also, the room we stayed in which they called a suite was really just a room with a balcony. I would definitely recommend not getting a room facing the street. Very noisy. On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and the breakfast buffet is excellent. I should mention that we used a Groupon so we didn't pay a lot compared to most Miami hotels. I guess you get what you pay for.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mgb-actor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear mgb-actor,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property and for the very detail feedback. Our property went through a renovation three years ago, where all of our suites and our common areas were remodeled. This past winter we did the all the landscaping for our property, where we removed old plants and trees and planted all new plants beautifying our balconies and common areas. And to finish this summer we will be remodeling our elevators and the furniture in our balconies, bringing back all the great charm our property has been known for.
We sincerely hope to have an opportunity to have you back in our property by the time all of these new arrangements have been completed, enjoying the true Mayfair experience.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Reminded me of a Thai Resort. Stayed here for a wedding in from Ft. Lauderdale. Every aspect of the hotel had a 'spa resort' feel. All rooms are very large, with decks with hot tube on it and huge marble bathrooms. Pool & bar on the roof top - amazing mojito. If the food at the wedding is any indication of the food it was amazing! who knew you could make steak for 100+ people taste so good!! Valet parking, although there is much cheaper parking across the street at the shopping area. Would recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear LaurenV,

We are extremely flattered by the comparison that you made and we are truly thankful for your kind words.
Our culinary team is a tremendous group of individuals that aim to exceed our guest's expectations and we are extremely proud of them and their work.
In relation to the parking even thought our hotel offers valet parking as you mentioned there are other options for our guest to used.
Once again I would like to thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share with us about your stay in our property. We sincerely hope to have you back in our property in the near future enjoying all of the amenities our property and the great area of coconut grove have to offer.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I chose the Mayfair due to the unique architecture and based on the recommendation of my company. My stay there was nothing short of a perfect stay. The staff is extremely accommodating and will read your every wish, the rooms are extremely clean and the amenities truly unbeatable. I cannot wait to come back. You cannot go wrong by staying there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcr1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear kcr1609,

We are truly happy to read that your stay was perfect and we can not wait to have you back in our property enjoying all of the great amenities our hotel and the great area of Coconut Grove has to offer.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at the Mayfair for a wedding over Memorial Day - first time in Miami. I had read the reviews on yelp and went in with low expectations and those reviews were not wrong! Do not expect to check in before 4pm. We got in around 2 pm (empty lobby) and were told that they'd call us when our room was ready. My husband and I and another couple grabbed lunch while we waited and both arrived back at 3:55pm and both our rooms were ready - so much for the call! The rooms are spacious enough, though dated and a little dingy. The hot tubs are nice if you want to pay extra for them and make numerous calls to the desk to turn them and/or fix the temperature on them (we made 3-4 of these calls). We went to the roof top bar/pool briefly on a Friday night (it was one of the wedding events) and we were completely ignored by the bartender for 15-20minutes. He was busy, but not to even make eye contact or tell us he'd get to us as soon as he could? Extremely rude. The price of drinks at the pool bar is outrageous $27 for 2 vodka cranberry drinks and he didn't use the vodka that I asked for. The wedding we attended was very nice - beautiful setting. The ceremony was in the atrium which got hot very quick! The area around the hotel is nice, a convenient location if you don't rent a car. I just didn't feel it was worth the price or a hotel I'd return to.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adewey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear adewey3,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property and we lament the fact that our property did not meet your expectations.
Our check in guaranteed time is 4:00 p.m. and believe me when I tell you that if your room was ready before the time that you actually stopped by the front desk, it'd had been our pleasure to call you to let you know.
Our prices are based on average with all the other hotels in the area and we truly feel that they are competitive prices to satisfied all of our guest.
Finally we are truly happy to hear that the event that you attended was a successful and that you enjoyed it, we wish next time you are in Miami you visit the great area of Coconut Grove.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#16 of 124 in Miami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Property: Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Address: 3000 Florida Ave, Miami, FL 33133-5213
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the most exciting and luxurious Coconut Grove Miami hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing