We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Hotel in good location, but Staff Need some Training”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
Ranked #48 of 125 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We over-nighted here in October. It is a great location for walking and exploring. Our room wasn't ready when we checked in, so we enjoyed some pizza and salad from the restaurant. Our table was in the atrium which featured interesting architecture, lots of sunshine, and a calming water feature. (see photo) Next we enjoyed some drinks by the roof top pool.(see photo) Service was not particularly friendly or informed. Our room was finally ready in the late afternoon. It was not very clean - there was actually someone else's take-out food still sitting in the microwave! Also, we had a room which featured a hottub, but we were disappointed as it was not functioning and obviously hadn't been for sometime. The room, though spacious and fairly luxuriouis, smelled musty and dank.
I then had a massage at the spa. This was very good and relaxing. After we returned from dinner out, we wanted to enjoy a swim under the stars. Although the posted pool hours indicated that it should be open, we were disappointed that the pool was closed "because the bar was doing inventory". The staff person who informed us that we had to leave, was not at all apologetic, and in fact bordered on rude.
A few other comments: the phone in our room was not functioning and the front desk staff were not friendly or helpful. The only staff people whom we interacted with who were friendly was our waiter at lunch and the spa employees. Everyone else treated us like they were doing us a favour. This left me with a bad taste in my mouth and I will not return nor would I recommend this hotel to others, although it is a good location and the physical hotel itself quite beautiful and interesting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingsooncanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear travellingsooncanada,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay in our property and for the feedback that you provided.
It is truly disappointing to hear that our staff was not accommodating and we will do our due diligence to make sure that our staff is trained properly to provide the service that all of our guest expect and also let me add that we are truly sorry that you felt treated in such a way.
We sincerely hope to have an opportunity to regain your confidence sometime in the future, for you to really experience the warm and welcoming feeling that we have been known for the last thirty years.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was our second stay at the Mayfair. My wife and I are from Miami and we originally stayed there on our wedding night. Unfortunately, we got the hotel late that night and had to leave early for our honeymoon, so we didn't get to enjoy the hotel as much as we would have liked to. Fast forward five years and we were back! The hotel had a spa deal that included our room, couples massages, and champagne to welcome us! Great value.

When we arrived we had a spa appointment in the morning, way before check-in time. The staff member graciously allowed us to check in our room early! We even got an upgrade to a parlor suite, which just so happened to be the same room we had on our wedding night! Very cool. Spa services were nice (wish they would have had a few more amenities in the changing room (i.e., brushes, shaving gear, i.e.,)) and our massages were relaxing and comfortable. We enjoyed the pool all day (very classy) and the fare served at the pool was somewhat pricey but much better than I expected! The hotel was, literally, a few steps from cocowalk (where we had a nice dinner and watched a movie) so we didn't even have to pull the car from valet.

All in all, I'm very glad we got a chance to come back and enjoy this hotel. Whether a local looking for a quick getaway or visiting Miami, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epic2473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear epic2473,

What a great coincidence for you to get the same suite from five years ago, we are truly glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay in all the sense of the phrase.
Our spa is a jewel in our great property and we truly believe that it makes the stay so much better when you have a service in our great spa and once again we are proven correct.
We can not thank you for choosing our property to celebrate such a special occasion and we hope that we can have you in our property celebrating many more.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is about the amazing architecture and location. On this trip we did not use the restaurant or other amenities except for the pool and Valet. The pool area was fine. I agree somewhat with the other reviews in that it needs some clean up as do many historic hotels around the world. Stay at the Mayfair for the unique architecture location and ambiance. I certainly will again. But manager please provide housekeeping, valet and maintenance some training. Your valet adjusted the seats in my car both days...that is a no no

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealtorKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear RealtorKevin,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your stay in our property and we are thrilled to hear that you were able to take in the great architecture from our Iconic property.
I will like to share with you that we will definitely have our staff retrained to avoid having small hiccups deterred the stay of one of our guest.
We sincerely hope to have you back in our property sometime in the near future enjoying all of the amenities that our Iconic property has to offer.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for just about a week. The hubby and I went for a business trip and stayed a few extra days for some romantic time. The hotel itself is unique in terms of the artwork and design, it feels almost exotic as though you aren’t in Miami. Aside from that plus, we also received an upgrade which meant that our room was luxurious, spacious and well equip with an awesome Jacuzzi. The breakfast was also noteworthy, tasty with super friendly staff. Didn’t get a change to have dinner but the menu sure did look delicious as well. In terms of location, the hotel is located just opposite a plaza with shopping and many eating options…also great to just hang out and have a few drinks. Will definitely return to the Mayfair… truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear CherGood,

We are extremely glad to read that you and your hubby were able to mix business with pleasure especially since it was done in our property. Our entire staff's goal is to make our guest feel warm and welcome and I will definitely thank the restaurant staff for achieving such a goal with you and your husband.
I would like to thank you for the kind words and we truly hope to see you in the near future in our Iconic property.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We booked this hotel through Priceline at a 50% discount. It was a very pleasant surprise! The rooms are spacious, elegant and modern. Every room has a courtyard with a jacuzzi that you have to pay to have it filled and use it. We did not have time to do it but it would have been great. The room was very clean, the bathroom was big and had very nice toiletries -including a make up remover (big big bonus as I forgot mine!!!). The hotel is really nice and the area around it is great, walking distance to movie theater and shops. The staff is very courteous. We had a very nice breakfast in the hotel as well. My only complaint is that there was a lot of noise in the room we had near the elevator as you could hear the luggage rolling, the noise of the elevator itself, etc. -I would ask to be in one far from it-. We would definitely go back to the hotel, we would just ask to be in a different room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear AVGW,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property and I would like to share that we have built great relationships with our most loyal guest just in the way that you booked your trip. Our loyal guest had book through a third party and once they arrived and discovered our property they have continue to stay with us for years and we sincerely hope that's the case with you.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Mayfair 2013 and Mayfair 2014. This hotel is one I've definitely felt comfort in. Something about their design, a kind of artsy display dabbled with a traditional expression was the initial clincher for my stay. I stayed just about 3-4 days each trip and definitely spent some of it lounging by the pool on the roof deck. I'm not the best with names but I can surely say front desk was as polite to me as my own family and one especially lovely woman who works in the restaurant. If you see her you'll know her. Yet to try the spa however for such short trips I probably spent too much time between my room, the pool and the restaurant !

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Shane B,

Every time we come across from a review that shares the level of comfortableness in our property we feel extremely proud and accomplished, since our goal is to make our guest feel warm and welcomed.
With that said to find out that it is a loyal guest of our property sharing those sentiments it makes it twice as rewarding and we can not thank you for your loyalty and we can not wait to have you back in our property in near future.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a wedding to attend in Coconut Grove and found the Mayfair to be the closest to our venue. The elegance and charm of the hotel is evident when you enter the lobby. All rooms open on a beautiful courtyard and all have Jacuzzi tubs on the balconies. The bath rooms are large and very well appointed and my daughter who is quite tall was thrilled with the oversized bath tub. The hotel is within steps of all the "Grove" night life and as one of Miami's landmark hotels it was all I hoped it would be. I actually was a little anxious based on some of the reviews I read but am very glad we did not let them stop us from visiting this elegant hotel. Only one complaint, elevators are very hot as they are not air conditioned and they are a bit slow between floors. That being said it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcf12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear mcf12345,

Reading from a guest about how much they loved the charm of our property never fails to bring a great sense of pride for our Iconic building and I can not thank you for the kind words.
We certainly take all the reviews very seriously and try to make adjustments and improvements and we are extremely happy to read that you had the sight to not let some reviews deterred your visit.
We truly hope to have the opportunity to see you back in our property sometime in the near future and we can not thank you for your kind words.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#17 of 125 in Miami
866 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Address: 3000 Florida Ave, Miami, FL 33133-5213
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range: $149 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the most exciting and luxurious Coconut Grove Miami hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing