We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Absolutely elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Ranked #24 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

As you might expect from the price, this is an first! class hotel in every respect. Service is fabulous; rooms are gorgeous (though not all that large); it has every facility imaginable.

The hotel is in a quiet area near the marina and there are a few stores in the area, though not really ideal for much shopping.

Two complaints: $30 per day for parking is exorbitant considering the price per night.
My wife was on her own one evening and went down to the bar; she ordered a bowl of soup, It was terrible, like one of those dehydrated soup mixes.
(OK, high speed Ineternet should be free of charge too.)

Otherwise, this is a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    152
    77
    37
    16
See reviews for
133
166
32
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

Great hotel. Caters more to business travel but courteous helpful service, spacious rooms. We stayed just for 1 night and it fit our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nyc_t08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

Stayed at the Ritz this weekend and it was classic Ritz - in a good sense. Stunning lobby, attentive and friendly service, beautiful pool, and a very comfortable, well-appointed room with balcony.

The Ritz is located about 20 minutes from the airport and about a half hour (or less) from South Beach. With-in a ten minute walk or so is downtown Cocount Grove filled with some nice shops and restaurants.

I did have one issue that is or maybe isn't related to the stay. We attended a wedding that night in the hotel. When the entrees came to the table, three of us who ordered the beef (filet mignon with lobster) did not get our plates. We asked several times for our meals and were told they were "working on it". Meanwhile, other tables were being served. No exaggeration, about 20 minutes later, we received our meals (the rest of our table had finished eating). And, to make matters worse, the beef was a scrawny piece of tenderloin (heck, hamburger) and the lobster was a tiny scrap with hardly any meat. It's the Ritz - you're telling me they didn't have more filet!? Oh and no apology from the waiter's captain.

Aside from the beef problem, it was a really enjoyable stay. Although, like any stay at a high-end hotel (I'm lucky enough to have had a fair sampling!), other than the cache of the name, is the stay really that much nicer than at the more-affordable Hilton or W? Truly subjective I know. But so far...I have yet to find it it truly worth the expense (our room was close to $400 a night). But again, hey, it's the Ritz - and you do have to love it!

  • Liked — Lobby/rooms/pool
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

Front Desk Staff was very nice and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable although my double room was a little cramped.
The valet service is slow slow slow. Even when I had called down to have my car brought up and allowed 10 minutes to go downstairs, I still waited 5 minutes. And most of the time, when I was arriving and leaving the hotel over 4 days, there was no one there to even open the door. One time I had my hands full when leaving the hotel, there were 2 staff people at the conceirge desk looking at me struggling with the door and no one came to help. Not impressed.
The food was dreadful! Expensive and terrible. I ate at the restaurant downstairs and room service . Had a pasta dish at Bizcaya the first night that was inedible. Breakfast came with cold chewy toast ( nothing special bread).
I've stayed at Ritz Carltons in Beverly Hills, Atlanta, Boston, Chicago....... the Coconut Grove Hotel needs some attention from management.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seegeeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

Stayed at the RC Coconut Grove this weekend before a flight from MIA. I've only visited Miami a few times but never this area. The hotel is only about 8 miles from MIA in a quaint- nice neighborhood.

The hotel seems perfect for small events/ meetings/ weekend trips. Beautiful lobby and city pool area. I had confirmed (and was guaranteed) two double beds on arrival. We left Palm Beach around 7:30 and arrived to the hotel around 9pm and upon check in, were told that we would have to take a king w/ a roll away. I understand this happens, but it's obnoxious. Furthermore, we got a room that wasn't in turn down (seems odd for a Ritz- especially when they don't give you the room you confirmed). No amenity, no apology, just the king room.

Regardless, CG has nice outdoor restaurants and the hotel is very relaxing/ retreat like. Our room had a nice balcony overlooking the bay and I hit the pool in the AM before our flight. We had a nice breakfast in the hotel restaurant (typical nice ritz style). Overall, nice place---wish they would have given us the room we guaranteed or an upgrade/ amenity for the hassle---but I'd go back (only if i needed a king room). Perfect for couples/ family weekends/ etc in Miami w/o the hassle or "scene" in South Beach. Also very close to shopping in Merrick Park/ Coral Gables.

  • Liked — Location, small size, decor
  • Disliked — front desk (room)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justtravels988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

I stayed here for several nights for a combination of business and a weekend getaway. I was extremely happy with the hotel. The rooms were as clean, well decorated, and comfortable as you would expect. The service was very good - staff were always there when you needed them but without hovering. I think that is the epitome of good service... always there but never annoyingly so.

Business services at the hotel were good. Breakfast and lunch catered to the our location was excellent. The conference rooms were good (if not a little over air-conditioned), and the wifi was fine.

Word of warning: The Coconut Grove bar/shopping/restaurant area is within walking distance, but that isn't much of a destination. To get to beaches or high-end shopping, you definitely need to have a car. If you don't want to drive and you want a beach, perhaps the Ritz in South Beach is for you.

  • Liked — Rooms, service, business facilities
  • Disliked — Need car for beach or nicer shopping
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cincinnatus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

Stayed at the Ritz-Carlton for two nights before a cruise. Taxi from the airport cost $25 (with tip). The hotel was situated in a rather quiet neighbourhood in Coconut Grove, not very much to see around there if you didn't have a car. CocoWalk with some shopping and restaurants was about 10 minutes walk away.
The hotel itself was very comfortable, with some beautiful rooms. I specially liked the lobby area with bar, you can get some reasonably priced snacks and lighter meals there. The pool area was almost empty every morning, no problems getting lounge chairs there.
Our room was comfortable with lots of pillows on the bed and posh Bvlgari-toiletries in the bathroom. Bathrobes were also a nice touch.
We ate breakfast at the hotel both mornings, not cheap but good food and polite service.
I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay away from the hustle and bustle of the South Beach area.

  • Liked — Classy interiors, comfortable room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#13 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Address: 3300 SW 27th Ave, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133-5305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#25 Family Hotel in Miami
#28 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden among lush subtropical foliage and surrounded by the brilliant turquoise waters of Biscayne Bay, The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami provides an unforgettable escape to one of the city's most delightful downtown hotels. After a day spent exploring the eclectic boutiques, art galleries and restaurants that characterize Miami's original neighborhood, resort guests can indulge in a soothing treatment at the hotel's spa, discover dining that celebrates fresh Florida fare from farm to sea, and relax in accommodations that reveal views of the adjacent marina from a private balcony. Whether for business or pleasure, let us make our corner of Miami the one you return to over and over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing