We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Classy place for quiet trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Ranked #24 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Classy place for quiet trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My mom and I stayed here as a girl's weekend for a triathlon I was participating in at the Larry & Penny Thompson Park. We wanted a quiet, comfortable place where I could get plenty of rest before my race. The Ritz was very nice inside and very clean. Our view was nothing special.. we had construction out our window (they can't help that part) but there was also a power line obstructing any kind of view of the ocean. We were on the third floor, so it's possible the views are better the higher you are.

The location of the hotel is not too bad. Coconut Grove is a quiet harbor town, so there isn't a beach nearby to walk to. There are shops about a 5 minute walk away which are good for basic necessities - we got manicures in the shops and did a little shopping at some of the clothing stores, but there isn't anything upscale. You'd have to go to South Beach for that. The restaurants around are pretty good, but you have to know which ones to go to or you'll end up at a decent chain one. If you stay here, ask for Ruddy - he is amazing and knows all of the best local spots to eat. He's not the concierge, but we saw him everywhere. He is wonderful and really made our stay!

Unfortunately we found out after our first night that we were both allergic to the feather pillows, but the staff was quick to change them to foam once we had let them know. The maid service was great, though turn-down seemed to get earlier and earlier - one night they came at 5pm - though they were completely nice about it when we asked them to come back later. The hotel itself doesn't have much - only one actual restaurant, a lounge/restaurant area, and the pool bar with food.

Everything is VERY pricey - a bottle of Fiji Water from the room is $7. We ordered room service for breakfast one morning, and were disappointed in the expense (over $20 per person for fruit, 2 croissants, coffee & OJ), so we didn't do that again. The drinks at the pool & inside bar are also very expensive - around $20 per drink.

We also took advantage of the spa and had massages. Our massages were both a swedish mix (mine was a sports massage after my tri, and mom's was a stone & stick massage), and very relaxing though a little rough at times. I needed it and was fine with the deep tissue, but my mom had not done the tri and was uncomfortably sore the next day. It made me feel a little disappointed in her massage experience.

Overall we had a very good stay, especially after we got to be familiar with the staff, who was very accommodating. The hotel may be a bit overpriced for the amenities, but it makes sense considering the quiet crowd they attract and the service their staff provides. Just be prepared for an expensive stay.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel has a lot of construction, so I would ask for a higher room or a room facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    151
    77
    37
    16
See reviews for
132
166
32
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Overall an experience of plushness and great hospitality. Warm welcome upon arrival and I was delighted to be upgraded to a suite in the quiet corner of the hotel; I had called ahead to ask for a quiet room and could not have asked for more. The plush suite overlooked the city, with a balcony, a roomy lounge area and a very comfortable bedroom. The bathroom was very well appointed. Spent an evening at the Lazuli lounge where I must have had the best vegetarian dish ever. Oscar has information on nearly everything - great person to ask for advice. The location is in a residential area with proximity to Cocowalk which has a few restaurants - Starbucks, Cheesecake factory and further down a leafy walk along the bay. The sea is about 2-3 block down. Easy to get taxis; however South Beach is quite far and accessible by taxi or the tour bus that leaves round the corner. Special thanks to Oscar at the concierge desk, Matthew at the reception, Mehmet and the Indian chef at the Lazuli Lounge for their warmth. I did not want to leave!!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors. I did not hear the construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaviDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at this Ritz Carlton because they were doing some renovations and offered a "deal." The renovations aside, this is a delightful hotel with a warm and attentive staff. It is well located and there are many restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. Frankly, if I had to pay full price I would probably stay someplace else, but this is one excellent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellyjellybelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We recently stayed for a week. The room was superb! Comfortable with a good view. The grounds, pool gym, lobby and service was excellent! The location is within walking distance to coco walk shops and restaurants. The valet as well as concierge services were quick and reliable. The restaurant had a good variety of food and everything we tried was good. We would stay again and recommend this Ritz.

Room Tip: We had a city view which was beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traderbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel had a very welcoming atmosphere. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. The lobby was beautiful and inviting. The complimentary champagne in the evening was a fantastic touch.

Pool – The pool was very much a self-serve place, but I still had to find a staff member to get the toys, or on one occasion for them to fix the umbrella.

Parking - The parking was $33 a night. We did see overnight parking near Cocowalk for $12. However we used the valet parking and they were very quick bringing the car around.

Location - It was a 5 minute walk to Cocowalk and the nearest Starbucks. Cocowalk doesn’t have much for shopping, but Merrick Village was a $10 taxi away and had good shops. There was also a grocery store called the Fresh Market that was good for fruit and had some to-go salads. That was a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Couple of playgrounds within walking distance. A cab to the Children’s museum was $20-$25 each way.

Construction – There was construction across the street, but during the week we were there, the one time we heard it with the balcony door closed was on the Tuesday around 8:30 or 9:00am and it lasted for maybe an hour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SbP222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I come often to Coconut Grove for business, but this was my first stay at the Ritz. Location from my client is excellent, but there's not all that much around this are even if you stay at the Courtyard a block north, or the Sonesta a block south. I've been to Coco Walk so many times now it feels boring; it's kind of touristy and some of the restaurants are chains (Cheesecake Factory, Johnny Rockets). The hotel itself is beautiful, as you'd expect, the room is large, uber-clean; linens crisp and thick, solid wood furnishings and beautiful lighting fixtures. The bed was among the most comfortable I've slept in, and the entire place was quiet! I was expecting more of the legendary fawning treatment my colleague had described about the hotel. Although my wheeled bag was light and small, no one even offered to carry it. Not a deal breaker for me, but a miss when it comes to attentive customer service.

Was a bit disappointed they don't have a buffet for breakfast as the a la carte is pricey and when you want to get to your meeting quickly, no time to sit and wait. There is a bar/eating area in the lobby. My colleague and I worked on our laptops at one of the counters. We had attentive service from Mehmet. We got a great corporate rate, and I'd stay here again, but in my opinion, the Viceroy downtown ranks a bit higher than the Ritz.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you are looking for a high class vacation, look no further than The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami!! From the munite we pulled up we were waited on hand and foot! Our luggage was immediately taken out of our limo by the bell hop, and we were escorted inside. Checkout was painless and quick, we got our suite immediately, but our friends had to wait for 30 minutes, which was a little displeasing, but no a big deal; we just all went up to our suite and waited. When we entered our suite(722) we were blown away! The room was extremely spacious and furnished with georgous furniture and decor. The bathroom was also georgous as well; a large immaculate marble bathroom with a walk in shower, private toilet room, and bathtub area, as well as two sinks and a large vanity area. The walk out private balcony was very spacious and had a wonderful view of the courtyard, and pool area; when i came to the outside furnishings, i was dissapointed, the chairs and tables were cheap, and looked like they came from the local walmart store. Normally, at other hotels i wouldent mind, but for the ritz i expect more. The pool area was georgous, and the pool was laarge and wonderful. There was free wifi at the pool area, and many places to sit and relax. Also the hotel was within a short walking distance to the coconut grove mall (around 3 min walking) , and was in a great area! All in all i would deffinetly stay here again! We had a excelent time! Thank You The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami!!

Room Tip: The higher up the better views...elevators are very fast...more than one elevator, never had to wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holodickt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#16 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Address: 3300 SW 27th Ave, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133-5305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#25 Family Hotel in Miami
#28 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden among lush subtropical foliage and surrounded by the brilliant turquoise waters of Biscayne Bay, The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami provides an unforgettable escape to one of the city's most delightful downtown hotels. After a day spent exploring the eclectic boutiques, art galleries and restaurants that characterize Miami's original neighborhood, resort guests can indulge in a soothing treatment at the hotel's spa, discover dining that celebrates fresh Florida fare from farm to sea, and relax in accommodations that reveal views of the adjacent marina from a private balcony. Whether for business or pleasure, let us make our corner of Miami the one you return to over and over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing