We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Ranked #24 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We recently stayed for a week. The room was superb! Comfortable with a good view. The grounds, pool gym, lobby and service was excellent! The location is within walking distance to coco walk shops and restaurants. The valet as well as concierge services were quick and reliable. The restaurant had a good variety of food and everything we tried was good. We would stay again and recommend this Ritz.

Room Tip: We had a city view which was beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traderbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    151
    77
    37
    16
See reviews for
132
165
32
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel had a very welcoming atmosphere. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. The lobby was beautiful and inviting. The complimentary champagne in the evening was a fantastic touch.

Pool – The pool was very much a self-serve place, but I still had to find a staff member to get the toys, or on one occasion for them to fix the umbrella.

Parking - The parking was $33 a night. We did see overnight parking near Cocowalk for $12. However we used the valet parking and they were very quick bringing the car around.

Location - It was a 5 minute walk to Cocowalk and the nearest Starbucks. Cocowalk doesn’t have much for shopping, but Merrick Village was a $10 taxi away and had good shops. There was also a grocery store called the Fresh Market that was good for fruit and had some to-go salads. That was a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Couple of playgrounds within walking distance. A cab to the Children’s museum was $20-$25 each way.

Construction – There was construction across the street, but during the week we were there, the one time we heard it with the balcony door closed was on the Tuesday around 8:30 or 9:00am and it lasted for maybe an hour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SbP222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I come often to Coconut Grove for business, but this was my first stay at the Ritz. Location from my client is excellent, but there's not all that much around this are even if you stay at the Courtyard a block north, or the Sonesta a block south. I've been to Coco Walk so many times now it feels boring; it's kind of touristy and some of the restaurants are chains (Cheesecake Factory, Johnny Rockets). The hotel itself is beautiful, as you'd expect, the room is large, uber-clean; linens crisp and thick, solid wood furnishings and beautiful lighting fixtures. The bed was among the most comfortable I've slept in, and the entire place was quiet! I was expecting more of the legendary fawning treatment my colleague had described about the hotel. Although my wheeled bag was light and small, no one even offered to carry it. Not a deal breaker for me, but a miss when it comes to attentive customer service.

Was a bit disappointed they don't have a buffet for breakfast as the a la carte is pricey and when you want to get to your meeting quickly, no time to sit and wait. There is a bar/eating area in the lobby. My colleague and I worked on our laptops at one of the counters. We had attentive service from Mehmet. We got a great corporate rate, and I'd stay here again, but in my opinion, the Viceroy downtown ranks a bit higher than the Ritz.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you are looking for a high class vacation, look no further than The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami!! From the munite we pulled up we were waited on hand and foot! Our luggage was immediately taken out of our limo by the bell hop, and we were escorted inside. Checkout was painless and quick, we got our suite immediately, but our friends had to wait for 30 minutes, which was a little displeasing, but no a big deal; we just all went up to our suite and waited. When we entered our suite(722) we were blown away! The room was extremely spacious and furnished with georgous furniture and decor. The bathroom was also georgous as well; a large immaculate marble bathroom with a walk in shower, private toilet room, and bathtub area, as well as two sinks and a large vanity area. The walk out private balcony was very spacious and had a wonderful view of the courtyard, and pool area; when i came to the outside furnishings, i was dissapointed, the chairs and tables were cheap, and looked like they came from the local walmart store. Normally, at other hotels i wouldent mind, but for the ritz i expect more. The pool area was georgous, and the pool was laarge and wonderful. There was free wifi at the pool area, and many places to sit and relax. Also the hotel was within a short walking distance to the coconut grove mall (around 3 min walking) , and was in a great area! All in all i would deffinetly stay here again! We had a excelent time! Thank You The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami!!

Room Tip: The higher up the better views...elevators are very fast...more than one elevator, never had to wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holodickt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The staff was excellent. Our suite was gorgeous. We had a hard time leaving. It was a definite refuge from the hustle and bustle of life. We would return next time we are in the area. The staff went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable. Wonderful amenities.

Room Tip: If you can get a one bedroom suite, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Ritz in Coconut Grove provides a sophisticated, relaxed experience that is perfect for the businessman or couple looking to have a refuge from the hustle, bustle of Miami. It is close enough to take advantage of the fine restaurants and entertainment options that Miami offers, yet the refined opportunities at the Ritz just seem to exude peace and calm. The staff is attentive and seems to anticipate every need. The facilities are fantastic. All in all, a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The eating areas were nice especially by the outdoor pool and the bar in the lobby. Our view was so-so. Our balcony faced the bay but then also faced a building that was being remodeled. Management took care of every detail though.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#16 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Address: 3300 SW 27th Ave, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133-5305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#25 Family Hotel in Miami
#28 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden among lush subtropical foliage and surrounded by the brilliant turquoise waters of Biscayne Bay, The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami provides an unforgettable escape to one of the city's most delightful downtown hotels. After a day spent exploring the eclectic boutiques, art galleries and restaurants that characterize Miami's original neighborhood, resort guests can indulge in a soothing treatment at the hotel's spa, discover dining that celebrates fresh Florida fare from farm to sea, and relax in accommodations that reveal views of the adjacent marina from a private balcony. Whether for business or pleasure, let us make our corner of Miami the one you return to over and over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing