We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Ranked #22 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was there for two nights during a conference and enjoyed the experience there. Overall the food was of high quality though one of the breakfast took 50 minutes to arrive. The room is well appointed and overall flow is nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmw245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    151
    77
    37
    16
See reviews for
132
166
32
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from May 4th 2013 to May 10th 2013. I agree with much of what is being said here but I especially agree with the comments about Hassan! What a gentleman and amazing human being. Besides hitting it off as friends instantly he was a picture perfect bar keep. Impeccable manners and a gentle and soothing personality. And PS his Mojito's were delicious! When Hassan was enjoying his time off another wonderful bar keep took over named Marius. Also a gentleman and winning personality. :-) I had a nice time here and look forward to coming back in the future. OH! And lest I forget!! Martha in the dining room....WOW....what a remarkable server! A voice like velvet and the prettiest eyes you've ever seen. Really with the exception of only one employee everyone here made my stay memorable...just some a wee bit more then others. I love you all. :-) xoxoxo

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is my go-to hotel when I travel to Miami for business. The hotel is a short walk over to my office so it's very convenient.

Everyone who works here is nice and helpful. I went out for dinner one night with family which included a walk around The Grove. It was drizzling. The Ritz offered me an umbrella to borrow so that I could avoid getting rained on. Very nice of them.

The rooms are clean and have all the amenities you need. The shower is a bit small. Also, I found the shower water to not be as warm as I like it. It could be because I took a shower during the busy time so the water heater may have been overloaded. Also, I'm weird and like to take scorching hot showers.

A+ for the Ritz.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mnk2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a great experience at the Ritz! Great Location ,amazing lobby, comfortable room and personable warm guest service.
The employees in this hotel really seemed to take pride in providing the best service for the guests.
Really enjoyed the breakfast buffet, swimming pool and spa...Great Setting and decor. Was not too thrilled with there propencity for over charging for everything i.e $7.00 for a small bottle of water but then again you are staying at the Ritz... If you want to economize stay somehwere else...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxurynomad5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

HASSAN IS THE MAN OF THE YEAR,perfect service,nice conversations,interesting people,the RITZ CARLTON COCONUT GROVE, is the plsce to be ,perfect sunday breakfastbuffet,will be back,to enjoy this comfortable hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ownerMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

There is a major construction project going on across the street from the hotel and since they are currently working on the foundation, I would imagine all the inconvenient things that go along with building will be part of the landscape for several years to come. When we first entered the room at 4PM on a Friday, the jackhammers were going strong. I was told that the work would end at 5PM on Friday and not resume until Monday morning so there would be little impact during our weekend stay. I went down to the lobby and not one but two employees also assured me that there would be no work on Saturday or Sunday so I decided not to pursue a room change.
The next morning, Saturday at 8AM, the jackhammers began again in full force---the manager I summoned up to the room apologized and said his employees had not been updated!! He had our room switched immediately and credited the night but the damage had been done.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAPLANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. it was a choice between this hotel and the Biltmore. Chose the Ritz Carlton and were very disappointed. The lobby is gorgeous but the room was nothing special. Not luxurious at all but nice bathroom. They charge for everything including small bottles of water in the bedroom for $7. They charged $4.50 for bringing our drinks to us by the pool, then there was the tax and tip on top so 2 drinks poolside $34. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from restaurants and shops but it feels like its in the middle of nowhere. Staff generally were very good except the receptionist who made us feel like we were an inconvenience. Really sorry we chose to stay here and would never stay again. You have lots of choice in Miami with lots of other hotels much better and much less expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lotstoseeanddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#16 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Address: 3300 SW 27th Ave, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133-5305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#25 Family Hotel in Miami
#28 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden among lush subtropical foliage and surrounded by the brilliant turquoise waters of Biscayne Bay, The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami provides an unforgettable escape to one of the city's most delightful downtown hotels. After a day spent exploring the eclectic boutiques, art galleries and restaurants that characterize Miami's original neighborhood, resort guests can indulge in a soothing treatment at the hotel's spa, discover dining that celebrates fresh Florida fare from farm to sea, and relax in accommodations that reveal views of the adjacent marina from a private balcony. Whether for business or pleasure, let us make our corner of Miami the one you return to over and over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing