We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“squeezed every penny” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Ranked #24 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“squeezed every penny”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. it was a choice between this hotel and the Biltmore. Chose the Ritz Carlton and were very disappointed. The lobby is gorgeous but the room was nothing special. Not luxurious at all but nice bathroom. They charge for everything including small bottles of water in the bedroom for $7. They charged $4.50 for bringing our drinks to us by the pool, then there was the tax and tip on top so 2 drinks poolside $34. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from restaurants and shops but it feels like its in the middle of nowhere. Staff generally were very good except the receptionist who made us feel like we were an inconvenience. Really sorry we chose to stay here and would never stay again. You have lots of choice in Miami with lots of other hotels much better and much less expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lotstoseeanddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    151
    77
    37
    16
See reviews for
132
166
32
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NewYork
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I were invited to a wedding at the Ritz-Carlton in Coconut Grove, Florida so we decided to stay at that hotel for the occasion. The wedding was on Saturday night, but we stayed for three nights -- Friday, Saturday and Sunday. The hotel was expensive (even with the "special" wedding rate), but being a Ritz-Carlton, that was to be expected. Although the hotel is very nice (particularly the public areas) it is not special enough to warrant the rates. The rooms are average size and nicely furnished, but no larger or nicer than the rooms at many hotels at much lower rates. Because it is a Ritz-Carlton, they think that they can charge you at every turn. For example, a small can of juice from the mini-bar was $8.00; parking is $33.00 per night (and there are basically no other places to park in the area); the charge for using the computers in the hotel's business center is $.50 cents a minute, so if you do about an hour's worth of work, the cost would be $30.00; having a tuxedo pressed (not cleaned) is $22.50. And the list goes on and on. So, the moral of the story is that you can probably get almost as much for much less.

One more thing. When reserving the room, I requested a "quiet" room not near an elevator or vending machine. That request was honored; however, on Saturday morning we were woken at 8:00 AM by the loudest construction noise I have ever heard. They were constructing a new building directly outside of our hotel window. Of course, we were not told about this when checking in. When we complained, their answer was that the construction was only Monday through Saturday and that there was no construction on Sunday!!!

Room Tip: If booking a room in the near future, make sure that you request a room away from the outside constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank placesivbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is beautiful and the room was very nice. There is a major construction project on one side of the hotel that starts with the jackhammers and heavy equipment at around 7 am. You can't open the window it is so loud. You can't really even just sit in your room during the day because of the noise. It looks like a large scale project that will go on for some time, so make sure your room is situated on the poolside, or south side of the building. The staff for the most part were very good as expected. They did lose a parcel for me and I had to talk to a few people, most of whom seemed kind of helpless to fix the problem. One of the phones in the room didn't work. Still a nice stay but for cost and expectations, I was a bit disappointed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank IMCan8en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, ME
Level Contributor
178 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of evenings for a conference and was very impressed. The best part is the friendly yet not pushy staff. They all have a smile and greet you at every turn. The hotel's amenities area fabulous and the accommodations are very good. If you are in the Coconut Grove area, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlGagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We love to stay at Ritz Carlton's and have done so for many years. We have stayed in Ritz Carltons in "Battery Park, Central park, Miami, Jamaica, Boston, Westchester" Coconut Grove takes the cake! The staff is unbelievable. Alex at the front desk sets the tone, his professionalism and charisma make you feel at home. Frantz at the pool is one of the nicest and hardworking people we have ever met. He keeps the pool area running smooth and accomodates all of his guests needs. Hasan at the bar is a wealth of Miami knowledge and prepares great drinks. The staff at Biscaya was amazing!! Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove.... One of our best experiences ever!! Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spackenkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
532 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a perfect location to walk to dinner or just around the parks The service was outstanding. The room was great. Good gym nice pool. The food and service was fantastic. It's a beautiful hotel. Ill be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam-kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

All of the staff were truly unbelievable! They sincerely bent over backwards to make our stay perfect....goal achieved!!! Great central location with walking distance to fun shopping, a cool movie theater and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wgeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#16 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Coconut Grove
No photo provided
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Address: 3300 SW 27th Ave, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133-5305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#25 Family Hotel in Miami
#28 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden among lush subtropical foliage and surrounded by the brilliant turquoise waters of Biscayne Bay, The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami provides an unforgettable escape to one of the city's most delightful downtown hotels. After a day spent exploring the eclectic boutiques, art galleries and restaurants that characterize Miami's original neighborhood, resort guests can indulge in a soothing treatment at the hotel's spa, discover dining that celebrates fresh Florida fare from farm to sea, and relax in accommodations that reveal views of the adjacent marina from a private balcony. Whether for business or pleasure, let us make our corner of Miami the one you return to over and over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing