We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Ocean Airways

Tropic Ocean Airways
Ranked #48 of 188 Outdoor Activities in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tropic Ocean Airways, makes travel a breeze. Safe, reliable, first class service. Skip traditional airport hassles and fly in style on our scheduled (per-seat flights) or charter a brand new Cessna Wheeled Caravan or Seaplane! Service throughout Florida, the Bahamas, and beyond. Take advantage of our exciting One Hour Seaplane Experience Tour with water landing from Miami Seaplane Base!
NJ
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We flew from Naples to Little Palm Island. From reservation to landing our experience was excellent! Everyone at Tropic Ocean Air is friendly and professional. Nick,the pilot, was at naples airport waiting for us when we arrived, we were a little reluctant to fly in a seaplane as we had never been in one before. Nick definitely made a believer out of us! The flight was so much fun, we could have stayed in the air all day, he flew us over the isalnd before landing so we could get a birds-eye-view and some really great pics. The water landing was extremely smooth, we taxied to the dock and Nick moored the plane like a boat. It was such a great experience and we can't wait to do it again - excellent!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingrnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Had a great time flying in the seaplane from Bimini to Miami. Nick and Steve were fun, professional and I plan to fly with them again!

This was my first time in a seaplane and the ocean views were amazing. Landing in the water in Miami at the government cut next to one of the giant cruise ships was very cool.

What was really great was that I didn't have to go through the TSA security hassle leaving Bimini ... just loaded up ... had our small dog with us also .... and on the other end customs and immigration met us at the Seaplane base in Miami. everything was quick and easy. What normally takes hours flying the "big" boys took less than an hour with the Tropic Ocean guys.

Thanks guys, you did a great job!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank dclarke112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bimini
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Seaplane service Bimini to Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Best Seaplane service to fly direct from Bimini airport to Miami seaplane base, former known as "Chalks Seaplane Base" at downtown Miami. Very friendly staff is offering also tours to the seaplane museum at Watson Island, free parking for all visitors and passengers......:)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bimini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bimini
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bimini to Miami with Seaplane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Best flight service to get from Bimini in the Bahamas to Miami, Florida. Take off at Bimini International airport and landed downtown Miami at former Chalks seaplane base. Free parking, customas and immigration service is available on arrival in Miami. Very friendly staff......... looking forward to fly soon from Miami back to Bimini in the Bahamas.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bimini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucedale, MS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best way to get to Bimini!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We used Tropic Ocean Airways sea plane from Ft Lauderdale to Bimini for Labor Day weekend. We flew into Ft Lauderdeale, took the short shuttle ride over to Sheltair where we were greeted by Nick our pilot. The entire experience, from booking the flight, connecting with Nick, take off, landing, could not have gone any smoother. OH but the views! Both leaving south Fla, and arriving and landing in Bimini were absolutely the best. Nothing compares to a flight in a sea plane. Also, for Bimini at least, the cost was not bad compared to commercial airlines, which take you to the south Island. Nick landed in the bay at the old sea plane base on the North Island, just blocks from where we were staying. We plan on calling you guys again for a trip down to Key West soon.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropic Ocean Airways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing