We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving lunch”
Review of db Bistro Moderne

db Bistro Moderne
Reserve with OpenTable
db Bistro Moderne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 4,220 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $42
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SE 4th St. 3rd Ave.
Description: Db Bistro Moderne is Chef Daniel Boulud's modern French-American Bistro where traditional French Cuisine meets the flavors of the American market. It's our contemporary interpretation of the Parisian bistro: a seasonal menu highlighting the quality of fine ingredients served in a casual setting. Db Bistro Moderne promises easy-going, convivial and delicious dining with a Miami-chic atmosphere in downtown's JW Marriott Marquis. Our bar & lounge features creative cocktails and an impressive but approachable international wine list. Join us daily for Happy Hour from 5PM-8PM or a night out. We invite you to host your next social dinner, corporate luncheon or wine themed event in one of our private dining areas. We have a variety of room options to fit your entertaining needs, with our largest space accommodating up to 70 guests. Dazzle your co-workers and friends with an evening that reflects Chef Daniel Boulud's spirit of hospitality and attention to detail.
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving lunch”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is worth every penny. Our party of 5 enjoyed Thanksgiving lunch 3 course meal which was priced at $60 excluding tax. At first the family thought it was highly overpriced however when we received the food it was beyond excellent. Service was great and we even got complimentary sandwiches to go.

If I am ever in this area again I will definitely return. Great food, great service, tranquil atmosphere. Just love it.

Helpful?
Thank Mardia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    104
    54
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
curacao
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“too much money for too litle”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

the bistro look chic and the service is quitte posh, but i go to a restaurant to eat.
the foie gras tasted like a low quality can, i am french and know good foie gras.this taste like a liver pate.and the size was xxxxsmall.
the ravioli with lobster where nice, but the size again, man i need more food then that.i am a women with a normal appetit and usually leave food on my plate.
the plateau de fromage was good, a lot of choice.
and a excellent glas of wine, at a cost ,18 dollar.
a diner for one with 3 course was 135 dollars without tip.
if

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isabellaguevara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Horrible service and food”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

The experience I had in this restaurant was so terrible that I would never recommend it to anybody. The service was really bad I looked around and there were many tables the same way trying to flag down the waiters. Also some of the dishes were mistaken and not prepared correctly . For a fine dining restaurant this is unacceptable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Me0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

A sleek and stylish bistro located in the JW Marriott. Here I was able to get my Peruvian Ceviche fix and it didn´t disappoint. Also on the menú are plenty of seafood, pastas, and French classics. Elegant surrounds, good service from the waitstaff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great surprise inside a hotel - Fine Restaurant”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Chose this restaurant to celebrate Veteran's Day with my father, his wife and my husband. How do you celebrate with a WWII and Korean vet? Share a dinner at an excellent restaurant! Driving up to a hotel entrance is a bit unusual for a fine restaurant but the lobby of the Marriott Marquis is modern and elegant. The restaurant is located one the first floor, so entry was convenient and upon entering you forget you are in a hotel. There is a ultra modern chic lounge to the right. It was filled with well dressed professionals relaxing and enjoying some libations after a work day in downtown Miami's business district. The dining room we were seated in was tastefully decorated, fresh and modern. Now let's talk about the important restaurant features, the food and service. Our waiter was well versed on the daily specials and made each one sound better than the previous. We started the evening with a tuna tartare prepared table side. The Indian spices added the perfect flavor splash to the tuna (not to mention the quail egg that topped the dish). The Escargots Persillade (wild Burgandy snails) were also a hit. Several of us had the maple glazed duck. Perfectly cooked moist and not overly sweet. Presentation was beautiful. My husband enjoyed the tasting of suckling pig that took him back to memories of Segovia. The pork dish had sucking pig cooked various ways and each was unique and tasty. My father's wife chose stone crabs (unusual selection in a French restaurant - but when in Miami and in the beginning of the stone crab season - who can blame her for the urge) they were amazingly fresh and flavorful, served with two lovely sauces. You guessed it, I tried some of them. The dinner ended with a lovely dessert presentation (plate had Happy Veteran's Day written in chocolate. We chose one dessert to share. The Caramel Apple Confit was amazing. It was served with green apple sorbet in a puff pastry. Regrets for this restaurant choice? None. I recommend this upscale (not at all pretentious) restaurant for any occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martu719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed db Bistro Moderne also viewed

 

Been to db Bistro Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing