We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bombay Darbar

Bombay Darbar
Ranked #14 of 4,162 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3195 Commodore Plaza
Description: Our dining room dining room falls somewhere between red-velvet regal and Slum Dog casual, with white table linens, fresh roses and vinyl-coated menus. There's gentle, tinkling music, authentic if slightly wooze-inducing incense and, for better weather, a petite patio. Our menu is centered mostly on the northern half of the country but includes fiery Goan specialties and henna-red vindaloo. Our knowledgeable, welcoming and sincere staff makes ordering easy for novices. Meals begin with a complimentary stack of crisp pappadom with thimbles of thick-cut onion chutney and a green-as-fresh-cut-grass coriander version for dipping. A side order of mixed chutneys yields store-bought but no less delicious sour mango pickle and sweet mango chutney. Come visit our lovely, value-priced dreamy addition to Coconut Grove!
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

There are not too many good indian restaurants in Miami, however, this one is pretty good. The meat can be over cooked sometimes, especially the lamb chops and kabobs. Make sure to ask you server to have the lamb chops or kabobs to be cooked medium. This will ensure you have the best flavored meat without it being too dry.

Helpful?
Thank MiamiEsq13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    124
    24
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay Village, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This has to be the best indian restaurant ever. I remember their first day of opening when all waiters & management were outside trying to get people and now its almost impossible to get a seating on time, if you don't have reservation!..My wife and I had Mushroom curry & shahi korma with garlic naan and I have not tasted such amazing food (and consistent!) in the last 10 years. The place is a bit small and constricted, but nothing can be done about it. Overall a great, mouth watering experience !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarang N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian restaurant in Miami”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Very good food......the naan was excellent even better than India......if anyone goes to Miami than I would recommend this restaurant all those days we ate there when we were in miami......Chetan Parmar

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Viral M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Superb Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Bombay Darbar is a seemingly small restaurant with exquisite flavors and fantastic service. It wasn’t easy to land a reservation and this was our second attempt to dine at this restaurant. The first time, we tried the wait list option and ultimately decided to eat elsewhere after waiting over an hour with no guarantees that a table would become available before a second hour went by. For the second attempt, we made our reservation a week in advance, still did not get our first choice. My first recommendation: make a reservation as soon as possible.

Bombay Darbar is a great place for couples and small groups, but would not recommend it for large groups, since the largest tables I saw that evening seated four to six people. While the outdoor seating seemed a little cramped in some areas, diners seemed happy to be there. The restaurant’s smallness didn’t take away from its overall quality and emphasized its popularity. Second recommendation: look past the contained spaces, it works out in the end.

The service was exceptional. As we were getting ready to finish our order with our waiter, a second waiter brought our drinks to the table. I was amazed and perplexed, our waiter had not left our sight and our drinks were already on our table. As it turns out, the second waiter had walked by during the drink orders, just to hear the drink order. “How did you do that?”, I asked the second waiter. He replied, “Magic!” The servers were not only attentive, but friendly, cheerful and seemed genuinely happy to work together.

Our table ordered samosas for the appetizer and thee different entrees to share. The samosas were the perfect medium size and its outer doughy layer was the perfect degree of crispy. The filling was about average, making this an above average samosa. I ordered the paneer. It was delicious! The garlic naan was simply superb and had a delicious sweet and garlic filling in the middle. The naan was unlike any other naan I’ve tried in the past. The one thing the restaurant can improve on is their levels of spiciness for their entrees. Someone in our dinner party requested a very spicy entree, basically a 10 on a 1-10 point scale. The level 10 hot spicy meal was not very hot and closer to the mild range. They brought out a hot sauce to add to the meal, which helped but did not make the meal a 10 on the hot spicy scale.

I’ve heard from other locals that this may be one of the best Indian restaurants in Miami. While I have not visited most of the other Indian restaurants in Miami yet, this restaurant definitely seemed to represent the highest levels of quality and service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonicaLorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

This turned out to be blessing in disguise. Went here for lunch. A small place located in Coconut Grove, offers a great Indian food. Food was tasty and haven't had that sort of taste anywhere in US.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vikas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bombay Darbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing