We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Indian Dinner”
Review of Bombay Darbar

Bombay Darbar
Ranked #14 of 4,249 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3195 Commodore Plaza
Description: Our dining room dining room falls somewhere between red-velvet regal and Slum Dog casual, with white table linens, fresh roses and vinyl-coated menus. There's gentle, tinkling music, authentic if slightly wooze-inducing incense and, for better weather, a petite patio. Our menu is centered mostly on the northern half of the country but includes fiery Goan specialties and henna-red vindaloo. Our knowledgeable, welcoming and sincere staff makes ordering easy for novices. Meals begin with a complimentary stack of crisp pappadom with thimbles of thick-cut onion chutney and a green-as-fresh-cut-grass coriander version for dipping. A side order of mixed chutneys yields store-bought but no less delicious sour mango pickle and sweet mango chutney. Come visit our lovely, value-priced dreamy addition to Coconut Grove!
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indian Dinner”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed an authentic Indian dinner at this quaint restaurant in the Grove. Due to its size and popularity, I highly recommend you make a reservation. Since this was our first visit, we didn't realize how busy it would be at opening time (6pm) on a Saturday. Being that it's almost summer in Miami, it was too humid to sit outside, but when we asked to sit inside, all the tables were already reserved. However, one of the waiters said we could sit inside if we could be done in 45 minutes because the table was reserved for 6:45pm, which we happily accepted. The service was excellent! Our waiter came right over, our water glasses were never empty and our food came out quickly. We had mango lassis, garlic naan, basmati rice, chicken tikka masala and chicken tikka. Everything was flavorful and cooked to our specifications (mild). We wish we had time to try an appetizer, but we'll have to wait until next time (when we have a reservation). We're so glad to have delicious Indian food in our neighborhood.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mjpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    131
    24
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Feast”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Bombay Darbar is an excellent Indian Restaurant in Coconut Grove. The place is quite small, so I recommend you make a reservation. The staff is very friendly, and they are helpful with the menu. Prepare yourself for an excellent feast!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Being of Indian heritage and from Leicester - an English hot spot for decent curry restaurants, it was lovely to see a good, well run Indian restaurant in cool Coconut Grove.

Made a reservation by phone and on arrival, despite there being a queue of waiting guests, our table was ready outside. They have lovely cold large bottles of kingfisher and also serve lassi.

We went straight for mains and ordered 3 dishes, naans and rotis. Did not realise that main courses came with rice so we were stuffed by the end!

The daal we had was spicy and lovely, the chicken saag curry was delicious, the lamb karai was very tasty and well seasoned though the lamb was a touch chewy (slightly overcooked).

So full at the end, $70 covered a lot of food though I would quibble slightly that they charged the same amount for daal as the meat curries (approx $16 each), usually daal is about 20-30% cheaper.

In summary, full and happy after eating good food at this charming place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AjayMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Oh
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I ate here on a lark. I've traveled in India and rarely find Indian food I really like. This was excellent (also a lot of Indians eating here--always a good sign). It's crowded and we had a bad table (no reservations). Waiters were walking up and down so close to the table it took me awhile to relax and not worry about them bumping into us. We had two lamb dishes, both excellent. Didn't care for the garlic naan--order the regular unless you like lots of raw garlic. All in all an excellent meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katecali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went with a group of 10 clients and they were attentive and respectful for such a bsy small restaurant. Easy drive from downtown, airport, Coral Gables, and South Miami and the restaurant is located in beautiful Coconut Grove on Commodore Plaza, the original main area of this once fishing village. It is now a trendy "in" area.
The food was beautifull displayed and absolutely delicious. Those pretty red and green vegetables are very hot peppers not to be consumed without bread nearby to put out the fire!! WOW!! Reservations a must as this is a small restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ADRIENNE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bombay Darbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing