We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great surprise.”
Review of The Filling Station - CLOSED

The Filling Station
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great surprise.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Blink and you will walk past this unassuming little place on 2nd Avenue. I have walked the area many times and failed to see anywhere which grabbed me to eat. A colleague mentioned it in passing and we decided to give it a try.
Just walking in through the door , I knew it would be good. 2pm on a Tuesday and there were about10 people giving it a nice atmosphere.
The burger selection was great and I went for a spicy choice which was really good and I would say possibly the best burger I've ever had!
What a great find, will be back next visit.
It is casual , sort of Cheers with burgers and beer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 400driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    19
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Burger and a Beer?”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The filling station is a hole in the wall that gives you everything you desire from such a bar. The beers they have on tap are very unique, you may even get a dirty look if you order a generic Bud product. The staff is always friendly and quick to serve.

I am one of their Mug Club Members. For the same price as any other beer, you get 4 oz more. After doing the math, you make your membership fee back in only a visits. Plus, you get a unique metal tab to put on your key chain to claim your mug when you walk in.

The food is pretty good. They are famous for their tater tots. The wings are great also and they have a few unique sauces you can't find anywhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderLone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
1 review
“Overrated.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Not as good as I expected to be. Price is good, but food regular and the place is not pretty at all. There are much better places in Miami .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gracia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yum Yum...but super casual”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is the bar you hung out in college. And it smells like it too. But, once I got used to that, I was ready.

The staff was great. Just attentive enough - and I think they actually liked their jobs.

I had the "Hearse" burger - which isn't as much of a dare as it sounds. Very spicy, and very good. Tots are as promised. Drinks = Cold. And not for much money. I can't wait to try the Pulled Pork.

Yes, it's a dive bar. But sometimes, that's exactly what I want. On this particular night, it fit the bill. I'll definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMWDEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“Top 3 in Miami”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The atmosphere is good to hang with some friends chill and have some good beer. Awesome burger, delicious BBQ sauce and amazing T-tots

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klayer-118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Filling Station also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing