We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lucked out with a reservation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zuma

Zuma
Reserve with OpenTable
Zuma is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 4,048 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: zuma, located in the heart of downtown miami, brings chef rainer becker’s internationally acclaimed style of modern japenese cuisine to America. already renowned in london, hong kong, istanbul, and dubai, zuma miami offers a sophisticated cuisine philosophy of flavorsome, modern Japanese dishes in a fun and vibrant environment inspired by the informal dining style called izakaya. the menu is comprehensive and alluring. dishes are authentic but not traditional with bold, intense flavors and an emphasis on simple presentation acquired through quality ingredients. izakaya style means that dishes are designed to be shared at the table.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lucked out with a reservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Delighted we got a reservation due to a cancellation. The menu and food are superb. I could have ordered one of everything on the menu. I enjoy when people appreciate a beatifully designed restaurant by dressing appropriately. The Restaurant was packed and buzzing and the service was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank d k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,752
    528
    169
    65
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Buzzing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Zuma is buzzing. It's very noisy and very happening, just perfect for people watching. The food is brilliant too and it has a pretty cool wine list. This is great for business or with friends but not particulary intimate although there were plenty of couples there. Good location on the river in the business district and in my opinion it was nice to leave South Beach for a change and enjoy some proper dining. I would say I prefer London because it's a bit smaller and cosier but then I'm a Londoner so I'm biased. When I'm next in MIA I'll definitely be back for those legendary California and Soft Shell Crab maki rolls. YUM.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J0el_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasting menu simply awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We heard of Zuma for a couple of years and finally made it there. We didn't have a reservation, arriving at 8:30 on a Monday eve we were seated at 9:15. Everything on the menu looked amazing so we decided to do the $95/person tasting menu. (there is a $65 per person up to $135 per person) the food was unbelievable and kept coming! We were raving about the tempura fried grouper, the yellowtail sashimi arrived, then a boat of sushi, followed by filet mignon so moist and sliced Like sushi, then teriyaki salmon... So much food! Carlos the waiter was wonderful. You must try this place in Miami. The only negative was the valet parking took 30 minutes to retrieve our car. Ask the wait staff to have your car pulled before you pay the check. It's $13 with validation. Enjoy enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shira s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My Favorite Restaurant in Miami - Hands Down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Every year my wife and two older kids unwind in South Beach for one week and look forward to our "last supper" at Zuma before heading home to CT. The food quality, service level, people watching, interior design, drinks (I could go on) are all world class. Our waitress last week was a super trendy English woman named Allison who had us laughing while keeping the amazing food and spirits flowing. One word of caution -- the Kobe beef is one of the best items on the menu but at $670 for one plate which served as an appetizer for 5 of us, our bill at the end of the evening was eye-popping! The sesame sliced fillet is a good substitute.

I want to comment on the Epic hotel guest who gave a poor review after being denied entrance due to inappropriate attire. Men and especially women dress to the nines at these types of restaurants which, in the case of Zuma, are frequented by professional athletes (Lebron is a regular) and celebrities. Your expensive "destroyed" jeans and sandals are better suited for Arbys or Applebees. Next time, get decked out, look hot, and enjoy one of the best meals of your life!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FJC_in_SoBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Japanese”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I'm still trying to digest the food that is ok but to smokey flavor everything to strong the line cook finish the salmon whit the torch to give extra butane flavor . The truffle rissoto the rice is over cook like purée and the dessert nice presentation but the fruit look and test old zuma nice place only decorating

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing