We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding BBQ in the heart of Miami Downtown!”

Sparky's Roadside Barbecue
Ranked #235 of 4,220 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding BBQ in the heart of Miami Downtown!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Beef Brisket, St Louis Style Ribs, Southern Fried Smoked Chicken. All tender, juicy and very flavorful. Mash potatoes, Baked Beans, Macaroni & Cheese all perfectly cook sides. Robust list of craft beers from several good local breweries and out of State. Small but cozy atmosphere that fill real quickly with the lunch crowd. Service was super fast and friendly. It's southern and comfort food at its best.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alvaro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    33
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in Miami”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I live in Kendall and I try to find any reason to go downtown so that I can eat at Sparky's. I love the pulled pork plate and the catfish. My daughters love the fries and my oldest can't get enough of the jerk chicken. That is saying a lot because she is picky. Beer and BBQ, can't ever go wrong and it's good at Sparky's. Some of the best BBQ in Miami, no doubt.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank O-team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“July 2014”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Small family run type resturant in central Miami, but nice welcome and good food
Sweet potato fries as a starter followed by Pulled pork and Brisket and pork combo as mains with Coleslaw side, Soft drinks and a couple of beers
Weather closed in (rain and Thunder / Lightning( as we were finnishing but happy to stay and talk with the owners
Great value for an excellent meal

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 83Mike83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved the baby back ribs!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Yummy! Very good Baby Back Ribs! Lot of BBQ sauce. You get your money's worth. The sides were good too but the best are the ribs. It's nice to have a BBQ place right in Miami and not have to drive for miles. We'll ne going back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good baby back ribs.....the rest of the stuff not so.”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

For a couple of years I disregarded this place because its location is not one when I would expect any decent restaurant. But I finally decided to give it a try and must say that the baby back ribs are pretty darn good, better than most known places like Shorty's and Sonny's. The ribs are prepared with quite a bit of seasoning so they have great flavor on their own. As for the bbq sauces, the regular one is about the only one I found worth tasting. The great thing about this place is that it has darn good ribs but that is also the bad thing about it. The rest of their stuff is far below par when compared with the ribs. I tried their beef brisket and it was slightly below average when compared with other places. The baked beans are lousy and so are the coleslaw and fries. On the beer side it has an extensive collection of beers.

I would certainly return but solely for the ribs. I could care less for the side dishes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DelBueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sparky's Roadside Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Sparky's Roadside Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing