We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$429
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$429
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
JW Marriott
$365
View deal
Hotels.com$429
Priceline$365
eDreams$429
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,169)
Filter reviews
2,169 results
Traveler rating
1,486
438
120
62
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,486
438
120
62
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basketball court virtual bowling bathroom mirror whole foods beautiful hotel concierge lounge valet parking beautiful room heart of downtown south beach luxury hotel mini bar biscayne bay fitness center rooftop pool tv floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 2,169 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2019

Booked as a pre-cruise hotel. I had a hard time understanding how this is a JW considering how abysmal the service was. We completed early check the evening prior. When we arrived at the hotel at 12pm we were told the room would not be available until 3:30-4pm. When we came back around THAT time, we were told yet again the room was unavailable. We did not receive a room until 6pm! Considering the normal check in time is 4:30pm, we found this to be unacceptable especially when paying for that time. They did compensate us for the inconvenience by upgrading us to a Bayview Suite. The Bayview suite is very spacious with great views. It has an office, living area, 2 bathrooms, a soaking tub and shower. If you would like to order robes or extra pillows, it will take an hour to receive. Parking is $55/day, you have to call downstairs 15 minutes prior to receiving your car. The drive to the cruise port is 10 minutes from this hotel. The pool area is small but very nice. The bowling alley and ping pong tables are included. You must pay a fee for use of the basketball court. Avoid the Met Cafe for lunch, the food was awful, I ordered the barbecue pizza which reminded me of cafeteria pizza. There is a Whole Foods that is one block away. There is a CVS and Walgreens within a block or two. We did enjoy cocktails while sitting on he swanky patio of the Boulud Sud restaurant (part of the hotel), the drinks were very good and eclectic. This was a great spot to people watch as well. Side note if you are looking for a hotel with a view of the cruise port you will not get it here.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Adventurebooklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianY866, Operations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Miami, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2019

Dear Adventurebooklet,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at the JW Marriott Marquis Miami. We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed the comfort of our modern rooms. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations while in our care and please feel assured that our entire staff is committed to deliver a flawless experience. Feedback like yours is truly valuable and this information has been shared directly with our management team in effort to look for opportunities to enrich your future experience. We hope to regain your trust and provide you with the service you deserve upon your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brian Y
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2019

Stayed here for the first time the day before a cruise out of Miami. Very nice hotel and beautiful room. Convenient to restaurants, shopping and services such as drug stores - all within an easy walk. Check in staff were very friendly.

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank lyn642
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

stayed for july 4th. there was a beauty convention happening but the hotel still never seemed crowded. i stated in a bay view 34 floor room and the sights are awesome. i work up to beautiful sunsets and water views. I love the aromatherapy toiletries and the decor of the room. the 24 room service was also a plus. even with that i never saw trays and plates from the rooms littering the halls. the staff keeps it very clean. i love the restaurant on the ground level. i had breakfast and brunch there. both were great and the wait staff was EXCELLENT! there is a basketball court inside which is particularly helpful bc my husband plays. there is also a gold simulator. the valet in front work fast and efficient and keep the traffic coming in and out on a smooth pace. the users i called pulled up right in front as this is a very easy location to find. Its close walking distance to aa arena and many other tourist attractions. also close to a mall and great restaurants. i took users to most places and didn't pay more than 10 for each time. i used to always stay at east but this will be my new go to when I'm in miami. i did not get a chance to use the pool but definitely will next time.

Room tip: bay view on a high floor is best. room 3409 was close to the elevator.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyalahendricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

I booked a surprise staycation for my fiance's 40th birthday. I booked a corner Bay View Suite, which was picture perfect! Aside from the room, the service was poor from the beginning to the very end of our stay literally. I'm a Platinum member, so I feel like I have some objective perspective on service hospitality.

As indicated, everyday we had an issue at this hotel to the point where I cannot recommend this hotel particularly for a surprise for a significant other. Let me further elaborate:

1). Champagne & Cake- I called the day of prior to our arrival to ensure that a special birthday gift (champagne & cake) would arrive to our room by 7pm. We wanted to go to the conceirge lounge so I called and asked for them to still deliver the items. We come back and nothing was delivered. It's 8pm, I called downstairs asking for them to please deliver the items, and was told that they had notes for water and fruit. I said that was absolutely wrong, and even so nothing was still delivered. The person at the desk said she would follow up and call me back, which she never did. So 30 mins later I call back again asking for the items to please be delivered, I was told they are making the cake, but it would be delivered before we left at 9:45pm. We left at 9:50pm and again nothing came. So I now went to the front desk, before 10pm expressing my frustration and asking in person to please deliver the cake and champagne. When we came back from the movies the items were finally delivered after 4 requests.

2). Room Cleaning- The next day we were heading out for my fiance's surprise party. I asked if we could schedule our suite to be cleaned at 7pm. I was kindly told absolutely not a problem. We come back at 2:30am and nothing was cleaned. I was extremely frustrated by this. I called complaining that our room was never serviced and we were completely out of towels. I asked for 4 bath towels and 4 wash clothes for our face. They bring up a clear bag full of bath towels and hand towels. So I had to call again to re-request wash clothes as soon as possible so we could shower and go to bed.

3). On the day of check out we dropped off 2 suitcases, and 2 bags (gave us 3 tickets) so we could eat nearby. I go back with our tickets and there was a long check in line, but no one by the suitcases. I waited a few minutes and no one came around to help. My fiance is on crutches so was waiting outside in our UBER, so I really needed to find someone to help me. I saw a person standing around with a suit jacket and name tag talking to one of the guests in line. So I walked up to him asking if someone could please get our luggage, there is no one around to ask. He literally snatched the tickets out of my hand (intentional or not) I'm not sure, but it was rude. And to top it off, he comes back with just one small bag and it's not even ours, but some how one of my tickets was the same as this random bag? He walks off with the bag and that's when I see our four bags in a different area he walked to. I told him these are our bags, and I grabbed all 4 bags, with no assistance from anyone and left the hotel.

I've never stayed at a hotel so nice with such extremely poor service. I gave them one star for the beautiful room, and 1 star for the couple of hotel staff members that were friendly towards to us, but management really needs to pay more attention to the service here. It's too nice of a hotel to have such poor service. I will not ever stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank angela8184
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanaBP, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Marquis Miami, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2019

Dear angela8184,

Thank you for your time dedicated to share your experience at JW Marriott Marquis Miami. Please accept our sincere apologies for not exceeding your expectation while in our care. Please feel assured that I have shared your concerns with the appropriate management teams in an attempt to improve in our offerings and enrich your future experience. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the near future to exceed your expectations during your next visit.

If you would like to further discuss the details of your stay and your schedule permits a brief conversation, please call me directly at 305.421.8600. We hope to welcome you once again in the future and provide the superior service you deserve.

Sincerely,

Hana B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2019

I was here for a conference but sure wish I was here for the weekend. This hotel is amazing. Whether you want to lie by the pool, go to the spa, or do any of the other many things they offer, you will not be disappointed. The food was very good and the entire staff were excellent. I will return.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews