We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Swank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Ranked #2 of 119 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Swank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed here for one night during a business trip. The room is impeccably appointed- this hotel is a true JW. The expansive bathroom made me feel as though I was at a luxury spa. I ate at two of the restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed both. I was impressed with the wine list (Malbec!) and customer service provided. The gym rocks- love the flavored water and huge amount of free weights.

Negatives:
My room was not ready when I arrived at 5pm. After a long day, I was ready to just unpack and relax.
I am a rewards member and had to submit a "missed stay" request to get my points despite the fact that I provided my rewards number when making the reservation and at check-in. Kind of a pain.
It took forever to get a cab to the airport. There were 3 people on staff hailing cabs and they kept letting other people take them and I finally just hailed my own. I am definitely not above getting my own cab but when I see people after people getting cabs, I've been standing there for 10 minutes, and I am repeatedly told I will "get the next one," it's irritating.

Room Tip: Smile when you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHermesMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    281
    63
    24
    21
See reviews for
312
427
68
423
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We recently had an overnight stay before a cruise in Miami. We are frequent guests at Mariott hotels so we decided to use points for our pre cruise stay. When we arrived we were upgraded to a suite which was BY FAR the nicest hotel room we have ever stayed in. Everything from the large flat screen TVs, nespresso coffee maker, whirlpool tub, walk in shower and a view to die for was amazing. I would definitely recommend this beautiful property if you are in Miami.

Room Tip: If you can swing it go for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universe1
Level Contributor
185 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here prior to our transatlantic cruise and we can recommend the hotel just for that, it's in a great location. The hotel is minutes away by cab from the Port of Miami (approx. $10) and only a 10 min walk to Bayside for shops, restaurants and bars.

Upon arrival we were greeted extremely eagerly by the concierge (bell) staff, too eagerly in fact, 3 or 4 of them just wouldn't or couldn't understand that we were OK to handle our own bags. The reception staff were friendly and efficient and the whole check-in process probably took less than 3 minutes to complete.

Our room was a very large bay facing room and was extremely well appointed and very well laid out. The bathroom was great, again large with a separate bath and shower. The bed as always with Marriott was extremely comfortable and my partner and I had a superb nights sleep which set us up for the long day ahead. The hotel gym is excellent and affords great views of the bay from a high floor, a great way to start the day with a morning workout.

Check-out was busy but in reality it didn't take too long to complete the formalities and again the team on the front desk were both friendly and efficient. Having checked out we asked the concierge (bell) staff to call us a cab which they happily did but it then started again. 2 or 3 of them just couldn't or wouldn't take no for an answer when it came to helping with our bags. So much so one of them ruined our cruise bag takes despite being told to be careful of them twice. Because of this we didn't tip them and one of them took offence to this and made it a point to tell our cab driver the same (needless to say our cab driver was great and he received a good tip!).

In summary a great hotel in a great location but the concierge (bell) team need to appreciate every customer is different and that some don't need their assistance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Universe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here on a business trip. Hotel is in a great location and has a great view of the ocean if you can get a high enough room.

Service here is exceptional. What you would expect for a JW marriott. Room was impeccable and the agent at the front desk was friendly and helpful with checking in. My room was a king size bed that was extremely comfortable overlooking the ocean. The room was clean and everything seemed to be perfect. I was near an elevator but to be honest, I never heard anything outside of my room. Probably because there is a bit of a hallway when you first walk in which happens to act as a noise barrier. Bed and linens were quite comftorable.

The next morning, I awoke and wanted to make a quick espresso to have before the gym (all rooms have espresso machines). As luck would have it, the machine was broken. I tried calling down but couldn't reach anyone so I called from my cell to let them know. They promised someone would be up to replace. I went to the gym, and thourougly enjoyed the view. It's a panaromic view of the city. Probably a top 5 gym in terms of equipment and view of the city.

Upon returning to my room, I noticed that the machine was still the same and it hadn't been changed. Not the end of the world but dissapointing as I was gone for almost an hour. I didn't bother to call down as I had to get going.

I called down to the Valet and was told it would be 15 minutes for my car. Sounds normal right? So I set the timer on my phone for 15mins thinking that by the time it goes off, I collect my things, it'll be ready. Nope no such luck. I had to wait an additional 10 minutes. Listen I don't mind if my car is going to take longer, just tell me up front. No apology was given and off I went. For almost 40$ a day, I expect a prompt valet.

So they were small gripes that wouldn't hold me back from coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the bay/ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraverler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at this hotel 3 different times now and I will continue to go back. I'm not rich like a lot of their clients but they treat you as an equal which is great. Can't ask for better staff and accommodations! Can't wait to return. Fantastic

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Staff was very helpful with everything! My friends and I plan to stay there next time since its close to stores for last minute needs like CVS and a restaurant adjoined the hotel so that was a plus! Views of the bay were spectacular and its close to public transportation. Also just a few blocks from Bayside Marketplace.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed two nights while in Miami. This place is really spectacular! The staff at check in could not have been more professional and friendly. I was upgraded to a suite on the 28th floor. The lounge is closed so I was offered vouchers at the restaurant for breakfast. Headed up to my room and WOW. I walk into a living room set up with full desk (including a computer) sofa, chairs, guest bathroom, TV, and wet bar. Then moved into the separate bedroom with huge bed and another amazing TV. Then the bathroom which was as large as many traditional hotel rooms. There was a shower stall, a traditional WC, tub area, double vanity (with another TV built into the mirror) and plenty of space. The room was clean and very comfortable. I wanted to live in this space.

Breakfast was pretty good. The staff was really nice but I was not overwhelmed by the offerings. It was pretty crowded and a continental breakfast can take a beating when a large crowd is near. Overall it was still quite nice.

This is a great place to stay when in downtown!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank us1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Conrad Miami
#9 of 119 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Marquis Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Marquis Miami

Property: JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Address: 255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Miami
#1 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#3 Family Hotel in Miami
#5 Business Hotel in Miami
#11 Green Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Marquis Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Marquis Miami is situated in Miami’s new Metropolitan Miami development. The first-to-market JW Marriott property boasts 313 guestrooms, inclusive of 56 suites, along with a broad array of amenities, including renowned chef-restaurateur, Daniel Boulud’s db Bistro Moderne. Offering a diverse setting for business, meeting and pleasure travel pursuits, the 41-story hotel features three concierge levels; 80,000-square-feet of total function space including a 20,000 sq. ft. Grand Ballroom; and one of the most unique indoor sports, lifestyle and entertainment complexes of any hotel in the U.S. The 50,000-square-foot, two-story indoor facility includes a NBA-approved basketball arena, tennis court, Jim McLean Golf School, virtual bowling alley, billiards, full-service Rik Rak Salon & Spa and more. Owned and operated by Met 2 Hotels LLC, the JW Marriott Marquis Miami is located at 255 Biscayne Blvd. Way, Miami, FL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Marquis Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Marquis Miami Hotel Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing